We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    228
    215
    90
    94
See reviews for
10
57
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (719)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (269)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The receptionist was very unfriendly on arrival and departure. The rooms were like prison cells and there was no atmosphere in the place. Very bad for trying to meet other travellers and the lockers are not very safe. Worst hostel of my trip travelling around Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read you didn’t like your time with us, and to hear you weren’t treated well by our staff. However, we are curious why you think it is bad to meet other travelers, since over 500 young travelers stay with us and have a drink at our bar… should be possible to have some fun with them! We do... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently was unfortunate enough to get myself arrested, it was an awful experience and staying in the room brought back awful memories. The location was the upside to my stay. My girlfriends back has been in tatters ever since though due to the horribly uncomfortable beds. Wouldn't return. Good free breaky though, nice cheese.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that our hotel brought back unhappy memories… We hope the beautiful sight of Amsterdam could wash them away! More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

arrived at the hostel to find a teen punk trying to kick open the automatic doors. we knew at this point what sort of establishment we were expecting. although a good location the shower had one hole which spouted water incessantly with the force of niagra falls. having said that it was cheap in comparison to other hostels in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write your opinion about us. Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam! More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome location in the centre city and pretty cheap compared to the other hostels there. There is a Bar downstairs with a really good atmosphere but unless you go there durin happy hour the prices aren't any cheaper than all the other bars and the free breakfast was really good too!!! Would recommend to stay there for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recommendations! Glad you liked your stay! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you need to be completely clean and orderly this is not for you. If you don't mind a little dirt here and there and a staff that are not afraid to tease you a bit this place it's great. Hotel wise it's just a place where you can sleep in a not so great bed (but a bed nonetheless)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hehe, yup, you caught us, we do like to tease :) Also we might not be the best in being orderly. But great that didn’t scare you off and that you liked your stay! Hope we can soon share a beer again at the bar! More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first took a 4-bed dorm. in the first night, then a 8-bed mixed dorm. in the other 2 nights. The 8-bed is bigger with more windows, so you get cooler air. And It's cheaper (about 2.5 euro). The really strong point about the hotel is the open free breakfast from 7 to 10 am. They serve 2 tipes of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing about your experience with us. We´re happy to read you´ve enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast is here for you anytime, hope to see you again soon! More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a university society trip. Was in a room with four other people. The bunks were a bit prison-like but perfect for sleeping off hangovers! There were lockers too but people only kept their suitcases there. The bar / eating areas were simple - probably a bit grubby but it serves its purpose. There was a table where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about us. Hope you´ve enjoyed your stay! More 

Clonmellon, County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cons: Crap bunkbeds, broken lockers and dodgy lifts. Pros: Cheap (€25 a night which is great in amsterdam) -Walking distance from everything - do not buy a tram ticket (waste of €12) -Cheap good food (free breakfast and €6-7 meals - dirt cheap in Amsterdam) -Great hostel vibe (especially for young people travelling)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Absolutely agree with everything. You know us better than ourselves. Thanks for that! More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll start by saying this hostel is shabby. Prison style bunk beds, lockers that are about as secure as cardboard and a bathroom that smelt like a horse had been in it. But then who honestly spends time in their room (apart from sleeping in the fetal position for a few hours hoping the hangover never comes) in a city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

We are already looking forward heaps to November! Can’t wait, jagerbombs are here waiting for you. As are vodka and twixes for breakfast (which lasts until 10am btw, but guess you wouldn’t catch that either…) More 

Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Pay for what you get. Rooms were clean and fairly spacious but basic as was expected. Nice location slightly away from the busy areas. They have good food as well if you choose to eat here. Stayed in a large group so i felt safe, not sure how i would feel on my own as there are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive words, hope to see you again soon so we can share a burger! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

348 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#251 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#46 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#63 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay