We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

#203 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    276
    204
    77
    37
See reviews for
74
300
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (681)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (211)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (160)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just got back from a 2 night stay in Amsterdam- a city I have never visited before. This hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and was a 15 minute stroll into the centre of the city. The room was very clean and comfortable, with all the amenities I would have expected. previous reviewers have commented on the size of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There was no air conditioner and in summer, their tiny little fan wasn't sufficient The air vent in the tiny bathroom made a constant whistling noise which could still be heard with the door shut None of the staff wished to advise us that there was construction going on next door, I wouldn't have stayed there if I knew or... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review and sharing your experiences. The hotel does not have air conditioning in the rooms, we never have had this and it is not advertised on any bookingsite. We have placed fan's in every room though. The constructionwork next to the hotel starts at 09:00 hours untill 17:00 hours, this is what... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice small hotel near the airport. Small but comfortable rooms. Overall very clean with a frindly staff. Great hotel for a short stay like ours. Not very centric but everything in Amsterdam is just a Tram away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Luis, thank you very much for your review over here. I hope we may see you in the near future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Vigo, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a Little far from the city center, however all was great except for the room service because we had to complain reception desk about there were not enough gel and hygienic paper after 3 days spent there. We hoped not to have to ask for it.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived and rooms were not ready, however we were able to put our luggage in a 'secure room' this was not secure as the door was left wide open to the general public on view from the road. The outside of the hotel resembled a building site, not that of the one that is in all the photos, and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to read that your stay did not match with your expectations and that I was not able to meet you. Normally I am in the hotel every working day from 8:15 hours untill 17:00 hours but Wednessday was my day off. I... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with our 17 year old son and had 2 rooms on the ground floor.Rooms are not huge but very comfy beds and were clean. We had breakfast every day which was of a good standard and choice that set us up for our day.Get the 9 or 14 tram to the centre which is just down the street opposite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, thank you very much for sharing your review over here. I am happ y to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so the receptionist told us that we could leave our luggage in their secure storage room. Very friendly lady. The hotel is quite a walk from the main areas of Amsterdam but there is a tram stop not far from the hotel, although we didn't actually use the tram at all as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, madam, thank you for writing your review and giving us your feedback. Kind regards, Hans More 

Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reviews are really helpful and I agree with most. The reason I say underrated is because the area is really quite nice and has a great local feel. My family of four (two teenage girls) walked to and from central city many times and easily. It's a solid 3 star hotel but it's very clean, very functional and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Hans More 

Lichfield
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first trip to Amsterdam, and as an 18 year old I wanted an affordable hotel that wasn't too far from museums, the city centre etc.. The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster was a perfect choice. The room was very affordable and we chose to pay for breakfast too, and the breakfast was excellent; a great start to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you very much for writing your review over here. It is good to read that you have enoyed your stay with us and we hope that we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of British Airways Avios, but what a disappointment. We realized it was one of the lower priced hotels, but surely the rooms should be cleaned every day? Duvets are straightened, but not the sheets. Used cups and counters were not cleaned once, despite the fact that we spent 4 nights there. The pillows are huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review and sharing your feedback. My apologies for the fact that your stay did not match with your expectations. We would have gladly solved any problem you had during your stay if only we had known. A room change could easily been arranged for you. I do hope you have a nice... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#116 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#201 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighborhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay