We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Hoksbergen

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hoksbergen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #177 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Anne B Toronto, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
19
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent four nights at the Hotel Hoksbergen, and were very comfortable there. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although our room was quite small, it was really all we needed,as we were out doing sightseeing most of the time. We loved the canal view from our window. The buffet breakfast provided a nice variety of tasty and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The people at this hotel are very helpful and knowledgeable. They took my case up 3 flights of stairs!! Tasty breakfast and good value for money. Excellent location close to canals and museums and art galleries.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just come home back from. 3 night stay at the hotel Hoksbergen. We were a family of 4 ( two adults and two teenage boys 18 and 16. The pros of the apartment we stayed I were that it was large. Well located and great value for money. The negatives.... The open plan layout with the double bed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly I wish Trip Advisor would allow 1/2 stars as I really wanted to give this hotel a 3 1/2 stars. Got here and was greeted warmly by the owner. Our luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in which was great because with no lifts it was 3 set of very very steep spiral stairs that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for three nights at the Hoksbergen Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was below average which I was expecting. But my room was really bad. It was very dirty and moldy. The handle to the closet fell off as i touched it. Inside the closet there was a three centimeter thick dust layer at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite of your bad experience, you were very happy with our staff and the location of our hotel. We are sad to read that you had a dissapointing experience in our hotel. We are more surprised why you did not contact our reception during your 3 nights... More

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and stored our bikes securely.The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Dam Square. There are good restaurants and bars nearby. One note of caution - there is no lift and the stairs are steep. If it that doesn't put you off this is the hotel for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although the conditions may perhaps be reflective of it's 2 star rating, the photos we saw online were not a fair representation of the room we were given. The stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep, and as if to add insult to injury, we were put on the very top floor (really quite a climb!). When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our hotel. It is sad to read that you were not happy with the room you were assigned to. In the end we are just a simple budget hotel, this is also how we present ourselves and nothing more. Being a little hotel in a 300-years old monumental canal house, we only... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed here mid-May. I would have given this hotel 3 stars for its location. However, although the bathrooms were nice and clean and recently renovated, the old carpeting and chairs in the hotel room made me not want to set anything down on the floor or in the shelving of the closets! My friend and I also could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our hotel. We hope you had a nice holiday in Amsterdam. We are a simple budget hotel. Our furniture and carpet might not be a brand-new, but we definitely do our upper best to keep everything clean and well maintained. Regarding our bedding we would like to clear up some matters, some... More

San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Everything previously written is pretty much the case. Stairs are steep, rooms are small, staff is nice. We took bus 197 from the airport to the end of the line and walked. It isn't a bad walk, maybe 15 mins but with luggage a bit much. Location is close to everything. Our room was overlooking the canal on the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single bed room with a room facing the canal. Beautiful view, clean bathroom, and great location. The bathroom is reminiscent of one in an airplane but with a shower at the end. That worked fine for me but if you're a big person, be prepared to use the bathroom with the door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer