We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 344 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Rembrandt

Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Hotel Rembrandt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Ranked #162 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014
Barry G Amsterdam
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
64
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The hotel was chosen for me by conference organisers because it was close to the venue - Artis in the Plantage. From that point of view the hotel was a great choice. I walked to the hotel from the Central station which took around 30 minutes; the Number 9 tram takes about 15 minutes. My room ('Room with balcony') was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The number 9 tram outside the door was definitely a feature for this hotel. We stayed 2 nights after a Rhine River cruise. Maybe we were spoiled from the luxury of the ship but the Rembrandt is rather old and worn. We stayed in room 1 in the basement which was quiet and had access to the backyard patio. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Loved the walks from Red Light District to Plantage. So the big plus was the location... Breakfast not included, but cost 10 Euros which would be charged at the room for each meal. For that, I would at least expect full English breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages, beans and tomato with toast and juice. Though I had some nice conversations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel has a good location in a very quiet area and a tram stop within 100 meters. As hotels in Amsterdam are expensive, this one is also. But we found the room quality and service was not great value for the price. We had the advantage of the only room (#2) on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at this comfortable little hotel twice & highly recommend it to travelers on a budget. The location is superb, - quiet, yet close to the busy centre of Amsterdam-(Rembrandt's house & Museum is a short walk away) The staff is friendly & helpful, the rooms are comfortable & clean, with bathrooms & even a small fridge. A good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hove
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights midweek; must say i wouldn't recommend getting the Connexion hotel shuttle from the airport as this turned up nearly an hour and twenty minutes late!! Reading other reviews I guess we were lucky getting the big room which was right at the very top of the building (see photo). Be aware that the stairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

the location of this hotel is perfect; quiet and very close to the tram which takes you to almost every attraction in amsterdam. the room we got was in the basement. we were four and the room was just big enough to accomodate us all. the sheets were very clean so was the room well-maintained though i admit the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

As stated in previous reviews the location isn't bad as its a decent enough walk from the city centre and on a tram route but it definitely needs a refurb as i'ts seen better days. Our main complaint was that we booked a double room and had the lower ground floor with two singles that had been pushed together with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear we were unable to meet your wishes for your stay. We were indeed fullybooked on the day you arrived at the hotel and therefore we were unable to give you a different room. Since our housekeeping doesn’t work in the evening it... More 

west yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Situated on a fairly busy road this hotel this hotel had a number of rooms from single occupancy to quad . Our room was situated on the second floor which you had to climb up 3 flights of quite steep steps ( which in one place the banister was loose on the wall ) the room was street facing which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and thank you so much for your compliment about the staff, I will pass on your kind words. At the moment we are scheduling some work to be done around the, we hope to show you on your next visit! Kind regards, Lynn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay