We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    210
    206
    86
    90
See reviews for
7
49
63
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (676)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (226)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

They advertise themselves as the worst hostel which is pretty funny. The rooms aren't very spacious or luxurious at all but there's free breakfast and the staff are really friendly and helpful, particularly Iris. Also there is a great youthful atmosphere there. Only complaint is during my visit the temperature was around 30 degrees and the windows hardly opened so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place has got to be the worst place I've stayed in on my 4 month trip around Europe. The rooms were so hot you couldn't sleep! Not to mention the bed bugs im still trying to get rid of. Not worth it at all id rather sleep on the street! Stay away!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This really is a great place to spend a night in the center of Amsterdam. This, of course, is not a hotel, but as a hostel this is just perfect. Breakfast is included in the price and really very good! Wi-fi worked great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic, but clean, tidy, great bar, the breakfast is good and a bonus and the staff are really helpful. One of the only hostels that is quite from 10.00pm. Probably because everyone is in the basement night club. Would recommend to any traveller/backpacker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a trip with 250 other students and it was exactly what I expected. Their marketing leaves to no false pretences and so you go in knowing exactly what to expect. The room had a private bathroom, clean sheets and fresh towels. The wifi didn't work too well in the rooms but we didn't need to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

at when I entered the room I was like, i can't sleep here, it had a weird smell inside but however I did. I got used to the room and it was ok! The location is great, it was cheap and really clean; and what you see is what you get. Overall it was really ok, they have a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot. We got used to you too and now we really want you to come back! Please do! More 

Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is near all the attractions, all within 10/15mins walk. The area was very nice. Our room was as clean as it needed to be, despite hearing complaints on the contrary. However it was unbelievably hot, the window simply doesn't open. The wifi is pretty much inexistent! The bar and social area is brilliant for meeting others, and happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive words, hope to see you again sometime! More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The downstairs common area was cool with a good atmosphere. The location was very convenient. The free breakfast was generous and varied. However, the price was very high (around €20 pppn) for what we got - although perhaps this is inevitable in 'Dam. The other problem my friends and I experienced was a persistent foul smell in our dormitory and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write something about us! Like you said, high prices are kind of inevitable in Amsterdam… we’re one of the cheapest! Glad you liked your stay! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do Not Recommend Staying Here. Although it was fairly cheap, I would not stay here again by any means. I think the worst part is the building has zero ventilation and all of the dorm windows are locked not allowing air inside, no fans or air conditioning on a really hot night with five other people in the dorm was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Pitty to read you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, we hope you did enjoy the pretty city of Amsterdam! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As soon as we walked in this hotel it is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. Besides the fact that I feel like I am in a prison cell there is a sign at the front door declaring how proud they are to have a dirty hotel to my suprise it was acurate. After... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansbrinkerhotel, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are quite shocked by it and feel really bad this has happened at our hostel; therefore we would like to offer our apologies. We have never heard before that a complete room was trashed. Therefore we are really upset by your review and we would like to know what happened exactly. We also send you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

346 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#248 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#40 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#89 of 195 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#61 of 195 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay