We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only booked this hotel the day before travel, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived late in the evening, and were made to feel really welcome by Milja who was on reception and checked us in, and made us feel welcome from the get go. She showed us to our room, and told us where to go for breakfast etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jodasa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on the 15th Jan 2016 4 girls. We had 4 beds in the room. It was very clean and adequate for a 3 night stay. Its worth booking direct as you get a better deal with the hotel.The stairs were quite steep we were on the second floor. This hotel would not be good if your unable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank michealnel
Santeramo in Colle, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff extremely nice, took a room in a late night, was so nice to stay in there. Room, bed, and bathroom extremely tidy and clean, good wifi service, very central. Little little little bit expensive, but never had a way to spend it so well. Looking forward to come back!

Helpful?
Thank Angelo D
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind revew. We hope you will visit with us again soon. Please contact us prior to making your next reservation so that we can be certain you are booked to the room of your choice. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel More 

East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a superb location near most of the nightlife in central Amsterdam. As with any hotel in a classic old building like this the stairs to the upper rooms can be very steep and quite tight. Rooms are on smaller side but more than adequate for the budget hotel. In areas like this you don't plan to spend... More 

Helpful?
Thank HairyO
Rehovot, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service is horrifying and my vacation will only start in March. I made an honest mistake of not seeing that this hotel had no elavtor. I talked to the eceptionist which was loud and very very rude to me, explaining that my Fiance, whom I will be bringing there as my wife by then, is handicapped and therefore we... More 

Helpful?
Thank tomerick2016
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you booked a nonrefundable reservation without reading the description of the hotel first. Our receptionists are happy to accommodate any request that is within their authority to accommodate. Unfortunately canceling nonrefundable reservations is not within their authority. The receptionist with whom you spoke tried through your many phone calls to explain... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The staff always welcome you with a smile and are always very helpfull with anything you need i have stayed at this hotel about 6 times in the past year or so its always the cheapest to stay in in the location and in my honest opinion the best hotel and it is the best location wether you want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spon G
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you love our location and are happy with all of the surrounding attractions. We look forward to seeing you in 2016! Happy New Year! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We arrived relatively late (8:30pm). We were given the apparently last room. Stairs were very steep and narrow (but that is to expect in many hotels in Amsterdam). When we opened the room door we were shocked by it super small size and smelly. Travelling with 2 suitcases it was impossible to put them anywhere other than on the bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank siegenthaler
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Dear Siegenthaler, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that your experience in the hotel did not match your expectations. Best regards, More 

Pinhal Novo, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Once I read some frightening reviews I emaild the hotel and asked for a room as indicated in the pictures. I got preciselly that. A nice double room on the 3rd floor. Not a fancy room, but clean, and confortable. No street noise, also (really!). No air conditioned, but the temperarure was ok. The worst I can say is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia_Pinus
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. We are happy to hear that you found your room clean, comfortable and quiet. As we are located within the Canal Ring which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site- this part of Amsterdam is famous for its tall narrow buildings hence the stairwell. You will be happy to hear that we have added more... More 

Alatri, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Hotel is like a tower. we were placed on the top floor and our room was VERY VERY VERY SMALL! we had no space to store dresses and no space to move. in addition, i suppose we payed the same of other geusts, but we get half of the space we requested. so, I wont be there again anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about our hotel. Our hotel is in the center of Amsterdam which is a Unesco World Heritage site boasting thousands of contiguous buildings in the classic Amsterdam architectural style of tall and narrow buildings. Each room in our hotel is unique. For many who visit Amsterdam, that is part of... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Had a short visit to the city with a couple of friends 1st week in October. A room had been made into a triple room for us. The room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is basic and value for money. A continental breakfast is now served in the Pizza restaurant below the hotel. The hotel is in an... More 

Helpful?
Thank 286DavidF
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and found your room spacious, clean and a good value. We hope to see you again soon! Be sure to contact us prior to your next reservation so that we can be certain you are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#154 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighborhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay