We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Amsterdam Doelen

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Doelen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Amsterdam Doelen
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    258
    158
    87
    64
See reviews for
60
276
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (660)
  • Mar-May only
    (189)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked this hotel through easy jet for our weekend break in Amsterdam, was doubtful about the quality before we arrived as the holiday was so cheap but was not disappointed once we arrived. Right in the city centre and the same price or even cheaper than hotels outside of the centre. Decor in the lobby was grand-looking and the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you so much for your nice comment about the NH Doelen! I am very glad to hear that you liked the hotel so much especially the location and the price. I hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and we may welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Miru Schuurman More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a great location, and we liked the design, even if its badly in need of repair and the fabrics are stained, etc. Check-in was fine and the staff helped us with museum tickets. The big problem was during check-out. If you stay here--beware of hidden fees and charges that the hotel surprises you with during check out!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear BK, I am very sorry to read that your stay in NH Doelen was not what you should expect from us! Especially the service that one of our employees gave you is unacceptable. I will personally make sure that this will be discussed. I am aware of the fact that our hotel needs renovation so that is why I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful hotel, amazing staff and a great location. This place is central to all the major attractions (Red light, museum district, and shopping district) with a 15 min walk at most. We had a beautiful canal view, and the rooms were large and comfortable. The best hotel to choose for our Honeymoon! Also we were informed that this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Vieteks, First I would like to congratulate your with your honeymoon! It is a pleasure that you celebrate this important weekend in NH Doelen. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your trip so much. Thank you for the great compliments about the nice and large room, the location and off course our friendly and helpful staff.... More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved our room! The view was insane (416). The top floor at the end of a bldg that comes to a point. This room and is at the point. A few of the canal up one side and down the next. Very large room (jr suite?). Amenities are a little dated and worn but have character. You will definitely get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear LoveEurope6, First of all, thank you so much for leaving us such a great comment and for taking the time to do this. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the room 416, view and the location so much. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards. More 

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel close to most of the sights we wanted to experience. Helpful and serviceminded staff. A bit dirty room, but comfortable beds. Enjoyed the whole stay. Will most definitely return to the same hotel next time we come.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Bardn, It is a pleasure for me to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the NH Doelen! I will discuss your comment about the room immediately with our housekeeping department. I hope that you will keep your word and we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room looked nothing like the image on booking site and despite being offered a room upgrade the receptionist could not then find us an alternative. We were travelling with another couple and in Amsterdam to celebrate one of our parties 50th birthday. The hotel was not really what we would consider to be 4 star. No bar in the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear lacalalady, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. I am really sorry to read that you stay was not what you were expecting. We have allready started with the renovation outside but from June the hotel will be closed and it will be renovated compeletly. I hope that... More 

Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two couples , four days . Hotel is with great location ,some minutes to all places and attractions of Amsterdam . Rich and tasty breakfast . Room was not a big , but with very comfortably bed .

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Svetlana K Thank you for your review! I am happy you have enjoyed your stay in NH Doelen and liked our breakfast offering. Kind regards, Rick More 

Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The trip wasn't off to a good start when booking.com despite emailing me confirmation had failed to secure a booking. We did managed to get a room direct at the hotel and paid extra for what was stated to be a deluxe room with balcony and a view of the canal. We arrived to find a large room with décor... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa W, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not like your stay in NH Doelen. I will discuss the matters you have pointed out with our housekeeper. Kind regards, Rick More 

Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This hotel is definitely not new, but that's exactly where it's charm is. The old ceilings and wall decorations are beautiful and the location is perfect- in the middle of the heart of Amsterdam. The breakfast was nice, nothing special though. The staff is friendly too. The best feature about this place is indeed the old and charming Dutch architecture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review

Dear Iris G, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in NH Doelen and enjoyed the lovely building! Thank you for posting this nice review. Kind regards, Rick More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

436 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (261)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (49)
Viewed
Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)
Viewed
Twin Room (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay