We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

#203 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    286
    212
    78
    38
See reviews for
77
309
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (704)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (234)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (160)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I agree with the majority of the views on here, however for a cheap-ish stay it was good value. We paid £170 for 2 people for 2 nights. Pros: 1: Easily accessible from centre. Numbers 9, 14 tram from Dam to Artis. 2: Very friendly helpful staff. 3: Comfy beds. 4: Good wifi 5: Free very tasty coffee in reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well there were building works going on right next to the hotel so our sleeping pattern was heavily disrupted. It would have been nice if we were informed beforehand and we should have complained but I honk we were too British to complain. It was quite average but the staff were lovely. The hotel rooms are very tiny, my friend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We only needed a hotel for a base, so really can't complain, we were ground floor corner room with 2 huge windows, beds comfy and all very clean. Bathroom was internal facing and had a drain smell, but this did not deter our stay. Free coffee in reception a great touch too. Tram stop just a 100m walk away, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

as said not told about the building work going on . Not happy with food eggs where hard and not enough hot food Bathroom was very small as was the wardrobe As said before the staff very helpful but think the hotel needs modernisation I hope my review is of some help to you and must say I love Amsterdam

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Jon, thank you your your review and your feedback. I am glad you appreciated the staff's service and we will take your feedback seriously for our future plans. Kind regards, Hans More 

Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is amazing. Always kind and helpful and with a wide smile!Great location. Very close to the centre, yet situated in a quiet area.Rooms are small but clean and functional.I highly recommend this hotel!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review and sharing your experiences about your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very basic room, nothing to flash was a bit upset they never told us about the construction site mess next door , and the room did have a interesting smell, the shower is very poor , no fridge or anything , so basically very budget accommodation. 15euro per person for breakfast was steep for what was on offer, especially with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you your writing your review. I am sorry to read that your stay in our hotel did not match with your expectations. I do hope that we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a friends birthday and was disappointed upon arrival to find it to be attached to a building site, and each time work was being done the whole building would shake which is very poor. The location is good, opposite the zoo which is a must to see and was the best 20euro spent! The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Cath3089, thank you for writing your review over here. I am sorry to read that your experience in our hotel did not match with your expectations. The deposit of € 50,- is something we work with for 3 years now and which is communicated to all the sites and touroperators we work with. I cannot tell how you booked... More 

Kilkeel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my boyfriend went to Amsterdam for his 21st birthday and after some research I decided on this hotel. Our room was lovely and found the staff very polite and helpful. Wi-fi and a television were also provided as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was slightly small but was very clean and had a shower.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for taking the time to write your experiences in this review. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our staff's service and I hope that we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans More 

Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are been very good in this hotel, all we have read before book our rooms, when arrived in hotel we have check that it was real. We like to do promotion for Hampshire Hotel. The position is perfect, not in the center but only 15-20 minutes by feet for arrive in Dam square or tram stop at 100 mt.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Luciano, Thank you very much for your kind words and your stay with us. I hope that we may see you and your friends in the future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My niece and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel whilst we were in Amsterdam and we could not fault this hotel at all. The staff upon arrival and checkout were very helpful and the room was very comfortable. The room was small but we didn't need a huge room when we were out all day sightseeing. The hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Kate, thank you for writing your kind review and sharing your experiences. I am glad to read that you have had a good stay with us and hope that we may see you in the near future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#119 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#190 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#148 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay