We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Hoksbergen

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hoksbergen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
63%
Ranked #190 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014
brianmcdonough Kendal, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hoksbergen
See the most recent reviews
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and stored our bikes securely.The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Dam Square. There are good restaurants and bars nearby. One note of caution - there is no lift and the stairs are steep. If it that doesn't put you off this is the hotel for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although the conditions may perhaps be reflective of it's 2 star rating, the photos we saw online were not a fair representation of the room we were given. The stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep, and as if to add insult to injury, we were put on the very top floor (really quite a climb!). When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our hotel. It is sad to read that you were not happy with the room you were assigned to. In the end we are just a simple budget hotel, this is also how we present ourselves and nothing more. Being a little hotel in a 300-years old monumental canal house, we only... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed here mid-May. I would have given this hotel 3 stars for its location. However, although the bathrooms were nice and clean and recently renovated, the old carpeting and chairs in the hotel room made me not want to set anything down on the floor or in the shelving of the closets! My friend and I also could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our hotel. We hope you had a nice holiday in Amsterdam. We are a simple budget hotel. Our furniture and carpet might not be a brand-new, but we definitely do our upper best to keep everything clean and well maintained. Regarding our bedding we would like to clear up some matters, some... More

San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Everything previously written is pretty much the case. Stairs are steep, rooms are small, staff is nice. We took bus 197 from the airport to the end of the line and walked. It isn't a bad walk, maybe 15 mins but with luggage a bit much. Location is close to everything. Our room was overlooking the canal on the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single bed room with a room facing the canal. Beautiful view, clean bathroom, and great location. The bathroom is reminiscent of one in an airplane but with a shower at the end. That worked fine for me but if you're a big person, be prepared to use the bathroom with the door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April. Nice hotel. Pluses: our room faced canal - lovely view. Breakfast was nice and adequate. Owner's son was extremely nice and accommodating. Good location. Very clean. Minuses: room was very "tight" - as was bathroom. If you are a "larger" person, you may want to ask for a bigger room. Stairs up to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location is great and the staff pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is ample although a little variety would be nice when you have an extended stay. The stairs are steep and plentiful (30 to the 2nd floor). The view of the rooms not facing the canal is a wall—which is not a real problem if you plan on just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked 3 rooms (2 twins & 1 single). The hotel was located within easy reach of Dam Square (7 mins) and RijksMuseum (20 mins). The rooms were a little on the smallish side but each had ensuite bathroom and toilet facilities. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms and toilets clean and mold free. The rooms were well heated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

In general, our stay in Hoksbergen was good. The situation is excellent, in front of a canal, very closed to Damm Square an other touristic attractions. Our small complaints are about the comfort: it is in an old building and the stairs are difficult to go up and down (there's no elevator), the rooms are really small and in one... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for placing a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a good time in Amsterdam. Small sized rooms are quite typical in a dense city like Amsterdam, however for your next visit, please donot hesitate to ask one of us to help... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hoksbergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer