We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 344 Amsterdam hotels

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Hotel amenities
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Ranked #197 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Carolyn C Northwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    243
    176
    69
    33
See reviews for
65
252
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (589)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (160)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn't intended on staying in Amsterdam overnight, however after changing plans we managed to get a double room for less than £40 overnight. With shower facilities, television and everything we needed, we actually thought his hotel was much much better than originally anticipated. Also about two miles out from Amsterdam Centraal, and directly opposite the zoo the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, thank you for your kinds words in this review. I am glad to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 days, it was a trip for my partner for his 30th, I had emailed in advance to ask for some balloons/streamers to be put in the room for us arriving on the day and we received an email a couple of days in advance to say they would sort something out for us which they did,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Gilda, thank you for writing your review overhere. It was a pleasure to decorate your room for this birthday surprise. We hope to welcome you once more in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans More 

Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel last year for 2 days with my friends. Apart from really poor quality of service (rude personnel) and small rooms, my fried's purse was stollen. Moreover it got magically found just after we headed the local police officer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Kate, thank you for writing your review overhere. I am sorry to read about your bad experience you describe in your review but we have no knowledge of this incident in our records. I would have gladly known about this during your stay in February 2014 so I could have investigated it for you. Kind regards, Hans More 

Newcastle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here over the New Year and although the room was small everything else was very good. Friendly staff, free wifi, good hot shower, soft towels and a comfortable bed in room 310 from where we could see the flamingos in the zoo - you can hear the elephants too. Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Rob, thank you for writing your comments overhere. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay wtih us and we hope that we will see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Decent enough hotel with an alright location.The rooms were a bit shabby and the "double" was just two tiny singles pushed together. The bathroom is minute and the shower isnt great. And if you are goiung to have coffe making facilities some milk would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review overhere. Kind regards, Hans More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We booked this a mid price hotel in Amsterdam, I had read the reviews so requested a room on the upper floors to avoid noise, which was great and we did not hear any street noise. The hotel is brilliantly placed, we went to Amsterdam for Christmas shopping and it was great to be able to nip back to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Abigail, thank you very much for writing your review overhere. It is good to read that you have had a good stay in Amsterdam allthough I am afraid you did not stay in our hotel but in our sister hotel the Hampshire Eden Hotel. This hotel has the bistro Flo attached to them. I will forward your review to... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in september as a group of 4 girls. Was pleasantly susurprised by the rooms. Beds were extremely comfortable and had amazing nights sleep. Bit of a walk into the canals but not unbearable, we walked every day and did not get the tram.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Danielle, thank you for writing your nice words about your stay in our hotel. I am glad to read that you have had a lovelyy stay with us. We hope to see you again, Kind regards, Hans More 

Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and found the hotel very good. lovely greating from the reception, room nice size, some paint work a little tried but over all very nice. Coffee/tea in room. we didnt have breakfast as there was four of us so very pricey however my son doesnt drink hot drinks so i went to reception to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank for your review and thank you for staying with us. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome once more in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans More 

Burry Port, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Three nights city break at the Hampshire Lancaster, situated next to a park in a quiet area but very close to trams to the station and centre. Courteous and helpful staff, comfortable and clean room, super breakfast served by friendly, efficient staff. We loved Amsterdam and really enjyed our stay at this very pleasant hotel. Anna & Peter

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Anna & Peter, thank you for your comments and thank you for writing such nice words about us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel as soon as I stood outside ive been to amsterdam a few times and I wanted to explore a little bit outside the square wich was perfect for me the breakfast was lovely alot to choose from but I ate the yogurt everymorning wich was the best I ever tasted :) the staff were lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Trish, thank you for writing your review. I am happy to read that you will be returning in March after an enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards, Hans More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Amsterdam

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay