We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

4.0 of 5 Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    235
    92
    36
    30
See reviews for
50
267
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (573)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here 19 and 20 December in a superb double room. We stayed here last year too at the same time. It is located just off Dam Square and a very easy and direct 10 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal station. We have "paid" for this hotel two years running with our Avios points and it is one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and fantastic room. Nothing to complain about when staying at the hotel. Only issue was they put a hold on your card when you check in for €550 and when you check out say it's been removed. Unfortunately that hold hasn't been taken off my account. I checked out on 1st December and the hold is still on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

First of all let me apologize for the fact that your deposit was not unblocked after having left the hotel already for some days. I do not know why this happened and if this is a due to our services or those of the bank but I certainly will investigate this matter. I hope that this has been resolved inj... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff is very friendly. Beds super comfortable and you can't beat the location! My friend and I stayed there for vacation and it had the tram that ran right in front of it. It also has an AMAZING department store across the street!

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is the best in town and the department store opposite the hotel the best in the country. Furthermore Amsterdam is such a small town that you can reach all main points of interest by foot. But as you mentioned it, the... More 

Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times over the past 20 years and it remains the only place I would ever stay in Amsterdam. Under a minute walk to Dam Square. Local bars, pubs, cafes, food outlets and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Shopping district directly behind, 10 minute walk to canal boats. This time had a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

As a regular customer you have probably noticed the constant upgrades and refurbishments made to our property. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Coming from Australia, our property is certainly not around the corner and we are very pleased that you selected our property each time you were in Amsterdam. It is true that our location on... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed this hotel to attend a major exhibition in March this year and picked De Roode Leeuw because of its central location, close to the Dam, shopping, bars and other attractions. The room was big and bathroom was likewise for an old European hotel. The bed was too soft and needs to be upgraded. Breakfast was acceptable and again, typical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for you reveiw and understood you were visiting us already some mon ths ago as you refer to the visit of President Obama. Our rates vary according to occupancy and during the visit of President Obama the whole town was full. Always consult our site in order to see when the best available rates apply. We are... More 

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the second hotel that we checked in, and I gotta say the room is quite clean and looks warm. The staff here are accommodating, but the price of this hotel I think is quite high which is unable to meet our requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay but that you found our rates a bit too high. Our rates fluctuate following occupancy so if you come in peak periods or during important conferences or exhibitions you will pay more than in slower periods. So consult our website in order to see what the best period for your... More 

Soke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here years ago, so I was pleased to visit here again while in Amsterdam. A really nice hotel and friendly staff. Very fast check-in, you access the stairs and lift using your door key-card, so good for security. Very nice double room, clean and well-prepared. I was in room 315, its on the side, so not much of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

What an excellent review describing all te different aspects of our property . I do not have anything to add but was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return in the future. We would be very pleased to welcome you again With best regards Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Two of us sharing stayed at this hotel at the start of November 2014 to celebrate a 21st. The hotel was in contact with me before we arrived to organise a birthday cake, they sent pictures and i just had to choose - hassle free! Once we arrived in Amsterdam we checked in and was told we were upgraded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We appreciated your review and were happy to learn that your celebration weekend worked out perfecty and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Zoo called "Artis" is indeed beautiful and located near many other attractions. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future With best regards René Wildeman, General Manager╬ More 

Charlottesville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in September 2014. We were upgraded to a nice suite. Very quiet and a few steps from the Dam Square. Minimal lobby but attached restaurant is very good. Ate there 3 nights. We had a car which we parked in the public garage by the library. Loved Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.It was a good idea to park your car in the parking near the library as they have special deals if you stay more than a couple of hours. There are some other parkings nearer to the hotel also offering discounted rates. Please contact the... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I had a great stay here - the room was small (a single) but had everything I needed (except for shampoo and conditioner, which I had forgotten to bring with me so that was unfortunate). The front desk staff were helpful and the location is outstanding. An added bonus is the restaurant downstairs - amazing food!! I wouldn't hesitate to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We always try to exceed the expectations of our guests and are happy to learn that we succeed in your case. We look forward to your next visit Yours sincerely René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam

412 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Other (39)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay