We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Amsterdam Caransa

#126 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    261
    95
    30
    12
See reviews for
50
250
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (535)
  • Mar-May only
    (171)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent the last weekend there and thought that it was a truly good experience. There is nothing particularly special about the hotel. We stayed in a corner room overlooking the square and didn't find it particularly noisy. There were ear plugs provided, so I guess that some guests do not find it to their liking. The room (superior room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend. Hotel in On Rembrant Square with good restaurants bars and a smoke house or two. All you need. But very quiet come midnight. The big plus its a very short walk to the red light distirct, Dam Square and all other attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location, a tram stop right in front of the hotel´s door. Comfortable and clean room with tea/coffee facilities. I would certainly stay there again! I did not try the breakfast, there are so many bars/pubs nearby.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Kelly C, Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor! What a pleasure to read them! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again some day. Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
1,146 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A nice location on Rembrandtplein, super convenient for taking the tram in and out of the area. The staff was pleasant and efficient. The hotel room itself was nice enough and I enjoyed my stay here. Pro tip - beware the fact that this hotel has no A/C, your room is going to get very very toasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear axs666, Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Carina Opdam' Interim Hotel Director More 

Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at NH Caransa for 2 nights in July 2015. The hotel is located at Rembrandtplein, which is a central location, 15 mn walk from Dam square, but this is a great annoyance because from night till morning the Rembrandtplein is filled with young people drinking and shouting. Sİnce the rooms have no air-conditioning, (this is true) and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear SBozok, Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor! I regret that you have been disturbed by the noice from the Square. If you stay in a central location again, may I suggest to request a room at the back of the hotel? Temperatures have been very high lately and unfortunately we don't have air-conditioning in the rooms. We... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am always left satisfied when I stay at a NH hotel in Amsterdam, again at the Caransa one everything was nice, clean and friendly. The location for the NH Caransa is very convenient, the Rembrandtsplein offers lots of possibilities and choices for restaurants and evening entertainment. For some people the location might be a bit noisy as the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Iris G, Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor about both NH and NH Caransa. We hope to welcome you in one of our hotels again in the near future! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving late on a Wedensday, with my familty (myself, my spouse and our three children) we were looking for a hotel to stay a couple of nights in Amsterdam without breaking our budget. I was greated by an excellent, helpful and can do receptionist who fixed a room for us quickly and efficiently. Not knowing Amsterdam well we then found... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Benjamin J, Thank you very much for your positive comments! We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam with us! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Jakarta
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the standard room and found it was really small and had very poor circulation. We told the front desk staff, Deepti Chib, and she kindly upgraded us to an executive room and she also sent us a special cake and balloons after we told her we were on our honeymoon. The upgraded room was much larger and overlooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Sistiabudi, Thank you veyr much for sharing your experiences. I am very sorry that the cleanliness of the room was not in order. Our Housekeeping Quality Manager will take the needed actions. The couches in some of the rooms unfortunately are a bit outdated. I am happy to inform you that new couches have been ordered. I regret that... More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Quite noisy if you are right on the square. Ask for a quiet room. They have them available but don't tell you. We found out about them after our third day when it was too late to move unfortunately.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear t4man1, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with uw. However, we do regret that we didn't inform you about the possibility of a room at the back of the hotel. My apologies! We hope to see you again some day! Kind regards, Carina Opdam interim Hotel... More 

BOURNEMOUTH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value for money considering other hotels, Staff were helpful from the get go! very welcoming and happy to help anything that was asked of them. The room was a good size, nice and clean, quite basic but just what i needed, only downfall was the view of a brick wall from the window, at night time staff from the... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review

Dear Ryan M, Thank you very much for your comments! I regret that your check-out experience wasn't as pleasant as the rest of your stay. Thank you for informing us! Our Front Office Manager will discuss this with her team. Please let me know if you have any further questions or wishes! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (137)
Viewed
Business Room (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#159 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#220 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#164 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay