We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swissotel Amsterdam

#50 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel website
Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swissotel Amsterdam
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,052 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
LONDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here 10 years ago and love it. Now 10 years on and nothing has changed, and thats the problem nothing has changed but the carpets. Come on Swissotel get your act together refurbish the rooms you can not just really on location, which is the best in Amsterdam by the way.So many hotels in Amsterdam have refurbish even some... More 

Helpful?
Thank HotHotJoe
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments sir. We actually had quite an extensive renovation going on last year, which included our lobby, corridors and other public areas. Not just the carpets. I dare to assume you stayed in a classic room, which is the only room type that has not been refurbished. A redo has been planned for this year. The size... More 

braintree essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The staff are very friendly and are helpful. The rooms are a good size for a weekend but unless you have a room to the front you are overlooking the building next door. There is a good variety of food for breakfast and we ate there in the evening, which although wasn't cheap, was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank chelseagirl07
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am glad to read you enjoyed our hotel. We have rooms at the front, which overlook Dam Square and Damrak Street. The rooms at the sides are indeed facing the adjacent buildings. The rooms in the back give on to the Nieuwendijk shopping street and Nieuwe Kerk (New Church). Kind regards, Harold J. Kluit... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed on business and had a room overlooking Damm Square a little noisy with the trams. Small but clean with a business center and small gym. There is no room to relax in downstairs or bar. The Resturant that is attached doesn't belong to the hotel and expensive for very average food. Breakfast outside for a much better deal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky57
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I would also suggest to choose from the wide variety of restaurants and lunchrooms in the area to have a meal. My front desk colleagues know plenty of them. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Harold J. Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam More 

london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you are looking to explore the city then this is a great place to stay, right in the heart of the city and within walking distance of the main station. For the price we paid I was surprised how large the room was and also very quiet which can sometimes be a problem with hotels in the centre of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dutchmike82
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. I am sorry to read about the bad restaurant experience on the second night. As you might have read in earlier responses, Dam Plaza Restaurant is not managed by Swissôtel Amsterdam. Therefore we unfortunately do not have a lot of influence on the quality of the food. Luckily there is an overwhelming... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our second stop of our European Journey. My husband had stayed here before with a business partner, and so we did the same while visiting. The room we got was apparently much worse than the one they had. Very noisy, couldn't shut the light out, run-down looking...and the room itself was a really strange set-up with a step... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsCarr2009
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. I am sorry to read you were not completely satisfied with the room you stayed in. I tried to figure out which room it might have been, since you were mentioning the step-down. All rooms with a step-down are either Swiss Business Advantage Rooms or Suites, which are actually recently refurbished and very comfy rooms. Please... More 

Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after reviewing the hotel chain Swiss hotels and found it to be in the idea location for our visit to Amsterdam. We found the location in perfect walking distance to the red light district, river tours, short convenient ride to Anne Frank's House. Such a variety of eating places around, for breakfast we walked across... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank khristian14
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending us and for pointing out our main assets. Such great promotion. Please come back soon. Kind regards, Harold J. Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam More 

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much, especially because of the beautiful and cozy room on the fifth floor. We had a splendid view over the roofs and to the Nieuwe Kerk. A relaxing place situated right in the busy center of Amsterdam.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank e a
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Great to read you enjoyed your stay that much. I know exactly which room you were in, thanks to your description. I sincerely appreciate your positive feedback. Kind regards, Harold J. Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The place is very nice, the location is central. No minibar unless you buy at the bar: no courtesy water. Very slow service at the restaurant. Charge on account without explicit reason: you need to ask the reception. Last but not least, 12 €/day for internet connection is a lot, mainly if it is not evident in the hotel description... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank juliette55
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I think we owe you an explanation. • Courtesy water is provided to guests staying in our Swiss Business Advantage Rooms and Suites and to guests staying for three nights or more. • The minibars in our Classic Rooms, which are our more basic rooms, are empty. For your convenience a vending machine has been put... More 

Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

we are stayed 3 days in swissotel in amsterdam, new modern and clean rooms with fantastic service, hotel in center of the city any noise perfectly. no breackfast included but its no problem with a lot of bar & restaurants from coffee to english.... to do next time, no other choosing hotel only this one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Canova C
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Okay, that’s a deal then: we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thank you for the review. Kind regards, Harold J. Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

702 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (467)
Viewed
Room/suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
6:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Junior Suite (73)
Viewed
Premium Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay