We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Rembrandt

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel Rembrandt
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #146 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ankasny cleveland
Add Photo

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    102
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
40
71
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
cleveland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice, small but comfortable, clean, friendly and accomodating staff, good value for money. Good for budget travel and if you are not looking for something really fancy. Pretty happy with our stay in May 2015.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The hotel was chosen for me by conference organisers because it was close to the venue - Artis in the Plantage. From that point of view the hotel was a great choice. I walked to the hotel from the Central station which took around 30 minutes; the Number 9 tram takes about 15 minutes. My room ('Room with balcony') was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The number 9 tram outside the door was definitely a feature for this hotel. We stayed 2 nights after a Rhine River cruise. Maybe we were spoiled from the luxury of the ship but the Rembrandt is rather old and worn. We stayed in room 1 in the basement which was quiet and had access to the backyard patio. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Loved the walks from Red Light District to Plantage. So the big plus was the location... Breakfast not included, but cost 10 Euros which would be charged at the room for each meal. For that, I would at least expect full English breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages, beans and tomato with toast and juice. Though I had some nice conversations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel has a good location in a very quiet area and a tram stop within 100 meters. As hotels in Amsterdam are expensive, this one is also. But we found the room quality and service was not great value for the price. We had the advantage of the only room (#2) on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at this comfortable little hotel twice & highly recommend it to travelers on a budget. The location is superb, - quiet, yet close to the busy centre of Amsterdam-(Rembrandt's house & Museum is a short walk away) The staff is friendly & helpful, the rooms are comfortable & clean, with bathrooms & even a small fridge. A good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hove
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights midweek; must say i wouldn't recommend getting the Connexion hotel shuttle from the airport as this turned up nearly an hour and twenty minutes late!! Reading other reviews I guess we were lucky getting the big room which was right at the very top of the building (see photo). Be aware that the stairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

the location of this hotel is perfect; quiet and very close to the tram which takes you to almost every attraction in amsterdam. the room we got was in the basement. we were four and the room was just big enough to accomodate us all. the sheets were very clean so was the room well-maintained though i admit the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

As stated in previous reviews the location isn't bad as its a decent enough walk from the city centre and on a tram route but it definitely needs a refurb as i'ts seen better days. Our main complaint was that we booked a double room and had the lower ground floor with two singles that had been pushed together with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear we were unable to meet your wishes for your stay. We were indeed fullybooked on the day you arrived at the hotel and therefore we were unable to give you a different room. Since our housekeeping doesn’t work in the evening it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay