We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 173 Amsterdam accommodations

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #91 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Giorgia c Milan, Italy
  • Overview
  • Reviews (459)
  • Photos (329)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    140
    142
    59
    63
See reviews for
2
27
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice, central hostel. Room was spacious, clean, with a private big locker with a key and ensuite bathroom,really good! It's a big and crowded hostel, so there are always people around; there's an inside bar that serves free breakfast in the morning (good) and where you can get cheap food and drinks all day. There's quite the party atmosphere but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends and see you again soon! Hans Brinker More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very basic, but does what it says on the tin. Room was the hottest place on Earth in July, but the all night bar comes in handy if you don't want to go in the rooms. It's situated in a decent enough area of Amsterdam and it's inexpensive for a capital city location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are aware of the fact during very high temperature outside it can be warm in some rooms. Indeed go outside, enjoy Amsterdam, our bar and club, so the only time you have to spend at the room is when you go to sleep! Greetings, Hans Brinker More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, we arrived then checked in and headed along the corridor with the many amusing posters slating the Hostel covering the walls. Braced and anticipating the worst, the door was opened to reveal a basic, clean and lovely room with a couple of bunk-beds and a locker each. The next step, would the shower work? Would the toilet flush? Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Lee, you will be back!! We hope to see you again soon at our bar, drinking a cider at Happy Hour! Greetings, Hans Brinker More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I expected the worst when arriving at the Hans Brinker and first impressions met exactly that. There were cigarette butts all over the entrance floor and vomit inside the entrance and out. The eating and bar area was quite nice. Prices for drinks were reasonable in the bar and the food wasn't bad. The rooms were surprisingly clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Benjamin, Thanks for your review. Great to read you've liked your stay. Could you please send a detailed email about the staff who were rude (send it to thomas@hans-brinker.com)! Thanks in advance! Hans Brinker More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hostel is excellent. Situated within walking distance of main attractions and good access to tram. There is also a direct bus to and from the airport. The hostel has a very youthful and party vibe. The bar and mini club downstairs are always busy. Happy hour is relatively good with 2 for 1 drinks. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nathalie! Thanks for writing a review about our hotel! Indeed we are a 'party vibe' hostel as we have our own bar and club! We are aware of the difficulties of our wifi and looking for a solution! Thanks! Hans Brinker More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only downside is the lack of security. They offer small lockers you can pay for daily downstairs... However, lockers in rooms are mostly dodgy and I wouldn't leave valuables in them. The bar and food was good, no kitchen though which wasn't so great. It is central and if you want to see Amsterdam it really is a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! We do provide safety deposit boxes at reception for your passport and more. Greetings, Hans Brinker More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good location, the rooms were kinda small but they are very clean, nice breakfast with yogurt, hot coffe, milk, bread, cheese and cereal. It has a nice bar and party every day on the undergroud. I will come back again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! Would be great seeing you again at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker More

Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at this hostel and wouldn't pick anywhere else to stay when visiting Amsterdam! The location is perfect and in walking distance of all the touristy places and bars/ clubs in the evening! Also very easy to get to from the airport via train/ tram! The rooms are adequate - you get the basics... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Great summary or our hotel and services! Looking forward seeing you the 4th time at our hotel! :) Greetings, Hans Brinker More

Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the ideal location to stay if you were to explore Amsterdam at its best. The rooms were very standard, there's no need to be in there other than to sleep. I found the bar area and reception had some interesting marketing promotions that was rather funny and pointing out the worst of the place. Many in my tour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed staying at our hotel! Hans Brinker More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My friend and I planned our 4-day trip to Amsterdam on short notice. We were on the bus to Amsterdam when we were booking a room, desperately trying to find a place to stay in a location not far from the center. The fact that it was right before Easter meant the prices had gone up and the rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review! Indeed we are basic, but clean and everything you need for a stay in Amsterdam! We hope to welcome you again soon when visiting Amsterdam again! Greetings, Hans Brinker More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

329 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..no swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It’s located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
200

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer