We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bastion Hotel Groningen

Bornholmstraat 99, 9723 AW Groningen, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Groningen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bastion Hotel Groningen
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I stayed at Hotel Bastion during the Eurosonic. Actually during that time all hotels were booked and I managed to get a room at the Bastion.It was not the initial choice and I was a bit apprehensive. But must say all my fears were put to rest. Its a nice decent place. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

A small Chain Hotel in an industrial area (was very quiet, but stayed at a weekend). Great value - had a special last minute deal. Still - only if you have a car. Far away from the city center or anything else , for that matter. Clean , comfortable room. No double bedroom (!) at all, we were told.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Cleanness fine, no hair-dryer except in the VIP rooms, gloomy neighbourhood, but easily reachable from the highway. Then... When we woke up in the morning, the room was cold, no hot water also. I tried to call the reception, but no one answered. After 15 minutes of unsuccessful attempts, I had to personally go into the lobby: the receptionist apologized,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Samanta T, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our apology for the non working heating and hot water. The central heating was fixed very quickly,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Groningen hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

For me it was exciting going back to Groningen after few years. The hotel was very convenient not too far from the city. The only hitch was the transport which was every hour or so. However because of the efficiency within the system the bus would come on time as per the time table at the stop. The hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

If you need a good budget hotel in Groningen, and you do not care that it is not within walking distance from the city centre, this may be a good choice. The rates are very reasonable. The hotel has a free parking space and within ten minutes or so you can reach the city centre by car. The hotel has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I think some of the other reviews are unkind. This is a budget hotel. I stayed here as I had a meeting 2 mins away, and needed to park a 6M car somewhere safe. Check in was great, friendly and professional. The room was a twin, comfy and upto date. Free broadband worked fine (Inc Skype) Bath and Shower modern/upto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had stayed in another similar hotel that weekend before, so expecatations were set (Hampshire). Did we get dissapointed at Bastion Hotel! Bathroom was not clean, and housekeeping had left the door unlocked! Whilst my laptop was inside. During breakfast almost all dishes were still dirty so the staff had to replace all. No apologies whatsoever. During check out stuff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Yollie12, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our apology for the chaotic breakfast you have experienced during your stay and... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We needed just a basic hotel for one night near Groningen and booked a room in The Bastion. It's a nice hotel with free parking and quite close to the centre of town. The reception at the front office was friendly and efficient. Our room was small and well equipped but maintanance was poor. Flat batteries in the remote control... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review! Thank you very much for that. We also would like to apologize for the fact... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is close to Groningen with a bus stop in front of the hotel. The rooms are clean and have what you need (free tea and Nescafé are supplied), but they are small. The free wireless is slow at times and so you have problems using Skype. The dinner is sufficient and basic. For a normal dinner it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest. I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in Bastion Groningen on our way through the Netherlands; paid ~90usd/night and was thoroughly satisfied with the hotel. Rooms were nice and new, hotel was in great condition, restaurant food was good value and quality, staff service was superb, The Wi-Fi was free and fast, the fitness centre was also new and good although on the small side, since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this. I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels. With kind regards, Maik Willems More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay