We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    314
    338
    103
    41
    39
See reviews for
8
183
141
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (835)
  • Mar-May only
    (222)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (194)
All months
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was stylish and comfortable and most importantly clean. The staff was amazing to us, they helped us out and gave us tips on where to go with such enthusiasm. The location is perfect as you can go to a lot pf places on foot. Also the restaurant served amazing food for reasonable prices. I absolutely love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll look forward to welcoming you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Atlanta, Georgia
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall, this was a good hostel. The rooms were clean, as was the bathroom. The shower, however, was awful. One night we were there, it completely flooded the entire bathroom because the water seeped out from the crevice where the door closes at the bottom. The service was really good though. They gave us plenty of towels to soak up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

It's good to receive constructive feedback like that, thank you very much! We're pleased to read that most things of your stay were very enjoyable. We're sorry that the bathroom flooded a bit whilst you were there, and with our maintenance team we have looked into a solution for this, so there should not be a problem anymore. Thanks again... More 

Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel is good if you're in Amsterdam to party and stay in the red light district. Because everyone is outside the hostel is having a good time all through the night, it would be fine if you were doing the same. Very noisy if you want to be asleep at 11:00pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your feedback! We like to cater to all types of travelers, but we can certainly appreciate that people who come to Amsterdam to party are easier satisfied in our hostel than people who'd like to go to bed at 11 PM. Please note that we offer free ear plugs at reception, which might just see you... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went over with 3 other girls for a small holiday, we couldn't book a 4 person room but we got a 5 instead, each night another person stayed in the other bed and all of them were lovely and like-minded people and we actually made pretty good friends with them, always a bonus! The room was fine, comfy beds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you had such a good time, and that whenever something went wrong during your stay, the staff responded accordingly. We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with a group of friends last week, having been to Amsterdam before I saw this hostel and thought it had a good atmosphere. When I arrived my room wasn't ready, which was understandable. However, what I couldn't understand was why the hostel was charging me €4 to hold my bag for me for the day so I could see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive and valuable feedback! It's good to read that you enjoyed our location. We are, however, sorry that you feel that we charged you for a lot of things. Compared to some other hostels in Amsterdam, we feel that we have a lot included in the price (Taxes, Breakfast, Towels, Wi-Fi, and so on),... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 4 nights while travelling, couldn't have picked a better place to be honest. Such a chilled place to smoke downstairs and the trippy paintings on our walls were great when our guitarist was tripping balls off of magic truffles apparently! Good job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you'll definitely be back! Thanks for leaving a review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a very fun hostel! The bar was cool and the staff was very nice. A little loud at night but could sleep through the noise. It was in a very good location in the red light district. The bar food took a while to get. The drinks and food were reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly appreciated our location and our staff! We're sorry that the food took a bit long to arrive, and that the area can be a bit noisy at times. In regards to the latter; please note that we offer... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second stay at this hostel. Frist was with a group of 10 mates, this stay was a weekend city break (Friday-Monday) with my fiancée. Hostel was excellent again and just as good for couples as it is for groups. You can’t beat the location which is a 5min walk from Centraal Station, in the red light district... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, for a second time. We look forward to welcoming you again and again. Thanks for leaving a review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hostel suitable for a city break, small rooms, some with views of the red light district, very near the center and railway station and all the attractions of Amsterdam. The bar downstairs is ok and has special offers for the hostel's customers. Breakfast ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a review! It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the bar and our free breakfast. We hope you'll stay again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with 6 friends , (Saturday to Tuesday ) , hostel is in a great location, rooms are very comfortable and staff very friendly. Free breakfast is Also excellent with plenty of choice. The bar food is also good and you get discount along with good drink offers. Would definitely stay again if I am back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Great to read that everything was up to standard and that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for letting us, and our future guests, know! - St. Christopher's at The Winston More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

525 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (215)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Eight Bed Ensuite Dorm (31)
Viewed
Five Bed Ensuite Dorm with Balcony (35)
Viewed
Four Bed Ensuite Dorm (36)
Viewed
Premium Double Ensuite Room (29)
Viewed
Private Five Bedroom Ensuite Room (39)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Small Twin Ensuite Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Ensuite Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay