We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

#63 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #63 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
kerenfay Tel Aviv, Israel
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    193
    209
    69
    20
    10
See reviews for
78
213
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (501)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great time in Amsterdam thanks to sint nicolas hotel which is right in the center of the city, a walking distance from the central train station and trem's. The room was lovley, clean, with big bed and big shower and also a coffe machine and freeee (!) wifii. The breakfest was good and the staff we're always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed 1 night in this hotel and the hotel was very clean and tidy with home liked feeling! I love the location of this hotel, and the staff there was very helpful too! The wifi was good as well! So I highly recommend this hotel to others and would definitely stay again when I go Amsterdam later!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Littlehampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Perfect location and so close to Centraal Station and easy walking distance of everything in Central Amsterdam. Room was small but clean and cosy. Breakfast was fresh every morning. The bar was open in the evenings and very reasonably priced with a lovely open fire. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is lovely, great location only 5 minutes walk from central station. Shops and restaurants in immediate vicinity and only 5 mins walk to Dam Square, 10-15 mins walk from Red Light District. Rooms are fairly good in size and have tea and coffee in the room. The room we had was overlooking the road above the entrance and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We really appreciate that you took the time to review us, even though you stayed here last November. How unfortunate that we were unable to provide you a room in August, we would have loved to welcome you again. However, we only have 27 rooms in total, and the summer... More 

Yucaipa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam. The hotel was clean, the staff helpful and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is close to all sights within 5-10 min. walk. The lobby and rooms have a nice modern warm and welcoming décor, the breakfast was fresh and had many items to choose from. Great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy that you have had a great stay and you have had a great value for your money. We are happy to welcome you any time soon! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were courteous, helpful. Hotel is on the whole clean and well-managed. Room was as described, beds were comfortable. Bathroom was spacious for a European hotel. Centrally located, easy to get to everything in the old city. Breakfast was a nice assortment of typical offerings. Wifi very fast. Definitely would book again if we're in Amsterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star rating and amazing review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are happy to know that you will be back next time, and we can't wait to give you a good experience right then as well! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night at this nice hotel. It's easy to find, close to the central station and within walking distance to everything. The staff is helpful, the rooms spacious and clean. I also found the interior interesting. The frontdesk is like an English bar, and the different floors have different bright colors. Next time in Amsterdam I'm staying here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Beate, Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see you have enjoyed your stay and that you will come back to us on your next visit. We are looking forward to it! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is central and staffs are approachable. Room layout could be better. Our biggest disappointment is regarding the cleanliness of our room. Room cleaning is shabbily done, and worst ever. Upon check-in, we can still feel and see the dust on the floor. Second day, the supposedly new towels are dirty and stained. Third day, dust prints on the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay a few months ago. We are sorry to hear the cleanliness of the room was not up to your expectations. When we know about this during your stay, we are always making sure the housekeepers clean extra good. It is regrettable that it still did not seem clean, and that you gave... More 

London, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We opted for a less expensive hotel than the one suggested for the start of our river cruise from Amsterdam. To our Canadian minds, $250 a night suggests relative luxury, but this is a big European city. The staff was friendly, and the location good, but the room was very small - the closet almost held one suitcase and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Rick, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback about the room. Unfortunately, we can't change the size of the room. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall, and we do wish to welcome you again next time. Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

taipei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have a great experience in sint Nicolas ,everything is fine but the bathroom. The water can't drain. The night shift staff help us to solve the problem with his best. We appreciate that ! Thnx a lot!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. The sink can actually drain, but the water stop was down, so that is why you thought it didn't drain. However we are glad our staff was able to show you. We do wish to see you again next time! Kind regards, Jos Kaarsgaren More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay