We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Groningen

4.0 of 5 Hanzeplein, 132 | Gorechtbuurt, Binnenstad, 9713GW Groningen, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Groningen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Groningen
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    114
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
61
15
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although undergoing renovation works, it is not acceptable that an hotel does not have proper heating during autumn. When I called to reception to ask about the room temperature and the barely warm radiators, they just replied that during the "transition seasons" (i.e. autumn) the heating is set at a minimum, and recommended "to close the window"! Terrible experience, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a superior room for three nights and this turned out to be an excellent move. Very clean, modern and ideal location. Good sized bath and shower, Wi-Fi worked fine. The breakfasts are quite expensive but certainly excellent quality with a great variety of food, very fresh especially at weekends. Only a ten minute walk into the centre. Attentive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for only one night, so it served the purpose. The downstairs self-serve restaurant was a pretty good alternative to a minibar, and prices were reasonable. The rooms were a decent enough size. There was no bathtub in our room, but it wasn't a big deal for us. Wifi worked well. Beds were too soft and bouncy, but I... More

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Adricornell, Thank you for your review. I like it that you wrote positive about our new restaurant concept. (The assortment is more extensive than a minibar I hope?) We do have some rooms with a bathtub, if you ask for it when you make a booking, we can arrange it. The beds are indeed the new beds of NH... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got a great price on this hotel through Travelocity and was worried about the outside pictures - it looked like post-war nothing. I've been pleasantly surprised. The hotel is spotless and new. Very large and comfortable room that is better set up for working than almost any other hotel I've stayed in. Decent free wi-fi. You can buy more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear nxd10, Wow What a nice review you wrote! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. The new 24/7 concept was launched this month and I really like to receive comments for this. So thank you for writing about it. The prices, are compare some southern countries in Europe higher. The reason for this is that the staff... More

Marzabotto, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel close to the city center with park in the UMCG which is not expensive. Parking is not always easy in groningen. From the hotel it is easy and fast to go to the city center walking 10 min. To arrive at the hotel is easy from Groningen ring; probably to improbe the signals to the hotel. Crew is kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and were somewhat disappointed with this hotel. The renovations at the main lobby were the least of the issues we had. Upon arriving, they give you a registration form to fill in....which was something they could have done for you as well...but our displeasure was not noticed as the staff was constantly distracted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Starrlet07, Thank you for wr9iting a review about your experience with us. Although overall we did not met your expectations, it gives us the opportunity to improve our service. The reason for the registration form is that it is mandatory to do this by Dutch law. These details are not known by us when the booking is made. We... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main benefit of this hotel is its location, at least when you wish to visit the university hospital in Groningen, wich is right across the street. It is also within a 10-15 min walking distance to the old town city center, but if your purpose of visit is mainly touristic, other hotels may be better located. I have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear TMK010, Thank you for the clear review. In your review, the main topic is that in your opinion the hotel needs a facelift. During your stay the renovation works were going on at the ground floor. These renovations were finished at the beginning of November. May be you stayed with us in the first week of October, when these... More

EU
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The NH hotel in Groningen is located in a good position to walk through the city centre. The staff is quite friendly and they have multiple nice dinner options available (esp. the pea soup is recommended). Nice clean rooms with windows that open and give a nice view over Groningen. Perhaps a bit on the expensive side for one person,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights as I was attending a conference and booked a superior room with breakfast. The room was recently refurbished and very comfortable, it was also quiet, which is important to me. THere were a couple of minor issues with the room (faulty electrical socket tap not working) but these were dealt with very quickly. Breakfast and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farsund, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The service was excellent. The room was excellent, bright and clean. Location was perfect, just a short walk down town. What I liked the best is the room, and the least that there were no parking for the guests.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to NH Groningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Groningen

Address: Hanzeplein, 132 | Gorechtbuurt, Binnenstad, 9713GW Groningen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Groningen 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Groningen

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay