We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel The Exchange

#99 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel The Exchange
Add Photo Write a Review

724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    267
    278
    100
    41
    38
See reviews for
26
379
59
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (724)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a 3 star room in this hotel for two nights staying on 28th may to the 30th. We arrived at 7pm and went up to our room (room 322). It was very clean with a lovely big bed but when I say small I mean small. 6 hooks on the wall for hanging space no table or shelf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I am disappointed to read that the room you stayed in wasn't what you expected. We have 61 rooms, all different decorated. I am happy our receptionist moved you to another room on the second day and you enjoyed that room. We hope to see back. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel outside the Red Light District yet near the train station, we foolishly picked The Exchange. The entry is a Lilliputian doorway between two commercial establishments, then up steep stairs to a tinier reception desk. The Exchange claims to display the Design Aesthetic of the local fashion world, with rooms individually decorated by fashion students.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Lisel, thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that Hotel The Exchange was not what you have had expected from a 1 to 5 star hotel with 'rooms dressed like models'. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a one night stopover in Amsterdam and found this lovely hotel close to the train center and right in the centre. Very happy with my room, the bed was amazing, I slept like a baby. The staff was very welcoming and helpful! I'd definitely recommend it, and would love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have had a great stay at Hotel The Exchange. Thank you for the complimentes about the staff. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not a hotel. Very dirty. Small rooms hight price.we made reservation by booking with option to pay cash , but they say only credit card . For 3 day we payed 951€ -the price for 4 stars min. Will never come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay was not as good as you had expected it to be. Since the opening of the hotel in 2011 we are not taking any cash payments to secure the safety of the staff and our guests. This is clearly communicated on all the booking channels that we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights and despite arriving four hours before check in, the front desk was very accommodating and allowed me to check in early. The room I was supposed to have was on the second floor but as I was early I had room 104 instead. I was able to have a look and it was fine, quirky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that your overall impression of the hotel and the staff is positive. One of the most important aspects of our hotel is to ensure that our guests have a good night sleep, therefore we are sorry to hear that the housekeeping team woke you up in the morning. Please contact... More 

Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was nothing close to what the website showed. Room was closet size. Bathroom had no shower stall. Shower head, toilet, and sink. Take a shower and water goes all over the floor. Built a dam with towels to keep the room from flooding. Over priced. At attached coffee shop. Server takes an order. Goes to prepare it. Serves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you are dissapointed about the hotel and the service in the café downstairs. Despite this, we hope that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and had a good time in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel. It's perfectly located - a short distance to the train station and in the middle of the main street. Despite its location, it is quiet and there is no problem with street noise (especially if you get a room at the back). The staff were very helpful and accommodating, despite the madness of the nation's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and your recommendation to stay in our hotel. We are very happy to read you had a nice time and our team was very helpful and accommodating. Thank you for explaining about the impractical aspect of your room, it's part of the hide & seek concept of the room you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel and courteous staff. Best location you can get in Amsterdam. We stayed here for 4 nights and they made it easy by storing our luggage while we visited France. One staff also helped us with our luggage and there is a nice cafe downstairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you had a great stay at Hotel The Exchange. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Hurth, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it was more than a sauciness what was offered for the cost; this Hotel is a simple overbearing Hotel with a nice little idea concerning the decoration of the rooms - and that´s all. Absolutly unacceptly is the price and doesn´t deal with in any way with the comfort. never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Anne, thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you felt that the prices were too high for the quality that was delivered during your stay. However, we hope that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

534 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
Room/suite (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay