We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Hoksbergen

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hoksbergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hoksbergen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
63%
Ranked #189 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LawyerMom_10 Charleston, WV
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, the view out over the canal was lovely. The street was charming and nicely located -- and quiet. We were only a few blocks from shopping and transportation and interesting sights. The hotel staff was very warm and very helpful. Consistently recommended excellent restaurants. The halls were a bit scruffy. And the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Very quiet. Comfy bed & pillow. Friendly & helpful staff. Bulk toiletries in bathroom. Had washcloth & hair dryer. Free wifi. Breakfast served 8-10 AM which consisted of hard cooked eggs, breads/crackers, meats, cheese, cereal, OJ, water, excellent coffee, fresh fruit. Room is small with narrow, steep steps (but staff will help you with the luggage).Great to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and would definitely stay again. Staff so friendly a buffet breakfast consisting of fresh juice, cereals bread cheese ham. I stayed in a single room quite small but this a a canal house so all original, it had everything you need great view of the canal singel. Great location not far from all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked to stay here for work because there was alarge conference in town and most of my normal hotels were full. Found out I would be going on the trip, and wouldn't refund my cost because I booked it through a specfic site. Eventhough they were already sold out , and my reservation isn't for two more months (sept 2014)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sad to see a negative review from a guest that did not even stay at our hotel yet. You have booked a promotional and lower priced "prepaid non-refundable reservation" through Expedia. When you entered your details on the Expedia website, you have accepted their booking conditions and you will have to respect the agreed conditions of... More

Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel (hoksbergen) was nice but the rooms were very small. My parents and I were in a triple room and it was pretty small. It was the largest room. It was on the canal so it had an amazing view of canal singel. The people were nice. Close to a lot of site seeing places. We stayed there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent four nights at the Hotel Hoksbergen, and were very comfortable there. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although our room was quite small, it was really all we needed,as we were out doing sightseeing most of the time. We loved the canal view from our window. The buffet breakfast provided a nice variety of tasty and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The people at this hotel are very helpful and knowledgeable. They took my case up 3 flights of stairs!! Tasty breakfast and good value for money. Excellent location close to canals and museums and art galleries.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just come home back from. 3 night stay at the hotel Hoksbergen. We were a family of 4 ( two adults and two teenage boys 18 and 16. The pros of the apartment we stayed I were that it was large. Well located and great value for money. The negatives.... The open plan layout with the double bed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I wish Trip Advisor would allow 1/2 stars as I really wanted to give this hotel a 3 1/2 stars. Got here and was greeted warmly by the owner. Our luggage was taken up to our room while we checked in which was great because with no lifts it was 3 set of very very steep spiral stairs that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Hoksbergen Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was below average which I was expecting. But my room was really bad. It was very dirty and moldy. The handle to the closet fell off as i touched it. Inside the closet there was a three centimeter thick dust layer at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite of your bad experience, you were very happy with our staff and the location of our hotel. We are sad to read that you had a dissapointing experience in our hotel. We are more surprised why you did not contact our reception during your 3 nights... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hoksbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hoksbergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer