We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

#94 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Add Photo Write a Review

1,635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    548
    703
    240
    98
    46
See reviews for
154
741
113
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1635)
  • Mar-May only
    (414)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (469)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (392)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (360)
All months
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Wow! We were so happy to choose this hotel without having known the area. It's beautiful, the room is surprisingly spacious - a king size bed, couch, chair, viewing alcove - ours overlooking the canal. Clean!!!! Lovely. Air conditioning (thank goodness). And extra lucky- right on the corner of the Leidesplein area- didn't know that would be a great area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well located hotel for shopping, museums etc. our room had a view of the canal and had its own balcony. The hotel had kettle and tea, coffee in the room. the bathroom was small but clean. The double bed was actually two beds pushed together which was our least favourite thing about the hotel. We also couldn't get into our... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Apparently your bed was not converted into a proper double bedding via a top matrass. Our apologies. We have created an alert in our systems to arrange this pro-actively with your next reservation. With best regards, More 

Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is a full-service hotel. My husband and I stayed in a beautifully renovated room with a queen size bed. We were with a group of teachers on a familiarization tour. They have reliable free wi-fi and very nice meeting rooms. They also have a breakfast buffet with fresh breads, cheeses, and fruit daily as well as a hot breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are very proud of the qualifications that you have written down about the hotel. It is a great pleasure to know that we were able to contribute so much to your succesful stay. With best regards, More 

Athens, Greece
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel from outside and from it's position looked excellent. But inside especially in the rooms was extremely poor. Old and small beds and old decoration seemed that this hotel was never redecorated except the bath which was quite good. They charged me 3 products from the mini bar even though I used 2 of them. I've been to many... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The automatic minibar charges any consumption directly to your account as soon as you have lifted the item. Even if it is just to inspect and is put back again. That is why it is an automatic minibar. As you have noticed, your 3rd item was not charged when... More 

Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hampshire Hotel American was not only the best value, but also served as the perfect home base for a wonderful Amsterdam visit. We arrived early so our luggage was stored, and Concierge gave us discount vouchers for the hop-on/hop-off tram. Stop #10 is just across the bridge (5 minute walk). After check-in, we found a nicely appointed room, and during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. The header of your review is our every day aim. We are happy that we have succeeded to reach that target. We hope that we may welcome you again in the future. With best regards, More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i have stayed here loads and it is a bit shabby but it is in a grest location and the staff are terrific and it is comfortable. beds are big and comfy and the showers are good with good quality towels and of a good size.the rooms are a little worn and shabby but still comfortable.the location is really good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review posting and visit. Renovation of several outdated guest rooms is slowely but surely in progress after which your qualification of the room will most probably be adjusted. We look forward to see you back to see for yourself. With best regards, More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a lovely room - room 317 great views of the fountain and canals. This was a holiday to chill and we did every night in the cocktail bar. Breakfast in the cafe was amazing and was reasonably priced. The cafe is amazingly beautiful. A lovel hotel with wonderful staff in a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Great to witness that all elements of the hotel resulted in a very relaxed short break in Amsterdam for you. We hope to see you back. With best regards, More 

Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is outstanding in the city center (Leidseplein). The hotel looks great from the outside (nice fountain) and also the bar is nice. However the rooms itself are below standards of a decent hotel. Overall not worth the price in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review posting and stay in our hotel. When the value-for-money argument is brought up, we also try to find out which establishments you compare it with. After the rejuvenation of certain rooms (your very room is amongst them) that are slightly outdated, we hope that you will retry us for a new opinion. With... More 

Wee Jasper, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very well placed hotel with great charm and atmosphere. The building is well established with great decor, antique furniture and original art. Well appointed throughout the hotel boasts a wonderful dining room with excellent cuisine for breakfast and dinner. The bedroom and ensuite were well appointed and complete. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. This... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review posting and for chosing our hotel, all the way from Australia, to be your residence in Amsterdam. Your emphasis on the personal service is a great motivator to continue to try to exceed expectations. Wonderful to hear that you will be back. With best regards, More 

London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is in good location and staff friendly. but I would never stay there again. There was a mouse in my room. I was moved to a suite but it was very old and run down. Some may say charming - not me!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We regret the unfortunate encounter. Your very room is also up for renovation. Maybe you would like to take up the challenge of verifying the improvements on a next visit and it will be our pleasure to upgrade you to a renewed junior suite. With best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

445 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (422)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (146)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay