We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    70
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
61
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed this hotel just one night, that was ok for us. We were 7 people and no one liked, because of the dirty rooms and baths. There were spots on bedspear. We asked slipper but they couldnt provide us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vinstra Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service at check-in. Parking in the hotel garage was OK. The room was average, Good brakfast, but a line in front of the coffee-machine. Perhaps two machines would be better? Nice foajee with comfortable coaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Bikerrolf, Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We enjoyed reading you had a nice stay in our Hotel. Thank you for your tip about an extra coffee machine. We will take this into our decision about improvements in the hotel! We’re looking forward to welcome you again in Hampshire Hotel – Groningen Centre! Kind regards, Team Hampshire... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

After one night in a room with a toilet that stinks like the one of a tavern full of beer drinking men, I asked to please get it cleaned properly. I came back and the exact same stink was still there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Receptie at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear about the smell from the toilet and the bad follow-up. We've discussed this point with the housekeeping who said they did clean the toilet. An extra check by our genitor mad clear that there was a slight malfunction in the piping which is fixed immediately. Hopefully we may... More 

Travelers are raving about these Groningen hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Well situated within the inner ring. Modern, comfortable hotel with adequate facilities, though the soap dispenser in the bathroom was basic. No tea-making facilities in the room, though they do offer free coffee in reception when the machine is working which during our stay it was not. Parking is very expensive (slightly cheaper at the hotel at 17 euros per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Receptie at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review
Google Translation

Geachte heer/mevrouw, Hartelijk dank voor uw bericht. Wij hebben uw opmerkingen met betrekking tot het parkeren genoteerd. Bedankt voor het... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This is quite a basic hotel: clean, simple rooms with good beds. Plusses: - only 5 minutes walk to the centre - very affordable price - absolute silence at night (50m from a police station) - super friendly staff - in-house parking - free wifi - great view Only minus: - shower temperature sometimes dropped suddenly

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Front Office medewerker at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear sir/ madam, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It's good to hear you had a good stay in our Hotel. We're going to look at the shower! We're hoping we can welcome you again soon in hamshire Hotel Groningen Centre! Kind regards, Jolanda van Dijk More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Pros: Located in a quiet corner of the city centre. Staff are friendly. Cons: Looking a bit old and worn. Room was dimly lit, especially the bathroom. The toilet in our room had been fixed to the wall at an odd angle. No kettle in the room, €2.50 for coffee from the machine downstairs. Bed was two single beds pushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Front Office medewerker at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. We are busy to renovate the Hotel. Also there comes a water boiler in the Comfort Rooms. Oure Deluxe en Superior rooms has a double bed in the Room. My appologize if thats not mentioned by check-in. we're hoping you had a good stay in our Hotel, and we would... More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The rooms are lovely and large, and the beds very comfortable. We had a room with lovely huge windows which overlooked the canal and we enjoyed this aspect very much. The cleanliness standard was low - we had two rooms, and both had stained carpet and large dust balls around the edges. A coat was dropped beside the desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear JanTravel_4, Thank you for your review! First of all it's nice to read that you enjoyed the view and the quality of the staff. Unfortunately not everything had the quality we are used to deliver. The stains in the carpet are known and we are working on that. We have forwarded your complaint about the overall quality of the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This is a nice hotel in an ideal location. Clean with good sized rooms but I thought it a bit pricey for this standard of hotel. Avoid the vastly overpriced breakfast and take a 5 minute walk for better quality and better value. Did like the all day availability of free tea and coffee though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ian M., Thank you for your review! It's nice to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel, maybe you can try our breakfast because it's worth it! Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were given a massive room, which probably could have fitted another bed. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was within walking distance of 15 minutes of the city centre so quite convenient. The area was quiet, which was a massive plus, considering its a student town. The pubs are open 24 hours so those who like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Abeckydeen, Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again, maybe at the next match between FC Groningen and Aberdeen? Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Leamington spa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Wanted somewhere close to the station and toward s the southern part of Groningen. The hotel is well placed by the canal basin (plenty of boats to watch) and easy walking distance into the centre where there are plenty of bars and eating places. The room was quite small and warm but we were able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kevin W, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope te welcome you again! Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay