We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

The Albus

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #61 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
DPNolan Chagrin Falls, Ohio
  • Reviews (664)
  • Photos (307)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (114)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    277
    84
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
311
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was extremely helpful, location is great and the atmosphere is definatly upscale. The room is a little small to the American taste, but based on other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam, the room size is typical. The elevator was greatly appreciated as some other hotels in this price range require a climb to your room up very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you for your nice compliments on our staff and atmosphere. I hope to welcome you back soon for another blissful stay in the Albus! With kind regards, Lisa Jurgens Deputy Manager More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel has a superb location in the heart of Amsterdam. You get a voucher for complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Service is excellent with a very friendly staff who remind you of service in a five star hotel. Their suites are spacious and the hotel is well kept and very clean. Toiletries in the rooms are nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website and for your positive comments on our service standards! Since we are located in the heart of bubbly Amsterdam which has loads of benefits, street noise is unfortunately one of the disadvantages. I am glad to see that you do value the cleanliness, the... More

Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for almost anything you'd want to do. A block from the flower market, two blocks from Rembrandt square. Quite a bit of street noise. The clue should have been complimentary ear plugs in the room. This was exacerbated by no air conditioning and open windows. Food was decent, staff was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our staff! I am sorry to read that the streetnoise has been a bit disturbing during your stay, but perhaps one of our rooms in the back or on the side of the hotel will be the perfect solution for your next trip to lively... More

Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the room incredibly noisy. Not only was the street noise bad, but bearable, but the sound insulation between rooms was poor. A large group of guests seemed to be departing from 4- 5.30 one morning and the shouting, door slamming, tramping up the corridor etc made it impossible to sleep. In their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello valuable guest, Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay and your nice compliments about our staff and welcome services. I understand that you are not happy with the noise made by some of other guests leaving early and I am sorry that you have been disturbed! Do you remember from which staff you did try... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed once with a business trip back in 2013. The hotel is in a fantastic spot, away from noise but close enough to walk pretty much anywhere! The hotel room was really nice, but for the price you pay, it's not really worth it. It was kept clean and somewhat spacious, but you can pay a lot less for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello valuable guest, Thank you for your nice compliments about the cleanliness of the rooms and our welcoming service! Please, make sure that you book your future reservations on our own website for the best rates and unique promotions and discount actions to make sure you are not paying too much. I hope that our competitive prices and our lovely... More

Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to The Albus two times, and I really like it. It has a great location. The roms is goodand the staff is always helpfull and smiling. Both times we arrived early, and they prepered our rom early for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you very much for returning to the Albus and for your nice comments on this website. We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay! With kind regards, Lisa Jurgens Deputy Manager More

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel is no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the major sites and a block from the tram. we were near eateries, the flower market, shopping etc. friendly desk staff were helpful with advice and prompt with service, e.g. a request for a kettle: it came immediately, with teabags and sugar! we had one small problem - the minimalist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a positive review on this website! I am glad to read that you praise our staff and services. I already received your feedback about the closet space through our front office staff and I understand your comments. We have sereval rooms with extra closet space with shelves,... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a one day stay at the Hotel as a transition day. The staff were very friendly - from the moment we arrived, the prepared our room, provided a comfortable place to wait and gave a great orientation to the room, the hotel and the surrounding area. It happened to be the night of a Netherlands game in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear valuable guest, It is nice to read that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay at the Albus! Thank you for your compliments on our staff, I will share these directly with our teams as positive feedback always is their greatest motivation. I hope to welcome you again soon! With kind regards, Lisa Jurgens Deputy Manager More

Letchworth Garden City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good: Clean well furnished room. Friendly staff. Location is excellent for central Amsterdam. Bad: Staying in a room at the front on the first floor on a Friday and Saturday night, the street noise was very disruptive, continuing into the early hours. Horrible smell of drains in the reception area - I assume this isn't a permanent thing. Room TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you for your nice compliments! I am sorry to read that you did not have the best sleep. We provide ear plugs in all our front rooms as we are aware that the traffic or party people can be disturbing during the weekends. I hope that we have been able to fix your TV directly after... More

Seattle
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our long flight from the west coast of the US arrived early in the morning so our room wasn't ready. We left our bags with the front desk and walked across the street to the Flower Market where we wandered through the shops. Checked in later and found our room adequate but without air conditioning and amenities one would find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave an extended review about your stay at the Albus! I am sorry that we could not completely live up to your expectations. I have checked the website of your Lisboa hotel and it does look very nice! Just keep in mind that the Albus is a 4 star hotel... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (63)
Viewed
Amenities (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam #41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam #56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam #57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
77

See which rooms travelers prefer