We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Groningen

4.0 of 5 Hanzeplein, 132 | Gorechtbuurt, Binnenstad, 9713GW Groningen, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Groningen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Groningen
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    131
    29
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
75
17
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel in a great spot. Front desk personnel extremely helpful and friendly. Food was average. Rooms were clean and slightly larger than typical European hotels. Center of city was short walk with any restaurants and shopping. Very nice stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. More 

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pleasant stay in this hotel. Very nice room, shower and extra's like green apples! very nice spotted in the centre of Groningen. Friendly staff. very close to the UMCG, the Academic hospital of Groningen. appr 150 meter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was friendly, while waiting at the incheck it was possible to drink something and to eat a biscuit. I had some minor problems with the card to open my door but the problem was solved very quickly. Good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Second time I have stayed here. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location. Rooms good, quiet, good night's sleep. Bathroom very good. I didn't try the food, as there are so many great places to eat out in Groningen.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Although undergoing renovation works, it is not acceptable that an hotel does not have proper heating during autumn. When I called to reception to ask about the room temperature and the barely warm radiators, they just replied that during the "transition seasons" (i.e. autumn) the heating is set at a minimum, and recommended "to close the window"! Terrible experience, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear mister Wanderlust, Thank u for the review, although the review was not positive for us, it gives us the possibility to improve our service. It is clear to me that we did not provide any service regarding your comment about the temperature. The normal policy is that we check what's wrong with the heating, because it is clear that... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We booked a superior room for three nights and this turned out to be an excellent move. Very clean, modern and ideal location. Good sized bath and shower, Wi-Fi worked fine. The breakfasts are quite expensive but certainly excellent quality with a great variety of food, very fresh especially at weekends. Only a ten minute walk into the centre. Attentive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We stayed for only one night, so it served the purpose. The downstairs self-serve restaurant was a pretty good alternative to a minibar, and prices were reasonable. The rooms were a decent enough size. There was no bathtub in our room, but it wasn't a big deal for us. Wifi worked well. Beds were too soft and bouncy, but I... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Adricornell, Thank you for your review. I like it that you wrote positive about our new restaurant concept. (The assortment is more extensive than a minibar I hope?) We do have some rooms with a bathtub, if you ask for it when you make a booking, we can arrange it. The beds are indeed the new beds of NH... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I got a great price on this hotel through Travelocity and was worried about the outside pictures - it looked like post-war nothing. I've been pleasantly surprised. The hotel is spotless and new. Very large and comfortable room that is better set up for working than almost any other hotel I've stayed in. Decent free wi-fi. You can buy more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear nxd10, Wow What a nice review you wrote! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. The new 24/7 concept was launched this month and I really like to receive comments for this. So thank you for writing about it. The prices, are compare some southern countries in Europe higher. The reason for this is that the staff... More 

Marzabotto, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel close to the city center with park in the UMCG which is not expensive. Parking is not always easy in groningen. From the hotel it is easy and fast to go to the city center walking 10 min. To arrive at the hotel is easy from Groningen ring; probably to improbe the signals to the hotel. Crew is kind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were somewhat disappointed with this hotel. The renovations at the main lobby were the least of the issues we had. Upon arriving, they give you a registration form to fill in....which was something they could have done for you as well...but our displeasure was not noticed as the staff was constantly distracted by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EgbertBrinks, General Manager at NH Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Starrlet07, Thank you for wr9iting a review about your experience with us. Although overall we did not met your expectations, it gives us the opportunity to improve our service. The reason for the registration form is that it is mandatory to do this by Dutch law. These details are not known by us when the booking is made. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to NH Groningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Groningen

Address: Hanzeplein, 132 | Gorechtbuurt, Binnenstad, 9713GW Groningen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Groningen 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Groningen
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Groningen

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay