We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bastion Hotel Groningen

3.0 of 5 Bornholmstraat 99, 9723 AW Groningen, The Netherlands
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Groningen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bastion Hotel Groningen
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I think some of the other reviews are unkind. This is a budget hotel. I stayed here as I had a meeting 2 mins away, and needed to park a 6M car somewhere safe. Check in was great, friendly and professional. The room was a twin, comfy and upto date. Free broadband worked fine (Inc Skype) Bath and Shower modern/upto... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had stayed in another similar hotel that weekend before, so expecatations were set (Hampshire). Did we get dissapointed at Bastion Hotel! Bathroom was not clean, and housekeeping had left the door unlocked! Whilst my laptop was inside. During breakfast almost all dishes were still dirty so the staff had to replace all. No apologies whatsoever. During check out stuff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Yollie12, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our apology for the chaotic breakfast you have experienced during your stay and... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We needed just a basic hotel for one night near Groningen and booked a room in The Bastion. It's a nice hotel with free parking and quite close to the centre of town. The reception at the front office was friendly and efficient. Our room was small and well equipped but maintanance was poor. Flat batteries in the remote control... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review! Thank you very much for that. We also would like to apologize for the fact... More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is close to Groningen with a bus stop in front of the hotel. The rooms are clean and have what you need (free tea and Nescafé are supplied), but they are small. The free wireless is slow at times and so you have problems using Skype. The dinner is sufficient and basic. For a normal dinner it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest. I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in Bastion Groningen on our way through the Netherlands; paid ~90usd/night and was thoroughly satisfied with the hotel. Rooms were nice and new, hotel was in great condition, restaurant food was good value and quality, staff service was superb, The Wi-Fi was free and fast, the fitness centre was also new and good although on the small side, since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this. I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels. With kind regards, Maik Willems More

Groningen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

service, professionalism,courtesy,environment, price! the hotel is good for the price and the staff render such a professional service; you feel so wellcomed here; would love to visit again!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this. I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Groningen. With kind regards, Maik Willems More

Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel after midnight, despite booking on line and having a conformation e mail, we found that our booking had been cancelled. We were refused entry into the hotel lobby and all our exchanges were made via an intercom with the reception staff. We were offered no help, information or explanation and on a cold night, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bastion Hotel G, Public Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Mister Ian W, Thank your for your participation on the Tripadvisor.com Review of your stay in June 2011 Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Because of your review the Bastion Hotel Groep can increase the service to their guests. We noticed that you have a complain about your reservation in Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Your review has been discussed with the... More

Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

On a campervan trip in vary bad weather, we saw this hotel beckoning to us from the Groningen bypass and decided to stay. We had a great view from our room on the top floor and spent a very comfortable night. It wasn't far to drive into the middle of Groningen for sightseeing and a meal. Breakfast was extensive, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Coast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel has been extended and the restaurant has been revamped since the photos on this site were taken. The food was good, but there was only one vegetarian main dish. The staff were happy to prepare alternatives for me. It is some distance from the city-centre; no problem for car drivers, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Friendly staff, i had some problems in the restaurant i did order the rumpsteak and wanted it cooked medium but on one side it was completely raw. The room was clean, and you have free wireless internet, its not hard to find the hotel since its right by the freeway (if you come by car)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bastion Hotel Groningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Groningen

Address: Bornholmstraat 99, 9723 AW Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Groningen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay