We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    118
    90
    17
    12
See reviews for
5
31
82
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here and had a good time. Stayed in a 16 bed dorm which wasn't too bad. Was quite annoying that the bar at the hostel closed at 11pm. Also, just a heads up that you have to charge your phones in reception as there is only 1-2 powerpoints in the rooms. The room we stayed in was spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst hostel we stayed in on our interrail trip. Staff were not very friendly. There were only 2 sockets in a 20 bed dorm which is not acceptable. Bathrooms were dirty. Rooms were very cramped the beds were very close to each other. Quality of breakfast selection was not great at all. Arrived after a very long day travelling were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you stay with us was not as expected. We get a lot of people in that are travelling trough Europe and are in shock about the price difference when arriving in Amsterdam. It is indeed an expensive city, we try to keep our prices low by keeping the beds simple... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a quiet hostel with a good localization, near Red Light District. An excellent customer service. Breakfast included, an amazing breakfast, for me, more than usual for a hostel. Clean, simple . Go to Amsterdam and STAYOKAY

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed our breakfast before you went out to explore the city! See you again More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best part about this hostel is the location. It is close to the red light district but far enough away that there was no noise problems. It was a decent hostel, and much quieter. Perfect if you want to stay in a hostel but actually intend to sleep at some point in the night. Amsterdam is known for its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is very centrally located but thankfully outside the red-light district. Our private room (still with bunk beds though) looked out into the courtyard which made it quieter than other reviewers' experiences with the dormitories. However, there are some severe minuses that need mentioning: - there is no soundproofing between the common restroom and the rooms, therefore we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and comments, sorry to hear that you were going up and down the stairs so many times. There is another way to the female only showers actually, but the layout of the building is somewhat of a labyrinth, so it is easy to get lost. We will try to signpost this a bit better! Hope to... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A big hostel, with ok beds, ok lockers, good showers & ok breakfast. Located not far away from main places. Lacked any atmosphere, like a lot of YHI hostels Ive been too, but I did expect that. Location isn't too bad, but more of a work than most other places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Stayed in this hostel for three nights, and thought the overall experience was rather average. The rooms were incredibly warm and with no fan or windows in the rooms this became quite a problem at night. The breakfast wasn't amazing but it was free so this cannot be complained about too much. I however thought the bathroom facilities could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

It's great you liked the location! In England the breakfasts are much bigger than in The Netherlands so I can imagine it was not the most varied and best breakfast you had in a while, still it should be pretty good for a Dutch one;). I hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to see you... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We stayed here for one night and it was quite good. The breakfast was really good, with a huge variety of different breads and cereals. For me the rooms (18 beds) were too big, but anyway I can recommend this place. The Internet access is a great feature which makes the hostel much better

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the information. If you visit us next time you can send us a email with a request for a smaller room. If there's a availability it's possible to give you a smaller room;) I'm glad everything was good! See you soon More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

In a very nice house in central Amsterdam you will find this hostal. Very friendly personal, clean place, with some couches and a table with some newspaper at the entrance. Big lockers for you to put your bags and lock with safety. Big rooms with big windows in a clean and light space. A simple but good breakfast (3-4 different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your information and rating. We are glad you liked it so much. We hope to see you next time! Have a great evening! More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

The location of this hostel is excellent--very central to many attractions and right along the canal. I stayed in a girls' dorm and our room had bright, sunny windows that faced a canal. This is a good spot if you're looking for basic clean accommodations, but I found this hostel to be very unsocial. Could have been the time I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hey I think you were staying in the female dorm with a view at the canal at the back of the hostel, nice you liked it! Everyday the people here are different of course, but you can always do something like a pubcrawl, walking tour or something else to meet more social people. I hope you found some cool thing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#44 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#63 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Hostelle
#42 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#105 of 201 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#28 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay