We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 344 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Ranked #66 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014
tillyp123 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    161
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
151
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed in a group of 3 in Amsterdam at the weekend. Pro's: Great location- just across the road from the station and near all of the action, 5 minutes walk from the red light district. Staff-very helpful and gave good advice on restaurants, bars, directions etc. Room-We had the triple room with a double bed and a single, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you had a good stay. You find the room a bit too dark, we think it also suits the rooms interior to create some kind of cozy atmosphere. But good to know , we can put some brighter lighting in the room, without losing the cozy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a short break with a couple of friends in March. Room was clean and quite spacious. Bathroom was also very clean. Good water pressure in the shower. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast wasn't great, but was okay, an average continental selection was available. Guy at reception was very helpful at giving us directions/advice. I'd definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we appreciate you have taken the time to write us a good review. We are currently looking into improvements for our breakfast .If you have any ideas what you would have liked to have at our breakfast, we would really like to know. You can send an email to jos@hotelnicolaas.nl if you have... More 

newcastle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel, great location, great room, great breakfast and friendly helpful staff clean and tidy with a 24hour reception.... just what you need. This will be where we book when we next visit Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star rating! We really appreciate your feedback, and we do hope to see you next time in Amsterdam! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Lovely hotel in a fab location. We walked to everything we wanted to see without the need to use transport. The only time we used the train was to get to & from the airport which was really easy as the hotel was straight across the road from the station. The hotel was very clean & the staff were friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us and your kind words. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay and that you would recommend us to others. Hopefully we can welcome you next time again! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

It is located just across Amsterdam Centre Station. The hotel is clean and good location to travel around the city centre. Staff are very friendly. Unfortunately, the aircond in my room was a bit noisy. Nothing they could do during late night. Thus, the staff was kind to give me a pair of earplug to reduce the noisy. In my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
plymouth, mi
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
117 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We loved our 2 night stay at Sint Nicholaas last August. The front desk girl was friendly and helpful. the lobby decor was dark wood and very unique, the rooms had a lot of character, and they were very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a block or 2 off Central Station, and it's very convenient to get to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Hotel Sint Nicolaas was an excellent hotel, right from the time we made the booking. They contacted us directly to ask if we had wanted to be charged in advance to save 5% and of course we said yes. The location was great - less than 10 minutes walk from the Central Station and within 5 minutes walk to shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I stayed here for a night with my wife and payed 200 euros for what ? Hairs in the shower ! Rude receptionist ! Our room next to the street, on the same level and i could hear the cars and trams passing by all night. Also all the people passing by and their talks. I felt that i was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay did not satisfy you. You have booked the room on booking.com, where it is stated that this specific type of room you booked is on the steet side on the ground floor where trams and other traffic passes through. We especially point... More 

Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The hotel is only about 5-10 minutes walk from the three most beautiful canals, near the Anne Frank House and Westerkirk. Also only 5 mins walk from the train station which made it very convenient to get to from the airport. The room was nice and very comfortable beds. The staff was polite, but not overly friendly. Decent breakfast buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I had dirty bedsheets which had to be changed. The rooms weren' perfectly clean. Hair flying arround the floor. I expect at least clean rooms for over 140 eur. per night.... No minibar or rooomserivce...Over all i wouldn't go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we can't find your name in the system, so please send me an email with your name, staydate and roomnumber, so that we can find out what went wrong with the cleanliness of your room. Our hotel does not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay