We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

1.0 of 5 Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    169
    166
    75
    75
See reviews for
4
39
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (555)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Compared to everywhere else in central Amsterdam, Hans Brinker is very cheap, and thus good value for backpackers on a budget. Compared to the rest of Europe however it isn't great value. The deliberately negative advertising is good as it lowers your expectations before arriving, so you're not too disappointed at the accommodation. The rooms were dirty and the bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed here with friends whilst we were interrailing around Europe during the summer. The hotel was very basic, but had everything we needed, including lockers (and free breakfast!!). It was cheap and in a good location, so perfect for anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This hostel has a excelent localization.The price is cheap comparing with others of the same category. Has a good service and a good bar inside with good prices. A free breakfast is included that's makes the hostel price worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed here in June after being recommended by a friend and also the attractive price. The hostel itself is easy to locate, while not being on a busy street. The room is exactly what it suggests it will be, the room was cleaned daily and well. The bathroom had a nasty stench inside but this was not surprising as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

First off I was ending a 36 day tour of Europe was pretty unhappy when I learned another 4 tours all checking in at the same time. I know it was the worst as soon as I opened that bathroom door and looked in the sink there was hair (pubic by the looks) which later blocked it to the point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Cheapest hostel in Amsterdam and happy hour was a bargain. Free wifi was a bonus and the food was to a good standard for the price. Absolutely no complaints as you totally get what advertise. Staff were also very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our bar for Happy Hour?! Hans Brinker More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

If you read up on the hostel before staying they set their standards pretty low so you have no good expectations.. I give them credit for this, the hostel isn't terrible though, it's just older and basic.. Similar to a nice prison i would say.. However it's clean, has free wi-fi and happy hour and was in a damn good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! For your next stay: Yes, we are really cheap :)! Hans Brinker More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I absolutely loved it!!! It was so luxurious with gold walls, its 4 post beds and the eletric curtains aswell you got a free golden ipad, a stunning view of the road!! and the design was magnificent. Food was 9 star quality and the chairs were made from 100% silk and covered in the softsest pillows on the earth!!! It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Madame, Thank you for your kind review. At the other hand we are a bit surprised and upset you did not mention all of our services, such as our Valet Parking, Helicopter Service to Schiphol Airport, the dash of caviar of your pillow upon arrival, the complimentary champagne at our Oyster bar, our in-house Sushi restaurant and our 5... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Base themselves as worst hotel ever, they certainly are! Stayed here with tour group i was on, felt dirty the whole time i was there! Best thing was when i left! Location was ok though, only good thing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Dirty? We clean our rooms and bathrooms every day, we provide clean bed linen and towels and we have a killer breakfast! Hans Brinker ! More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed here when I travelled to amsterdam with my university. It was great. Exactly what you would expect from a hostel - we had bunk bed rooms with lockers in and a shared bathroom. The only difference was I knew everyone else that stayed in the room and there was 6 of us. A basement bar and dancefloor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay