We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with AccorHotels.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
See the most recent reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Expensive for where it is. Got "Superior" room which was extremely small with no bath , only shower. Air conditioning not effective and had to leave window open all night. No thermostat for temperature settings, it was simply either on or off. Good buffet breakfast. Not great and won't stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank SMH100
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

First I would like to congratulate the staff for their splendid service and consideration We received. The rooms were clean and serviced every day. The metro is ideal for getting to central staion,10 mins,most of essential trams stop there.The 2&5 will take you to the museum i.e. Rembrant. Oh the breakfasts exellent..It was the icing on cake for a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I loved this hotel because the service was excellent and the room was large and modern and loved the fact that the Internet was free. The only issue was that it was far from the city centre.

Helpful?
Thank Tor_Travel_Guy
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor. It is always pleasant to hear possitive comments, I will share them with my team. I am sure this is an encouragement for our staff to enhance the service in our hotel. Thank you again for your possitive remarks and we are looking forward to your next stay in... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Hotel is equipped with large rooms and excellent in room facilities. It's a pricy choice and considering its location in suburbs of Amsterdam, it brings down the value for money a bit. But overall I had a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank BlueHedgehog
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Mercure Amsterdam aan de Amstel. Please allow me to say that I am surprised you mention we are a pricy choice. If you compare our hotel to a similar 4-star hotel in the city centre, you will see we offer you a lower room... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I tried to cancel this since I could not stay at your hotel for , i am completely disappointed that you have not honored my request for a cancellation. I think you owe me an explanation as a potential customer in the future

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
WBvO, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear you had to cancel your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we can not refund you the in advance payed amount. Please allow me to explain. On our website you can choose between two rates: "Hot deals - no change, no cancellation" and "Best Unrestricted Rate". The second rate is more expensive because... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked this hotel through a broker and got a hugely discounted rate. Standard double room was completed to a high standard with the most comfy bed (we struggled to get up in the mornings!') Bathroom was nice if a little small, but sunshine shower made up for that. Mini bar expensive but expected, there are no nearby shops. Hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Si_uk_says
Puttershoek
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Good location, good breakfast old fasioned rooms. Expensive parking 20 Euro a nigth. Metro and tram close by 10 minutes walk, try to get upgrade to seperior those rooms are better, we had two wornout rooms. Sometimes forgot to put clean towels in the room

Helpful?
Thank Sandersonja
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We were travelling with a tour group, I thought the hotel was very clean and tidy. Very comfortable beds with great breakfast provided. Staff were great very helpful wonderful man served us in the little shop in the morning before we left again. The only thing I would say is it is a bit out of town, this would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelissaDarryn
bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Good service in the reception, Excellent rooms, Ideal location, close to overamstel train station. 10 minutes drive to city centre. 24 hrs taxi service available in front of hotel. close to airport & central rail station. Staff cordial.

Helpful?
Thank madhuvan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

857 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (374)
Viewed
Room/suite (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (103)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (445)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Privilege Double Room (80)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (81)
Viewed
Standard Room with Double Bed (58)
Viewed
Standard Room with Three Single Beds (55)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Single Beds (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#97 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
3.3 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay