We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Albus

#57 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Albus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Albus
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    428
    129
    40
    20
See reviews for
121
510
40
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1078)
  • Mar-May only
    (280)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (194)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (329)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our first trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was conveniently located and we easily walked to most of the attractions. The hotel on the surface appears modern but parts of it could do with updating, particularly the bathroom. We thought our room smelt of smoke and as non-smokers this was a bit of a bother also our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location, charming helpful staff. Our room at the back of the building was quiet and comfortable. Special dietary requirement catered for with no trouble. Would recommend to friends. A good base fo exploring the city with good restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hi to you all, > Both Mary and myself would like to thank all staff at the > Albus,especially = the front office team for helping to make our > special weekend a success.We = had a wonderful time and feel I must > add that In all my years of travel I h= ave not experienced such a >... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

100 m from the flower-market, Restaurants near by. The Rooms backside are not on the speedway. Good hotel, excellent position to old Amsterdam. It's my next Choice to visit Amsterdam. Service is good and very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I will never hesitate to book her. Im american and was afraid i wouldnt like the hotel, but boy was i wrong! The staff is so friendly and polite and all speak very good english, i enjoyed the restaurant and the location is a few feet from the tram stop, so you can go anywhere in the city easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear precious guest, Thank you very much for your review. I'm so happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you were very happy with our staff, the restaurant and the location. Thanks again and I hope we will see you again! With kind regards, Marloes Kunzmann The Albus More 

Community of Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The total lack of common sense. My fiancée and I had planned a quick getaway to Amsterdam (One night). We got to the Hotel at 21:30. We had thought that we would have just the time to check-in, get a quick shower and go out to enjoy Amsterdam by night. Unfortunately we did not plan for the utter stupidity of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hello precious guest, Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. I am truly shocked by your experience! I would like to offer you my sincere apoligies for what happened, In your situation, we should have been more flexible and should have found a suitable solution directly. I wish I could have personally apologized to you while you were here. Do... More 

Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Albus is my favorite Hotel in Amsterdam. Best located for all the Museums and places you have to see. Don´t buy any tickets for bus and tram because you can reach all by Walking in 10 to 15 minutes. Rooms very comfortable, Special 505. The Albus Team is very friendly, thanks a lot. Breakfast is good. For the evening... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to read about your positive experience in the Albus and that you loved our location, the staff and our rooms. I hope we may welcome you again for another blissful stay. With kind regards, Marloes Kunzmann The Albus More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great first hotel. Liked it aLot cleaners weren't up to scratch didn't clean every day when they did it was crap, would come in the room and just only make the bed not empty the bins etc was just annoying

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Maryanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I’m sorry to read about your comments about housekeeping and we're sorry that your stay with us wasn't perfect because of this. Please know that we will take appropriate actions within the housekeeping department. I hope that... More 

Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Albus is in a very good location within walking distance of all the major attractions. Bed was very comfortable and the room was functional. Staff very helpful. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it's quite expensive so I would recommend eating out - there are loads of little bars and cafés that serve excellent breakfasts and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Janice, I would like to thank you for your compliments about the location, the room and our staff. Our staff always loves to help our guest by purchasing their tickets in advance to save money and also to avoid queues! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us Janice. If you wish to visit us again, I... More 

Annemasse, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Rather big bathroom but not enough hooks to put the towels for the family on. The room was clean with good beds and bedding but the lay out of the furnisher made it seem a bit small for any family accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Margot, Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the location, cleanliness and the big bathroom. I'm glad that you and your family had a wonderful stay and I hope that you enjoyed the city of Amsterdam just as much! Thanks again and I hope we may welcome you again. With kind regards, Marloes Kunzmann The Albus More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

605 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (63)
Viewed
Smart City Room (49)
Viewed
Splendid City Room (47)
Viewed
Stunning City Suite (53)
Viewed
Superb City Room (48)
Viewed
Sweet Family City Room (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question