We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

2.0 of 5 Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    221
    83
    30
    20
See reviews for
31
273
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (520)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
There are newer reviews for Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Llangennech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The hotel is located on one of the city's classic canals, the Herengracht, which is on the canal cruise route. The hotel is within easy reach of the many attractions, and an easy walk from the Station. The staff members were helpful from the start ; when we checked in early and left our bags, they'd been taken to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My partner and I visited Amsterdam in April/May 2014 on our honeymoon. The city we loved but unfortunately the hotel did not live up to expectation. We booked it based on the quirky pictures and the fact we could 'upgrade' to a canal view suite for minimal fuss/expense. When we arrived staff were friendly-ish but not very helpful with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
athens
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The hotel has its rooms in traditional amsterdams houses!We stayed at the last floor of the canals side and the view was like a dream!Wonderful modern room and bathroom!The staff was wonderful and kind!The negative thing is the breakfast which is unbelievable poor!!!!The location is perfect because its on a beautifull canal junction,very near the amsterdam's central train station and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ine9, Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and Amsterdam its beauty! About the breakfast; It's from the house! We offer our guest a simple breakfast... More 

London-ish
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I really liked the Max Brown Hotel. Top location, looked lovely, friendly & helpful staff, nice bar area, good breakfast on offer. But don't go for a standard room. A bit too small. Room 101 was tiny, plus the walls weren't very thick so could sometimes hear people walking up & down the (steep) stairs. Even though it was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear The-Trave, Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the size of our rooms, we are unfortunately unable to create bigger rooms due to... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Me & my girlfriend wanted to visit Amsterdam for NYE again this year (did it 2 years ago) and thought we'd give this place a go as it was in a good location, reasonably priced and had good reviews on here. Previously we had stayed in the Hilton DoubleTree and thought that was good but this was far better! Upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Brockin_D, Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much, and that you have appreciated the service offered to you by our staff. We'd love to welcome you... More 

S.Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

This hotel is ideally situated within walking distance to Dam square. Placed on a very pretty canal, the view in the morning is lovely. Travelled as a group of 6, we originally had an issue with the room booking where a break down in communication resulting a a room being cancelled, however this was resolved quickly and relatively pain free,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Francesca, Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the size of our rooms, we are unfortunately unable to create bigger rooms due to... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

My husband and I only stayed here for one night but we were so pleasantly surprised by everything. The bar and seating areas were warm and welcoming. The staff were lovely and friendly. We encountered lots of different staff members and all were equally lovely. Our room was on the ground floor, and it was a cute little thing. Spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sivhead, Thank you very much for your kind words! We are glad you experienced the real Max Brown feeling! We hope to see you again some time soon! Merry Christmas :-) Cheers, More 

milton keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

i stayed at max brown in nov for 3 nights and had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. I arrived at 1pm and even though my room wouldn't be ready until about 2pm (which was fine) they offered to look after my luggage so I could go for a walk until it was ready. when I came back to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Milton Keynes, Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the windows in our rooms, we are unfortunately unable to make any changes on... More 

blackpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

great area to stay as access on foot to all attractions and to enjoy to bueatiful joordan district. Room with canal view small but clean. Shower room adequate for use. Breakfast room delightful serving coffee and continental breakfast which was very enjoyable. Staff knowledgeable about attractions to be found in the city and full marks for customer care. Only downside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth G, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Milton Keynes! Thank you very much for your review, and taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with us and our future guests! It is a great pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have appreciated the service offered to you by our Associates. We'd love to welcome... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

First impressions of the hotel were that it was very modern with creative & stylish decor. The location is wonderful-on Herengracht. Close enough to walk to all attractions, and a lovely walk it is through the streets & town centre. The room was small but adequate, clean & comfortable and the bathroom/shower was ultra modern & impeccably clean. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13-19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

300 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (284)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
2:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay