We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    83
    36
    10
    14
See reviews for
72
223
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (536)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a 5 star hotel, located in an out of the way spot. Not a quick walk to the center of things, but the Tram system is half a block away, and the hotel sells tickets. Visiting here is the perfect way to enjoy a week in Amsterdam. A weekend isn't long enough. This city has 100 Museums alone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write this beautiful review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked the location of the hotel. The hotel indeed is located only 300 metres from the nearest tram- and metro station which brings you wherever you want. The museum... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This classic hotel by the Amstel offered us a great experience, full of charm, amazing service, five star amenities and so chic suite. Room service and breakfast are top notch. Thanks to every member of staff to have made our stay memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your great experiences with us at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am delighted to read that you felt like a royal and that you received amazing service by our staff. It is something they take great pride in and I will share your compliments to them for making your stay memorable. Thank you once again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the InterContinental Amstel for 2 nights recently during a weekend visit to Amsterdam to celebrate our upcoming wedding anniversary. The hotel is stunning throughout and the staff were probably the best we have experienced at any hotel. Everyone we had contact with was so helpful, friendly and attentive that we felt like nothing we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your beautiful experiences with us on TripAdvisor and your blog. I am glad that you enjoyed your two night stay in our hotel to celebrate the wedding anniversary. Your praising words about the staff make me proud and I definitely share your compliments with them. We aim to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its a Grand Hotel with old world charm. Its a quite hotel thats fantastic to relax at and watch the world pass by. The lounge area is very nice and the staff are always helpful. The rooms and always clean and are just nice places to be.I have stayed here a good few times now and keep coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your wonderful experiences with us on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you found the hotel to be quiet, relaxing, and clean. We take great pride in the historical charm of the hotel paired with providing excellent service. Thank you and we are looking forward... More 

Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Amstel Hotel is wonderful. As soon as we checked in we knew this would be a great stay. The staff is wonderful and if you're not sure where to go or what to do, just ask them. We happened to catch a couple days with beautiful sun and hung out on the canal at the bar patio watching a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you had a great stay and that you received great service from our staff. I will definitely share your compliments with them, especially with Duncan, Peter and Albert. How wonderful that you enjoyed the canal view from the room but also from... More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Amstel over a long weekend and were so very impressed with the hotel, its amenities, ambience and services. All the staff were efficient, welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Our suite was lovely with great views over the river Amstel and the bed was extremely comfortable. Aad, the head concierge and members of his team, Peter and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your nice experiences with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your long weekend stay and that you were impressed by the amenities, ambience and services. I will definitely share your compliments with the staff and especially with Aad, Peter, Duncan, Albert and Andrew. Thank you... More 

Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The reviews are very concise and were the reason I chose This hotel. I have not been disappointed. The rooms were very well decorated and come with a great large bathtub of you are in the suites. The staff is extremely helpful and professional. The restaurant La Rive was a treat and should be considered as one of my top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am pleased to read that you chose our hotel to stay after reading the reviews and that you had a pleasant stay. How wonderful that you liked the well decorated rooms and the helpful and professional staff. The Amstel hotel is indeed the... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff were efficient, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room very big and beds extremely comfortable. Concierge managed to get us tickets for The Rijksmuseum for the next morning and could have done so for Anne Franks house but it would have meant on early start so we declined. Good location for walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your wonderful experiences with us. I am honoured to read that you experienced the hotel as the best hotel you have ever stayed in. How wonderful that you enjoyed your room, the location and the service provided by our concierges. I will definitely pass on your compliments to... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Besides being out of the way and old fashioned, this hotel has unimaginably bad service. Arrive with bags? No one will offer to help carry them up the fight of stairs to the lobby. They will however stare blindly ahead as they watch you struggle up the flight ending with a locked door! Need a reservation at the restaurant? Sorry,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your honest comment on Tripadvisor. We regret to hear about your disappointing stay and would like to offer you our apologies for any discomfort that this may have caused to you. Your comments have our full attention and have also been discussed with the head of departments involved. We kindly ask you to... More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel all around. InterContinentals around the world have always proven to be very high quality places to stay, and the Amstel Amsterdam is no exception. Make sure to make time to enjoy the spa and pool on the lower levels - such a great amenity that should be taken advantage of.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your beautiful experiences with us on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Health Club. Our Health & Fitness Club is the perfect place to start your day or to relax after a day of sightseeing, offering a nice view over the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

309 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (247)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities