We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

3.0 of 5 Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands (Formerly De Nieuwe Academie)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
47
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Located in a quiet corner of the city centre. Staff are friendly. Cons: Looking a bit old and worn. Room was dimly lit, especially the bathroom. The toilet in our room had been fixed to the wall at an odd angle. No kettle in the room, €2.50 for coffee from the machine downstairs. Bed was two single beds pushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The rooms are lovely and large, and the beds very comfortable. We had a room with lovely huge windows which overlooked the canal and we enjoyed this aspect very much. The cleanliness standard was low - we had two rooms, and both had stained carpet and large dust balls around the edges. A coat was dropped beside the desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear JanTravel_4, Thank you for your review! First of all it's nice to read that you enjoyed the view and the quality of the staff. Unfortunately not everything had the quality we are used to deliver. The stains in the carpet are known and we are working on that. We have forwarded your complaint about the overall quality of the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This is a nice hotel in an ideal location. Clean with good sized rooms but I thought it a bit pricey for this standard of hotel. Avoid the vastly overpriced breakfast and take a 5 minute walk for better quality and better value. Did like the all day availability of free tea and coffee though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ian M., Thank you for your review! It's nice to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel, maybe you can try our breakfast because it's worth it! Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were given a massive room, which probably could have fitted another bed. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was within walking distance of 15 minutes of the city centre so quite convenient. The area was quiet, which was a massive plus, considering its a student town. The pubs are open 24 hours so those who like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Abeckydeen, Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again, maybe at the next match between FC Groningen and Aberdeen? Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Leamington spa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Wanted somewhere close to the station and toward s the southern part of Groningen. The hotel is well placed by the canal basin (plenty of boats to watch) and easy walking distance into the centre where there are plenty of bars and eating places. The room was quite small and warm but we were able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HampshireCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kevin W, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope te welcome you again! Kind regards, Team Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is nice and clean. Staff friendly and give you good service. The hotel is locaded a 2-minute walk from the fine "pedestrian" and there are plenty of good resturants. Hotel is a 3-star standard in Europe, but it is nice, clean and quiet. We will come back. PS, if I want to ask for anything, it would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for the motogp and the hotel met all our needs. Good location, about 10 min walk to train station. Room was basic but spacious, comfortable and clean and had great views over the city....although carpets throughout the hotel were stained/dated. Didn't bother paying for breakfast as the room was pricey enough (probably due to the motogp) but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel was originally build as a (high rise, 7 or 8 stories) office building for the city's social services & medical services office. And that shows; the inside (the stairwell, the corridors, etc.) still look a bit like an (older) office building. Also, an other result of this re-using of the building for a different purpose, is that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed here a few times for business and the car parking, wifi and location are very convenient. The rooms are basic and the breakfast is adequate. For value for money it is a good hotel. I found the walls a bit thin, the neighbour's television was clearly audible. Happily he or she slept early. Car parking is onsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in the apartment across the street that is owned by the hotel. It is spacious and clean. The downfall is that there is no housekeeping so you have to arrange to take your own trash out and there are no replacement towels. We stayed for a week and managed okay but you don't get hotel service at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Address: Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands (Formerly De Nieuwe Academie)
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Groningen

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay