We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #65 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
embram123 Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    115
    84
    17
    10
See reviews for
4
30
79
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hostel for three nights, and thought the overall experience was rather average. The rooms were incredibly warm and with no fan or windows in the rooms this became quite a problem at night. The breakfast wasn't amazing but it was free so this cannot be complained about too much. I however thought the bathroom facilities could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

It's great you liked the location! In England the breakfasts are much bigger than in The Netherlands so I can imagine it was not the most varied and best breakfast you had in a while, still it should be pretty good for a Dutch one;). I hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to see you... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and it was quite good. The breakfast was really good, with a huge variety of different breads and cereals. For me the rooms (18 beds) were too big, but anyway I can recommend this place. The Internet access is a great feature which makes the hostel much better

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the information. If you visit us next time you can send us a email with a request for a smaller room. If there's a availability it's possible to give you a smaller room;) I'm glad everything was good! See you soon More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a very nice house in central Amsterdam you will find this hostal. Very friendly personal, clean place, with some couches and a table with some newspaper at the entrance. Big lockers for you to put your bags and lock with safety. Big rooms with big windows in a clean and light space. A simple but good breakfast (3-4 different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your information and rating. We are glad you liked it so much. We hope to see you next time! Have a great evening! More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hostel is excellent--very central to many attractions and right along the canal. I stayed in a girls' dorm and our room had bright, sunny windows that faced a canal. This is a good spot if you're looking for basic clean accommodations, but I found this hostel to be very unsocial. Could have been the time I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Team at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hey I think you were staying in the female dorm with a view at the canal at the back of the hostel, nice you liked it! Everyday the people here are different of course, but you can always do something like a pubcrawl, walking tour or something else to meet more social people. I hope you found some cool thing... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were so hot in this place. For 40 Euros a night I expected more. It was summer and there was no fans, no AC and was nearly impossible to sleep. The location was pretty good but will never stay here again due to being so uncomfortable and one PowerPoint for 20 people? Come on. The shared bathrooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for leaving a review, I'm sorry to hear that you did not have the best of times in our hostel. Last week we had a heat wave in Holland, our summers are not typically this extreme. For this reason a lot of places do not have standard air conditioning. Nevertheless I can imagine that this was very... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel was probably the worst one we stayed at out of the 15 we stayed at during the course of our Eurotrip. There were NO FANS OR ACs in the middle of a July heat wave, and their excuse was that the "Netherlands isn't prepared for such heat." Yet other places in Amsterdam did have fans & ACs? Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. The heat in Amsterdam was terrible. After management was informed we did place fans the dorms, but it was indeed a very very hot week. As my colleagues probably already explained, this type of weather is very unusual for Holland, that is... More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Have stayed at this hostel many times over the last 30 years and always had a great time. The staff have always been nice and helpful when needed. Met some great people here and never had a problem with security using the free lockers for my bag and valuables. Even when I forgot my winter coat one Feb. near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for leaving a review! great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us over the years, and we are happy that you got your coat back. Until next time! More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This hostel surprised me in a great way. The location is convenient to the train station and near everything you would want to see. It is very clean and had no trouble sleeping. They have shared bathrooms but you can request female only if you feel safer that way. They also have lockers to keep your bags while traveling. Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there! thanks for your review, we love it when people are surprised in a good way! See you next time, kind regards More 

Jodhpur, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

I've stayed in stay okay for 2 days. clean , good complimentary breakfast and the assistance any time was excellent .the center of the city .near red distinct , the best part of it you 'll find the best deal in Amsterdam , dont forget to take assistance FOR BEST DEAL for the local activity .very friendly hostel staff .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I think having an outlet by each bed is pretty standard for a hostel especially in the digital age. Travellers constantly need to search up information and, in order to do so, our phones need to be charged. There were only two outlets in the 20 bed dorm room I stayed in. I managed to snag one outlet for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StayokayVondelpark, Social Media Ambassador at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review, Glad to you enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately there are not enough outlets in the large dorms. Sorry to hear that you were not aware that we can charge up your phone safely and for free 24-7 at the reception. kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#39 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#60 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#89 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay