We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 168 Amsterdam accommodations

De Lastage Apartments

3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Valkenburgerstraat 188A, Amsterdam 1011 NC, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added De Lastage Apartments to your Saves list
De Lastage Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
87%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013
FuriousGirl Isle of Man
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
72
9
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked apartments to stay in May of this year - unfortunately as others have said it didn't happen. When reports first started appearing I contacted the owners and they reassured me that they would be reopened by May. Then contacted me 2 months later to say that they would not be reopened and that they had found alternative accommodation for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isle of Man
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked through booking.com. At no point did booking.com contact me or offer me any information regarding the issues De Lastage were having. I had to do everything myself, contacting De Lastage directly. Luckily, Thierry was very helpful and kept me updated. When it transpired that he could not reopen the apartments, we received a refund within a few days.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place needs to be taken off your list. We were told the City authorities had closed the apartments at short notice and we were left with everything booked for our visit to Amsterdam without accommodation a week before we were due to be there. We were left to find an alternative and, although successful, it was much more expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Like so many other previous reviews we received late notice on cancellation of our reservation. So late in fact that it was on the day we were due to check in. I was travelling with my family during a time that Amsterdam was showing 85% occupancy! I ended up staying at a beautiful hotel but it made for a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage. We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated... More

McLean VA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed twice before at De Lastage and loved it. I had made reservations again, prepaid in advance through the Web site, and was contacted about five days before my arrival about the problem. Terry, the manager, had already located an equivalent two-bedroom apartment through shortstayreservations.com and arranged for full credit of my payment to be accepted by Short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for your support in this matter. This really means a lot to us. Unfortunately De Lastage has not (yet) prevailed in court. We are closed for short stay business until further notice. We are working on some angles, but this would not work until somewhere mid 2014. Should you return to Amsterdam in the... More

Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have a similar experiece to the previous reviews. We were already out of the country and was contacted by de Lastage 5 days prior to arrival to Amsterdam that the apartments was closed for legal reasons. We had fully paid for our accomdation 7 months in advance. The staff was not very helpful in finding alternative accomodation and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage. We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated... More

USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like the other posters, we found out a couple of days before staying at De Lastage Apartments that our reservation was cancelled. Expedia called us up and said that De Lastage had a fire code or other issue and needed to suspend operations immediately. As we were already out of the country, this last minute cancellation caused us serious concerns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage. We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated... More

Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were informed 5 minutes before we arrived at these apartments that they had been closed down by the local authority. Booking.com found us two hotel rooms at short notice for our 5 day stay however this has cost us hundreds of euros in eating all our meals in restaurants instead of self catering. A dreadful experience that has thoroughly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage. We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated... More

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked an apartment three months before I was due to stay. It was cancelled three days before we were due to arrive. I was really looking forward to staying at these apartments. Fortunately Booking.Com found us alternative accommodation of a reasonable level. Very poor service

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thierry S, General Manager at De Lastage Apartments, responded to this review

Good morning, We apologize for not being able to respond earlier, but we have been very busy with trying to re-open De Lastage. We are very sorry for the experience you had. Please understand that this was a big surprise for De Lastage as well. We were suddenly closed due to not having certain permits, while we were never obligated... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself and 3 girl-friends spent 3 nights and 4 days in this facinationg city. The Apartments are situated in an ideal location for getting to and from most desired destinations i.e Dam square, Red Light District, 'Cake Shops',Canal tours etc. There is a supermarket with a cashpoint just up the road and around the corner from the apartment, with an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to De Lastage Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lastage Apartments

Also Known As:
De Lastage Apartments Hotel Amsterdam
De Lastage Apartments Hotel
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 188A, Amsterdam 1011 NC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Lastage Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 De Lastage apartments are equipped with Hastens beds, Smeg kitchen, Flatscreen TV, DVD-player and a stereo system. High Speed Internet (cable) is price-included and telephone is an option if one wants to use one of the rooms as an "office away from the office." Also you will find all the standard household equipment as an iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner, hairdryer, coffee machine, water cooker, microwave oven, dishwasher and of course several pans, plates and cutlery. We provide twice-a-week apartment cleaning and linen service by a certified staff under direct management. A professional laundry room has been created in the same building. Other services requested by our guests can also be taken care of. From Monday to Friday our Facility Manager will be in the office in the same apartment building to provide one with personal service for all queries which may arise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your De Lastage Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Lastage Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.