We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
Hotel amenities
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Ranked #163 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014
welsh3210
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    115
    52
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
102
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel, so of course the rooms aren't going to be fancy. However, they are everything you need for exploring this fascinating city. The rooms are clean, bright, showers are lovely and hot, and rooms come with plenty of tea and coffee and hairdryers, and plenty of toiletries too which was a nice surprise. We booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectations and that you liked our hotel. We would be very glad to welcome you soon back to our hotel. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I booked a single room and immediately asked for a change. The two windows didn't close and there were dead insects all over. The room was filthy and smelly. The second room was a bit cleaner but the smell of the previous host was present. Wifi didn't work the first day. I would not repeat the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for commenting. We know it isn't always very comfortable doing that when you have had a negative experience. We are very sorry you didn't get the level of service that we strive for. We will discuss your comments at the top levels of management. Kind regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Barbados
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I had a room overlooking the canal which was very nice but on a sunny day the room was very hot. Once I opened the windows everything was fine. There was a portable fan in the room but I only noticed this when I was checking out. It was a nice spacious room but I was very close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectations and that you liked our hotel, especially the central location. We would be very glad to welcome you soon back to our hotel. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Room was aging a bit but functional and a bit hot due to facing a sunny canal. Price was fair and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good. The location is very good. I wouldn't put at 4 stars but would stay again in cooler months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive feed back about your visit to our Hampshire hotel Prinsengracht. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed out hotel. We would be glad to welcome you soon again to our hotel. Best regards, Mariska van Oers More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here at the start of September. When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed very nicely, all the staff throughout the stay were really friendly and helpful with directions and places to visit. The rooms were ideal, it was very clean. Basic but that's all we wanted anyway as hotel was there purely for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning of September. I was greated in a very friendly way. The breakfast was a little bit overpriced for my taste, but there are a lot of nice cafes nearby. The room that I stayed in was 006 and was just big enough for one person. All the facilities were there: wifi, tv, coffee and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Well what do you get for $334.50 a night including taxes? The old building behind the overgrown garden has two bedrooms. It has cheap (particle board) furniture. A ceiling light fixture that is hanging loose on one side....not enough light in the rooms. You cannot use the desk at night. By the way that is where the hair dryer is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Perfect place to stay for visiting all the places of interest in Amsterdam. Close to shops, restaurants and boat cruises on the canal. The room was clean and a nice size for a double room, although extremely hot in the night! The only thing that spoils this hotel was the male member of staff on reception, we stood there in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although the hotel itself is not very plush or particularly modern, it is well situated, and perfect if you need a place to predominantly sleep and shower. My husband and I had our "minimoon" there and loved it. There were a few things amiss when we first arrived (such as a broken fan & dirty kettle in the room), but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
e s, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hampshire hotel Prinsengracht. We are delighted to read your lovely comments about our hotel. We are extremely thankful to read that our staff was wonderful. Thank you again for posting your review! Looking forward to your return visit! Best regards Mariska van Oers More 

Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice place located around the center of the Prinzengracht, with good tram access, on a quiet street. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful -- this is worth staying here alone. There is a lovely garden out back - quite a treat in a busy town like this. Our room had a nice view of the canal. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay