We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flying Pig Uptown

Certificate of Excellence
Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Flying Pig Uptown
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    170
    192
    76
    25
    19
See reviews for
4
77
79
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (482)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were unfortunately on the top floor which was a bit of a hike with our packs and especially with the hot weather. Didn't bother us too much though. We did have our room broken into through the window and laptops and money stolen. The staff were extremely apologetic and helpful. We had our stay refunded which was very appreciated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place to chill but also a good place to drink and party till early hours, fun staff, very close to train station, centre of everything. Good facilities. Would of given it 5 if it wasn't for a mouse under our bed that kept us up all night and the staff didn't help

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Like most Dutch residences, the Flying Pig is very compact and tight. However, the location if perfect, right on Vondel Park. My room looked over the park and it was really serene. The facilities are basic and a few more showers and toilets would be handy but that's the price you pay for the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I would recommend to anyone who wants to meet lovely people and have a great social experience in the dam! the hostel has got a fantastic vibe, a wonderful location and the staff are great! The barman was so welcoming, always smiling ,made you feel right at home, think his name was slaven? I got great help from Steve on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi there, Wow, this is amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review. Steve, Slaven, Brendan, Robin and Marc were very happy to read this too! :) Thanks again and if you ever come back to Amsterdam, we hope to see you again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hostel definitely made my stay in Amsterdam more enjoyable and easier to relax. It was very simple to get to from the airport and we found it without any hassle. Its proximity to Vondelpark was great - within minutes of walking out the door you could be lying in the grass with the sun shining. It was also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review of your stay with us! We are very happy to read you had such a good time here. We will pass on your kind words to our staff, they would love to hear this! :) Thanks again and we hope to see you again one day! Cheers, The Flying... More 

Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think it's the best hostel experience in Amsterdam ,so if you are looking to meet and mix with other travelers from around the world that's the place for you. They have great smoking place that's a good place for meeting other people. The downside is that there is no elevator and that the prices are not cheap at weekends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. We really appreciate this and we are very happy to see you enjoyed yourself with us :) Unfortunately, due to the traditional Dutch architecture of our building, there is no elevator. But our staff is always more than happy to help... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about the Flying Pig Uptown was great, a lovely location next to the fantastic Vondelpark, helpful and friendly staff, decent range of food and booze, good kitchen facilities and some of the most comfortable dorm beds I've ever slept in. The showers were great, although the bathrooms were a tad small, the social area/bar whilst being fantastically lively, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving this great review! We are very happy to hear you had such a good time with us. We will pass on your kind words to our staff as well, they would love to hear this! Hopefully we will see you again next to you are in Amsterdam :) Cheers, The Flying Pig... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the private room...luckily it included a towel and bottle of water... That has to be payed for in regular rooms. It has no elevator whatsoever so if you are traveling with heavy bags it's very hard to carry. The happy room indeed was a bit different and crazy fun. People go there and smoke I take anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay! We are sorry to hear your first hostel experience was not really as you had hoped. We are happy you liked the towel and water in your room! We do rent out towels at reception as well, just for a refundable deposit. Due... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a 3 person room as we were not sure what to expect for a first time Hostel experience. Our room was on the "4th" floor (which is really the sixth floor). Be ready for stairs!!! Steep stairs!!! The showers were clean and large, but the toilet is in a closet (very small) but functional. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staff to be so helpful :) Due to the traditional Dutch architecture we cannot install an elevator, but our staff are always available to help with any... More 

Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

It s not in central station tourist area but it s still in the tourist area. In Amsterdam, tourist area is all over. Close to restaurants and a big park. The staffs are excellent. They are always helpful. The toilet is cleaned only once in the morning :( The stairs are steep and No Elevator!!! In order to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to review our Hostel! We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful. All the public showers and toilets are being cleaned several times throughout the day. You can always let our staff know at any time of the day if you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay