We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

NH City Centre Amsterdam

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Save Saved
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
dovmk
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,356)
  • Photos (799)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (145)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    658
    294
    101
    41
See reviews for
167
510
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for NH City Centre Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam within walking distance to all main attractions in city center. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom well equipped. Room had coffee maker and safe. The buffet breakfast with great variety of food, everything fresh, service very good. Very good hotel at reasonable price, can definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you comments. I will make sure to pass your positive comments on to our Food and Bererage staff as well as our Cleaning staff. kind regards, More

Upland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accommodations are wonderful here and in such a great location. Our family was very happy with the breakfast that you could purchase. The food was absolutely delightful and the kitchen staff was impeccable. I would definitely stay here again and can't wait until I do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your very much for your respons on your stay in NH City Centre Amsterdam. I am delighted to read your comments about the breakfast offering and kitchen staff! I will make sure to share your comments with them. I hope to meet you again in Amsterdam one day. Kind regards, More

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was appalled by the hotel. Upon entering, we asked for help with our luggage as there was a steep flight of stairs and no ramp! A woman came and lifted a bag and told us to get the rest ourselves. The lobby looked like a hostel. The bathrooms were dirty. There were 2 weird massage chairs that looked like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your reaction on your stay in NH City Centre Amsterdam. I am very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectiations. It makes me happy that you transfered to NH Amsterdam Centre and I sincerely hope you had a wonderfull stay there and enjoyed the service our collegues gave you. Kind Regards, More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for my business trip.The location is good, breakfast is nice.But staff specially reception staff is so ugly and unproffessional.They have us handicap room and when we requested to change they did not accept and hotel was available. and there was a road working behind the hotel and it was impossible to sleep in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your reply on your stay in NH City Centre Amsterdam. I am very glad to read that you liked our breakfast and I have forwarded your comment to the breakfast staff. I would like to offer my sincere oppologies regarding the behaviour of the reception staff. If a room was available, a room move should... More

Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently traveled to Amsterdam to stay a night before taking a group of 26 on a Avalon River Cruise. The NH Amsterdam City Centre is a great location, friendly staff that was willing to go out of their way to help us with dining reservations, directions, and tracking down our motor coach when it did not show up at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sure had a great time hosting you and your group in NH City Centre. I hope the cruise was nice and you enjoyed your time on the river Rhine! thank you very much for staying with us an I do hope seeing you again in the future. kind regards, Rick van Schijndel More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very clean , the staff were very friendly and helpful . The bar was well stocked fairly cheap :) ...just a few minutes walk from the square which was a blessing because of the Irish bar across the road that we found the best food and drinks alround and so cheap. The barman in the hotel was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, thank you very much for your kind reaction on your stay in NH City Centre. I will make sure to pass on your complimets to Dion the barman. I am happy that he provided you with a good service. Kind regards, Rick van Schijndel More

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel's location is good. However Amsterdam city center is not that big, everyone hotel in the city center can be called good location. The room had no air condition which didn't bother me because the weather was not hot. However the bathroom had some smell which bothered me a little. I think it might be due to no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Jon W, thank you very much for your comment. I am sorry that the moise of the toilet bothered your. Would you be able to send me your roomnumber so we can check the toilet? My e-mail adres is: r.schijndel@nh-hotels.com. kind regards, Rick van Schijndel More

Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the positive, the hotel is very conveniently located. The notorious "red lights" are within 10 min walk, but more important still it's just as close to restaurants, the 9 shopping streets and department stores and a tram stop - should you need to go some place too far too walk. On the negative is rooms are hit and miss.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As others have stated this was a hugely disappointing room. Really, disappointing 452 was wedge shaped. Nothing like the pictures, tiny window and vastly overpriced. I can't begin to imagine what it would be like on a hot day. Other rooms looked nice maybe they just pick on jet lagged North Americans for the crap rooms? Location is good if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time and effort taken to react on your stay in NH City Centre. I would like to appologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in our hotel and that you were not happy with the room we assigned for your. I would like to point out that we do not... More

London, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I Was there for 9 nights June 2 to 11.....the room is beyond small...and so stuffy, hot and musty smelling that I had to wash my clothes twice when I returned home. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired.....barely cleaned bathroom every day...I ended up cleaning the counters and sink myself......... our view was of the garbage they had piles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
copdam, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Lynn H, I am very greatfull that you took the time to react on your stay at NH City Centre Amsterdam. I regret that we could not fulfill your expectations and that you left unsatisfied, since guest experience is of our major interest. As a follow up on your comments I have discussed this matter with our Housekeeping departement... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

799 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (304)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (471)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Quad Room (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (62)
Viewed
Standard Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Room Scenic Views (39)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Room (62)
Viewed
Superior Triple Room Scenic Views (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, Comfortable Hotel housed in five Art Deco-style buildings dating from 1920. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
209

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer