We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw to your Saves list
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #104 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
ckstar16 Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (529)
  • Photos (408)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (71)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    221
    82
    35
    28
See reviews for
46
248
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw for 4 nights in early May. This hotel had an excellent location off of Dam Square, within close walking distance to the train station, the Anne Frank Museum, and the Red Light District. The room was on the small side (as most rooms in Europe) but was clean and comfortable and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second time staying here and was a little anxious when i noticed the building works taking place outside my room window... however, no noise and no disruption. The room i had, was clearly upgraded in comparison to my last visit. The bedroom was warm and quiet, though smaller than the last one i had. The bathroom had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Partner booked this as a birthday treat. First time I have been to Amsterdam. He requested a room with a view, and did we get one! Own double balcony above the restaurant, overlooking Dam and Dam Square. When windows were shut, no noise could be heard. Was nice to stand on balcony and people watch. Room was massive, and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited Amsterdam last month for a conference. The hotel's main draw is its location. It's next to Dam Square and the shopping belt at damrak & a short walk to the red light district. I had a standard room with a king (actually queen) size bed. That cost me €205/night. The room was reasonable in size which resulted in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

103 years of history also show in our building. Although all our safety and IT equipment in the back-of-the-house is state-of -the art, the building shows its history. For decades after the opening in 1911 our guests had to share bathrooms on each floor until it was decided that private bathrooms were a "must". Giving each room a private bathroom... More

Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The bed was soooo comfy. The location was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the one young man on the day shift (forgot his name unfortunately). Pricey but probably no more so than other hotels in that area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and were happy that you enjoyed the bed. Good location is one thing but a good nightrest another. I shall forwrd your complients to our staff Yours sincerely René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel due to having to cancel our original accommodation at the last minute. I have to say that the room we stayed in was quite small. Unfortunately when showering the water also ends up all over the floor. Minor details though. The way we have been treated here, we feel like royalty. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that some shortcmings in the building were compensated by the hospitality of our staff. They do like their job and that's why even the younger members of our staff are already working several years with us. We hope to welcome you again With best regards Rene R.F. Wildeman More

Billericay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good location just off Dam Square in Central Amsterdam and on Tram 4 route so good direct connection to the RAI Conference Centre. Room with double bed had most facilities required BUT while it would have been OK for sole occupancy and one night it was not up to scratch for a couple staying for a week as we were.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for the review. Our comfort rooms may indeed be at the small side for guests staying for a longer period. That's why we offer superior rooms for a minor surcharge. Not only are those rooms more spacious but they also have a bathtub and an espresso machine in addition to the... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The most ultimate unpolite and non professional behaviour at the hotel by the staff (even the "week end" manager Peter) I had agreed a late check out 2 days earlier, but I was woken up at 11. and asked to leave the facility immediately. The hotel was fully booked. No one the staff were not able to handle this kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It is true that it had been agreed the previous day that you could have a late check-out. By mistake, for which I sincerely apologize, this had not been comminicated to the staff on duty. Nevertheless this can never be a reason to come down to the Front-Office and shout at the staff. We are well educated people and as... More

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. Even if there is a busy street just outside the hotel, you don't get disturbed. It is very near to everything you want to visit. The hotal is just some minutes walk from the Central station. The room is nice with very comfortable beeds. The staff is really helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased that you enjoyed both our location, our hotel and the helpfulness of our staff and look forward to welcoming you again With best regards René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate here before heading on a full day on a bus tour and were not disappointed. Excellent range of cereals, breads and meats. It had the best scrambled eggs in any buffet breakfast I have ever eaten and a bonus was a window seat with a view of Amsterdam as it arose from its slumber. Free wifi was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We have tried to find a good balance between price and offering as far as breakfast is concerned. We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations. Most hotels charge more but we think that our breakfast meets the requirements of most of our guests while still offering it against one of the lowest prices amongst the 4... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

408 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam #63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam #93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. Sure, you can find fancier 4 star hotels in Amsterdam, but what we may lack in glitz we more than make up for in authentic friendliness and true hospitality. All of our bathrooms are all new, and our rooms are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;