We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Hoksbergen

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hoksbergen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
63%
Ranked #188 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David B Waco, Texas
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very good 8-day stay at Hotel Hoksbergen in September. Yes, canal houses are tall and narrow, so the stairs are steep and the room small but spotlessly clean. The location is perfect and the view over the canal through a window box of pink geraniums was lovely. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was small and dated, however it was clean. It has 1 or 2 star facilities in my opinion. The hotel is on a quiet street, yet very close to the center. It offers good value for money especially if you wake up for the breakfast. The staff are very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, the view out over the canal was lovely. The street was charming and nicely located -- and quiet. We were only a few blocks from shopping and transportation and interesting sights. The hotel staff was very warm and very helpful. Consistently recommended excellent restaurants. The halls were a bit scruffy. And the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great location. Very quiet. Comfy bed & pillow. Friendly & helpful staff. Bulk toiletries in bathroom. Had washcloth & hair dryer. Free wifi. Breakfast served 8-10 AM which consisted of hard cooked eggs, breads/crackers, meats, cheese, cereal, OJ, water, excellent coffee, fresh fruit. Room is small with narrow, steep steps (but staff will help you with the luggage).Great to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night and would definitely stay again. Staff so friendly a buffet breakfast consisting of fresh juice, cereals bread cheese ham. I stayed in a single room quite small but this a a canal house so all original, it had everything you need great view of the canal singel. Great location not far from all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked to stay here for work because there was alarge conference in town and most of my normal hotels were full. Found out I would be going on the trip, and wouldn't refund my cost because I booked it through a specfic site. Eventhough they were already sold out , and my reservation isn't for two more months (sept 2014)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sad to see a negative review from a guest that did not even stay at our hotel yet. You have booked a promotional and lower priced "prepaid non-refundable reservation" through Expedia. When you entered your details on the Expedia website, you have accepted their booking conditions and you will have to respect the agreed conditions of... More

Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel (hoksbergen) was nice but the rooms were very small. My parents and I were in a triple room and it was pretty small. It was the largest room. It was on the canal so it had an amazing view of canal singel. The people were nice. Close to a lot of site seeing places. We stayed there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent four nights at the Hotel Hoksbergen, and were very comfortable there. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although our room was quite small, it was really all we needed,as we were out doing sightseeing most of the time. We loved the canal view from our window. The buffet breakfast provided a nice variety of tasty and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The people at this hotel are very helpful and knowledgeable. They took my case up 3 flights of stairs!! Tasty breakfast and good value for money. Excellent location close to canals and museums and art galleries.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just come home back from. 3 night stay at the hotel Hoksbergen. We were a family of 4 ( two adults and two teenage boys 18 and 16. The pros of the apartment we stayed I were that it was large. Well located and great value for money. The negatives.... The open plan layout with the double bed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Hoksbergen