We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Groningen hotels

Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Expositielaan 7, Groningen 9727 KA, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza to your Saves list
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
81%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014
Nicodemusje Dronten
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    154
    43
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
94
48
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dronten
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great hotel, very 'not expensive', good rooms, best breakfast ever with real(!) fresh orange juice, hot boiled eggs, choice of soft and firm, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, fried tomatoes, tiny pancakes, various cereals, various juices, good coffee, fresh fruit and so on

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our extensive breakfast buffet! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was great to return to this hotel. As always, the staff are what make this hotel exceptional. They provide a warm welcome and a professional service. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, well maintained and well equipped. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Too snowy and cold to use a hotel bike unfortunately. I can highly recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay again. I will forward your compliments to the team. Hopefully your next trip will be without the snow, so you can enjoy a bike ride into our beautiful city. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have spent around 20-22days in this hotel on a business trip and I was pleased. I dont remember my room number though it was on first floor and the view from inside was good facing stadspark and road. Overall connectivity was good as everyday i needed to go to work at my companies office in Eemsgolan which was nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. The WIFI is free in the public areas and in the guest rooms, I am sorry that you were misinformed. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

From check-in to check-out, the staff was friendly, efficient and fast. My room was not huge, but large enough for my stay. Maybe a bit small for more than one. Breakfast was typical Dutch: complete with vast choices. An evening at the bar was a pleasure with one waitress serving the whole, full bar efficiently. Though the choice of one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comment concerning the snacks, I will discus this with the team. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely, clean and bright with brilliant staff. Very enjoyable stay. Easy to get to if driving and centre of Groningen only a 20 minute walk away. Excellent food. Suited us perfectly. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in the city of Groningen. Your compliment for our staff is a real stimulant! We hope to welcome you again, as our guest, in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we had 3 seperate bookings and hotel allowed us to stay in same room througtout stay. breakfast was Ok when included in price of room but at 16.50 per person not worth it as seperate item! would happily stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that we could combine your reservations! We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More

Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for one night during my business trip to Groningen. Location of the hotel is just next to the highway, but noise don't bother your. Rooms are big enough with team making facilities, TV, safe, hair dryer. Breakfast normally is not included in the rate and expensive. There are no options for going out nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you stayed in our hotel during your business trip to Groningen. The city centre of Groningen is easily accessible by bus. The bus stop is only a few hundred meters away from the hotel. During your next stay our reception team can explain location and... More

Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Was there for Davis Cup.. Very nice hotel, great breakfast, nice people. only little thing is the distance to the center of Groningen (can be reached by bus - station around 5 minutes walking distance away). W-Lan was included as well as Lan-connection. all together worth to stay if you can accept its location...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and spending the "DavisCup" weekend in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I have to say, I wasn't too keen based on the reviews on staying here. But what a good decision to stay. I was presented with fresh fruit everyday and a free stocked minibar. Great service on the front desk. Very helpful and spoke good English which is hard to find sometimes.. If I'm Back in Groningen again, will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your trip to Groningen. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you again during your next journey to the Netherlands. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Been to Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Also Known As:
Accor Groningen Martiniplaza
Address: Expositielaan 7, Groningen 9727 KA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza is the perfect location and meeting point for your business trip or holiday to Groningen in the northern part of Holland. The hotel is very easy to reach, just off the A7 (exit 36) and right next to Gasunie, Martiniplaza and the Trade Centre. The hotel features 157 comfortable functional modern non smokingrooms with airconditioning, minibar, free WiFi and ADSL (paid). We have 44 parkingplaces (paid), and a non smoking restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.