We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Amsterdam Schiller

#162 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Amsterdam Schiller
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    246
    382
    215
    62
    32
See reviews for
92
390
57
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (937)
  • Mar-May only
    (242)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (298)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed at this hotel for only night. Yet, our experience with nh Schiller and their staff was impressive. They've welcomed us in a a friendly way and treated us perfectly. We got a free upgrade which was to a very nice and spacious suite with a great view on Rembrandtplein. The breakfast was delicious and couldnt say a bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Lientje000, It is great to read your comment about your stay with us! Especially because of the many compliments that you are given us. I will make sure that our staff will read this. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a comment and to share your experiences. We hope to welcome you back again... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really small room. maybe my expectations were too high. Housekeeping forgot a couples time left towels. they don't have adapters for your computer. Good things: good location, good internet, nice staff

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Jpcaballero801, Thank you for leaving us a comment after your stay. I am disappointed to see that your stay with us was average. The size of the hotel rooms in Amsterdam are indeed quit small but this is because the old city centre is really small and there is lack of space. I will make sure that you comments... More 

Horley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel Schiller is a delightful period hotel which has just effected external renovation . It is perfectly located in the Rembrandts Plein, one of the most famous squares in the centre of Amsterdam. Five minutes by tram from the central station it is no more than 35mins in total from Schiphol Airport. Surrounded by a plethora of bars and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Skirret, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us after your stay. It is a pleasure to read your comment with all the lovely compliments. Especially the big compliment about our front and back of house staff are making me proud. I will personally make sure that this will be shared with our team. I totally agree... More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Here for 2 nights with my girlfriend (Arntsen). Well situated hotel in a great, lively part of Amsterdam. Fantastic, friendly service especially from Duty Manager Diede, who changed our room without fuss after issues with a hard bed and no sleep. Good breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order. Some renovation work needed but regardless can easily recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Adrian, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your stay with us. I am really glad to read that you had an excellent stay. It is making me smile to read that our staff gave you an excellent service. I will personally show our duty manager Diede your compliments. I hope we may welcome you back again... More 

nili
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were greeted warmly at the hotel, The staff was attentive Lbkstino- asked for a room change And we got a double drink in the hotel bar Courteous and considerate High-level team Excellent location close to anywhere. The breakfast was very good rich Waiters very care of the guests and willing to fulfill any request

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear 4navaa, Thank you very much for leaving us such a wonderfull comment about your stay with us. I hope we may welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Miru Schuurman Assistant Hotel Director More 

Herefordshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location but very noisy. Breakfast far too expensive better off going to the local cafe. Room comfortable but very hot no air com. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Confusion when checking out which is a shame one reception said one thing the other said another. Nice little touch fresh flavoured water in the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear golfer35, Thanks for sharing your experiences! I regret that you have experienced several issues during your stay and will look into them with the team. I apologize for the incovenience. Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we were travelling as two female friends we asked for a twin room, which appeared to create a bit of a problem, but we were eventually offered a room overlooking the square. When we pulled the beds apart to give space between us, the floor was extremely dirty. The hairdryer which was fitted integrally in the bathroom only worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Anita F, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! I very much regret that you have experienced some issues during your stay and on behalf of the team I apologize for the inconvenience. We will look into it with the team. Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Kingston SE, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in need of renovations, our ceiling had paint peeling and cracks everywhere. Bathroom had mould I. It . The room was hot and only had a fan. I was disappointed and I think my first bad review of any hotel we have stayed in.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear pipr38, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please contact me directly to discuss the issues you describe. Thank you! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was excellent but found the doona too warm, we would have preferred a sheet and blanket. The dining room, meals and service could not be faulted and staff were very friendly. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The hotel was ideally located and within walking distance of shops and tourist attractions.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear ianjQ7505BZ, Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have had good experiences with our staff members. We do regret that you have been inconvenienced by the temperature in the room. My apologies! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was really easy to find just in front of the Rembrandtplein. It was our first time in Amsterdam so we did not know where all the sightseeing was. The receptionist Soeleen was very friendly and helpfull. She recommended us to go to restaurant Sumo which was behind the hotel. The sushi was delicous and for a good price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review

Dear W C, Thank your for your beautiful comments regarding our staff member. We have shared them with Soeleen! We hope to welcome you back some day! Kind regards, Carina Opdam Interim Hotel Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (341)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (53)
Viewed
Superior Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#231 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#136 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
#184 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighborhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay