We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    198
    191
    81
    81
See reviews for
7
48
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (628)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed here last month with school for our studytrip. It was amasing - it could not have been better for what we needed: a place with a bar, and a disco in the basement, we could talk as loud as we wanted to, breakfast included, and close to everythhing. We are happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy with you :) :) :) More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Don't come here expecting lavish rooms, room service or caviar dishes... DO come here expecting the good vibes of the party variety! Super laid back staff and everyone knows what the place is about, having a good time and letting loose with your pals. You can come back from town any time and it's open and the bar/club area downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

You are wicked! Love the review, hope you’ll be back soon so we can get the party vibe going. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Stayed here in January this year with some course-mates from university. Only stayed there for a couple of nights but thought that the facilities were simple yet adequate. The beds were comfy enough but shower area was small and flooded the whole bathroom which was inconvenient with 6 of us in one room. There was also a lack of space... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we’ll definitely take them into consideration. Happy to hear you had a good stay! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Wow, where do I even start... First of all, the 'rules' that this place are just stupid. So I booked this hostel and it was fine, originally they asked what the arrival time was and I put 9am (without knowing that this is the deadline that we had to arrive at). Not knowing this but this meant that if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, very sorry to hear your experience with us was disappointing. We state clearly in our ‘things to note’ that if you don’t call us when you arrive later than you’ve stated, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. Even though, we completely understand that this hasn’t been a nice experience for you. We apologize and hope that despite... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days with my friends. Staff was quite friendly. The rooms were not the cleanest we had seen but given the nightly rate it was normal. Very central location which was a big plus. Would recommend staying here if you're on a budget and will only spend a day or two in the city

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive words, hope to see you again sometime and hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This place is dirty and foul. The beds were unsafe with no railings. The bathroom was so small you pretty much had to shower while sitting on the toilet. Sure it might be a hostel, but these days there are some pretty good budget hostels around making this place look like a disgrace!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry for being the best in ignoring your complaints! What would you expect from the worst hotel in the world... More 

Mandurah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed in a private room on bottom floor. Was really good value for money. Room was cleaned every day and the restaurant and club were really good. Close to everything and all staff were lovely., Would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for liking us! We like you too, we do! Hope to see you soon again! ;) More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Pretty horrific, it was so budget and a bit of a walk to town. Close to the main park but just pretty average. I wouldn't stay here again, I would defiantly opt to stay in the town rather than walk a marathon to get to the centre. The breakfast was average and so were the staff. Rooms were yuck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you think our hostel is far from the city centre. We’re curious what walking route you chose to reach the places you wanted to go to, as we are located right in the city centre, at just a 5 minutes’ walk from the museum square, Leidseplein and the main shopping street. A pity you didn’t enjoy your... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

My room was incredibly cold and the bunk beds don't have guards or ladders so it's a miracle I didn't fall out! The breakfast is very basic, though the seeded bread for toast was nice. Good location within walking distance of the centre. Happy hour tannoy announcement isn't good for napping!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

We’re very sorry we’ve disturbed your napping… we just prefer everybody to come down to the bar and enjoy their time with us! But no kidding, we are happy with your suggestions for the improvement of our property, we’ll definitely consider approving these points - although we think the breakfast is already quite varied with bread, cheese, ham, jam, peanut... More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Had a good stay in the hostel with a big group of friends. Helpful service, nice to use the bar and club too. Clean and bright room couldn't complain, apart from a very poor shower, however very reasonably priced and would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice words Maddy, hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

344 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities