We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel The Exchange

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #98 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Eurovoyage Toronto, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (480)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (172)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (99)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    179
    69
    25
    32
See reviews for
13
245
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an unusual hotel, with art installations in the hallway and rooms. It is in a newly renovated but old building, so the shape of rooms differs. The bathroom had no shower stall, just a shower head in the corner - but it worked surprisingly well. The staff were very helpful with whatever we needed. We got an upgrade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotell with a good location and nice interior design Small but clean and nice rooms. Nice and clean bathrooms The room I stayed in hade a tendency to get a bit warm but could be aired out during the night

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you liked the location and interior design and you had a nice and clean room/bathroom. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange More

Freeport, Bahamas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was a bit worried when we finally found the small little entrance and reception area. But the hotel is truly tres chic. Very modern and stylish. I had never seen a shower/toilet but it was super fun for a road trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you had a good stay in our hotel during your road trip. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a great experiences in Amsterdam, becasue I was able to stay well-designed room and look around various design of room. The location is the best thing of this hotel that you can go everywhere by using tram.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Hae, thank you for your positive review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to take a look at some of the rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a good concept. No hassle, comfy beds, wifi, nice simple decor and helpful staff. If you're planning in staying in your room all day it wouldn't be ideal. But for sleep and a couple of breaks during the day it's perfect. Would like to see more budget boutique hotels like this around Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Nick, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had such a great time at Hotel The Exchange. We would love to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dont stay here if you want large rooms, huge bathrooms, balconies, or large spaces to lounge around indoors. This is NOT your place. However, if you are in Amsterdam for the right reasons and lust to be outside soaking it all in, you will not mind the small rooms, and tight quarters. The hotel is well laid out, thoughtful, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy you loved the hotel and the rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all: it's all about the location. At the hart of the city near the central station, red light district, one of the gay areas. Every room is different. Our first room was like a boudoir. I liked it as it was very cosy but my partner found it too small. Just went over the reception. There were some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It is good to read you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to take a look at some of our rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

Herndon, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small rooms, big prices. All the amenities worked and it was roughly what I expected. We stayed in a "2 star" room and didn't spend a ton of time in there. Let's be real, it was a glorified dorm. The mattress was creaky and uncomfortable, only had one chair, a couple hanging lamps, and a bathroom small enough to relieve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Tom, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite the small rooms, you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked the 2 stars room which priced reasonably as the hotel located strategically in town, all the places are just minutes of walking distances. Shopping streets are just behind the hotel and District 5 is just minutes away. There is no aircond in the hotel but Amsterdam weather is cooling at night with window open the rooms get cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed our best coffee in town and the comforable beds. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd booked a lovely airy room with a terrace, but ended up with quite a stuffy little room at the very top of the hotel with only one window that opened and no air-con on what was quite a hot day. It cost me £350 for one night! Must do more research next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future as we have rooms from 1 to 5 stars. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
61

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer