We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel The Exchange

#116 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    286
    306
    112
    46
    43
See reviews for
32
409
64
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (793)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (227)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
melbourne,aus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We ended up at this hotel after the hotel I originally booked cancelled on us last minute. There wasn't a lot left that was under $300 per night as it was the Weekend and there was a festival on. We paid $230aud per night, which for what we got was way too much. The best part about this hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic hotel. An easy 10min walk from the Train Station and you are at the hotel. Check-i was easy and we were told we had been upgraded to a 5star room (605) Room was large, spacious and had 2 balconies. Bed was at least Queen size and everything was quirky. Only 2 not so good, shower is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review! We are happy to read you had a good stay and the staff was very helpfull. Thank you for pointing out the position of the television, we will take a look at it, so you won't hurt your head anymore if you come back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be fooled by the exterior of the hotel, beyond the narrow passage is a gem. It's about 500m from the Centraal Station, very centrally situated. The rooms are large by Amsterdam standards. The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are clean and soundproofed considering its a very busy area. The best asset of this hotel is the staff, extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you had a nice stay and our staff was extremely friendly and helpfull and the rooms were clean. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here as a first stop on our honeymoon. We found it through the reviews here and we weren't disappointed. Extra bonus: when we checked in we were told we have been upgraded from 3 to a 4 star room and it was Loved the Scandinavian style of the place. Seriously amazing. Location is awesome, 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. We are very happy to read we were the first stop of your honeymoon trip and you had a great stay in the comfiest beds ever! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel THe Exchange Team More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel. Short walk from train station. The website is a great source of info with directions to all tourist sites. Rooms were very small but we were never there with all the fun things to do! Comfortable bed with good bedding. Very good overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have used our website to explore the city. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent hotel right in the centre of the town and about 100m from the central station The bed was amazing and I had the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel Easy to miss the entrance and first impressions are underwhelming, but ignore that and take in the the quirkiness of the whole place and you'll be happy Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Sean, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you have had a good stay in room 703. Please let us know when you would like to stay with us again, then we will do our best to allocate you room 701 with a balcony and a bath! Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Hotel Exchange, first thing is the entrance of the hotel is 95% to be missed out. It's a no frill , excellent designed and pure value for money hotel! Location: Chances are you might even pass near the entrance without even noticing, but the best landmark to remember is New York Pizza Outlet, as it's the only franchise on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you have had a good stay at Hotel The Exchange and you that you liked the design of the hotel and the room. We would love to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My family of four (wife + 2 kids aged 15 & 11) arrived at the hotel around 11am thinking that we may be accommodated for an early check-in as I booked through booking.com and requested for an early check-in. No reply was given by the hotel so we assumed all was well. To our surprise, the room was not available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jacob, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are disappointed to read your stay wasn't to your statisfaction. We always do early check ins when it's possible, but have to wait for our other guests to check out first before we can start cleaning the rooms. Because you needed the extra bed we had to wait for a... More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in March for 3 nights. Location perfect , close enough to everything but not so close that we found it too much. Staff all friendly and helpful. Room was tiny but for a central location it was good value. Room decor ws nice and they made the most of the space. Bigger rooms are available When we return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Craig, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed here for one night with my daughter in room 302, the button room! Great fun, room was small but fine, lovely hot shower in en suite with nice toiletries, pillows like fluffy clouds, mmmmmm! Slept really well, church bells were loud in the morning but it was 9am so that's ok! Tip: breakfast can be bought downstairs in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you have had a good stay in room 302. We hope to see you again at Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

549 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (237)
Viewed
Room/suite (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#196 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighborhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay