We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #162 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015
Mattia C
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    121
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
30
110
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Nothing else to say, good service at the desk , room with two bed was actually two little room sharing a bed, nice position,30 euro each for the night ,missing only a fridge on the room but still 5 star, you can't find better deal in Amsterdam cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Mattia, Thank you for your nice review. When our guest need a fridge we can put some things in our fridge in our kitchen. So next time we can help you even better. We hope to welcome you again some time as our guest! Best regards E. Schreurs More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Really like this hotel. Had a large room on the front of the hotel with large sash windows which give a great view of the canal. It's nice and quiet, and close to a tram stop, so you're only a few minutes from town. And there's a really cosy pub at the end of the canal on the corner. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review. Indeed only our superior rooms have that great view over the Canal. . We hope to welcome you again in the future as our guest. Best regards E. Schreurs More 

london, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I have never stayed here before although I have visited many times and have to say this place is excelkent. All staff were amazing and helped with everything we needed and even gave us extra items when asked. Lovely warm room overlooking the river on the 4th floor. Enjoyed night after night with my oartner wrapped in blankets drinking coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest Tank you for your nice Review, which we were delighted to read! It nice to know that our efforts result in positive effects for our guests. We hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

Clearly there are a number of different size rooms due to it being a canal house, but we booked a superior room and had a large room at the front on the first floor overlooking the canal, just above pavement level. Really nice size room with three large windows, although there was a restriction on how much you could open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Hampshire hotel Prinsengracht. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, sorry to hear that it was very hot in the room. Maybe air condition is an solution, we will discuss this with hotel management. Thank you for your review! Best regards from Amsterdam. Mariska van Oers More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The good: Had a pleasant stay despite several shortcomings of the hotel. Location is great -- on a quiet street in center of town. Room was quiet, pretty clean, spacious and well decorated. Free wifi worked well. The bad: Weeks ahead of time, I reserved and was quoted the price for a superior room with a canal view. However, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for commenting! We are glad to hear that you like our hotel and the location. Sorry you didn't get the level of service that we strive for. We will discuss your comments at the top levels of management. Best regards from Amsterdam. Marisak van Oers More 

Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

It was the second time we visited amsterdam. 2 years ago we stayed at the hampshire eden hotel, along the amstel river. However the hampshire hotel prinsengracht is better situated, also nicer along the prinsengracht. It is a rather small hotel. Room was clean and we had a view on the prinsengracht. (Room is not a large room, but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent Review, which we were delighted to read! We will pass on your compliments to our staff, which is the best motivation we can offer! We are looking to your soon return visit Kind regards Mariska van Oers More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

OK, so I've come to understand that many hotel rooms in Amsterdam are of a certain "shoebox" size - and this certainly met that criteria. The staff, whilst they answered our questions, did not really go out of their way to expand nor help any more than they felt they had to. The hotel is in a reasonable location -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for not having meet your expectations. We always try to do our best and we will take in consideration your complaint for improving our hotel Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This hotel is well located on Prinsegracht, one of the most beautiful canals of Amsterdam. It is near 3 tram stops, but you could reach the very center (Muntplein, Dam, Nieuwmarkt, Rembrandtplein) even by walk. Also Leidseplein is very near. The hotel is open 24h/24, the receptionists are always kind, and you can rent a bike (12,50 Euro/day). You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive feed back about your visit to our Hampshire hotel Prinsengracht. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location. We would be glad to welcome you soon again to our hotel. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel, so of course the rooms aren't going to be fancy. However, they are everything you need for exploring this fascinating city. The rooms are clean, bright, showers are lovely and hot, and rooms come with plenty of tea and coffee and hairdryers, and plenty of toiletries too which was a nice surprise. We booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectations and that you liked our hotel. We would be very glad to welcome you soon back to our hotel. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I booked a single room and immediately asked for a change. The two windows didn't close and there were dead insects all over. The room was filthy and smelly. The second room was a bit cleaner but the smell of the previous host was present. Wifi didn't work the first day. I would not repeat the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for commenting. We know it isn't always very comfortable doing that when you have had a negative experience. We are very sorry you didn't get the level of service that we strive for. We will discuss your comments at the top levels of management. Kind regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question