We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Hotel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Avenue Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #188 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
NLCDNck Georogetown, Ontario Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

1,008 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    178
    461
    219
    96
    54
See reviews for
104
374
97
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1008)
  • Mar-May only
    (302)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (286)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Georogetown, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Picked this hotel because it was close to another where other family members were staying. Got a pretty decent rate for central Amsterdam in the summer - CAD$ 160/ night, especially considering it included a full hot and cold buffet breakfast. Location is minutes from central station and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from most sites in central Amsterdam,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My travel agent booked this hotel because of its location in Amsterdam and also because we needed a family room. It was very close to Central Station, the City Tour busses and other forms of public transport. We had a triple room for me, my wife and 9 year old son. Room and bathroom was clean and fairly comfortable. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Metro-Manila
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is excellent if you want the action of city center Amsterdam. It is 3 minutes walking to the main train station. Near Dam Square - Shopping and food etc. The place can be a bit scary though with all the liberal aspects of Amsterdam centered there ( trying to be polite). However, the location was really a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights and was in superb location to walk to many of the sites/museums and tram outside door. Plenty of options at buffet breakfast which were tasty and healthy. The hotel did not have much charm and was $$$ compared to other hotels on our trip though would recommend due to proximity of railway station and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your review, we take your opinion very seriously. During high season the rates of hotels in Amsterdam, especially those in the centre, tend to be higher. We are sorry if our rate did not meet your expectation. However we are very happy to read that you would recommend the Avenue Hotel due to our... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a couple of times in the winter months and on both occasions we were given first class treatment by the Hotel staff close to centre of Amsterdam and cannel trips and across the road from the hotel a Pub called the London Bridge very nice Bar friendly atmosphere Would love to go back some time maybe in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you so much for leaving your wonderful review, this is much appreciated. We do hope that you have enjoyed Amsterdam. Please inform us when you visit us again and we will do our best to make your stay even better than before. Kind regards, The Avenue Team More 

Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We're staying in a large room which can fit 3 beds & so far... Great location but... 1. room has a kitchenette but our fridge doesn't work :( 2. has wifi but it is very slow, pictures don't always load 3. odd hole in the wall for electrical connections (right next to the head of the bed, because of this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your review. I have taken note of your points and I have communicated this to those department responsible. Nevertheless we do hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will visit us again. Kind regards, The Avenue Team More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here during a weekend trip with some friends. It was so clean, breakfast was always editable. Nice size rooms, very clean and really comfy beds. Nothing was so far of a walk. Lovely restaurants right near by, and plenty to do as the square is very close. We also got a pass from the hotel, which got us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for leaving such a great review. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam and that you will be returning. Please inform us if you would like to stay with us again and we will provide you with a fabulous room. Kind regards, The Avenue Team More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. The rooms are worn and in one of the nights the smoke alarm went on in the whole hotel, as somebody smoked in one of the rooms. The breakfast was included in the price - no variation from one day to another but it was still okay. The family room was big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Salla, Thank you for leaving your kind review. We are sorry to read that you had a nightly disturbance because another guest did not abide by the rules by smoking in his/her room nevertheless. We take a breach of our non-smoking policy quite serious by fining the guest in question. As for the state of some rooms I have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on the 13th June at 2:00pm to check in. On arrival we were greeted by a rather unenthusiastic individual who unfortunately wasn't as welcome as we'd have hoped. There was no smile seen and no explanation given as to where our room was, or any other information regarding breakfast or other facilities. Despite this, all other members of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paige, Thank you for leaving your kind and balanced review. We are happy to read that for the most part of your stay our staff was friendly and helpful. However this should count for all our staff members so I have spoken with the receptionist in question and made clear that this behaviour is unacceptable. As for your room... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid US$200/night for this hotel, which, while in a good (central) location, was absolutely not worthy of the price. The rooms are small, unattractively furnished, bathroom facilities stone age, no amenities, towels ancient/threadbare, and the idea of housekeeping (eg actually making the bed or washing/replacing water glasses) seems to escape them. Breakfast is extremely spartan (processed rubber cheese in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Reviews are very important to us so thank you for leaving one. We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was shocking. We do a lot to improve our service and we regret to read that in your instance we were not able to deliver. We will take your review seriously and it will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

421 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (226)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (82)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (189)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (59)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Twin and Double Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay