We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

4.0 of 5 Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    173
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
28
119
55
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Marzabotto, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Locate outsider the city center, not so far, but outside, it is easy to be achieved from the ring. To the city center is needed the car and in Groningen Parking is always not easy to be found, especially free of charge. Only one defect to underline: Parking area too small and always full. Outside the Parking area of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & honest feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your overall stay was pleasant! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was fine, comfortable bed, quiet, got a good night's sleep. Wifi was quick and free. Reception guys were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Price at 85EUR was too expensive as it did NOT include breakfast which at 16,50EUR per person was a complete rip off. I went to a local baker and got a couple of filled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that you have experienced our rates (room & breakfast) as too expensive. We are analyzing/comparing our rates on a daily basis with other hotels in Groningen. The rate you we offered is very competitive compared to other 4 star hotels. We hope... More

Lincolnshire UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As at October 2014. Hotel very conveniently located just off the motorway. Car parking at the hotel is charged at Eu7.50 a day. The bays are a good width. If the hotel car park is full you can use the sports centre car park next door and have that ticket validated at the hotel for the same price. Off-street parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read to you have enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More

Zaan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- Room was absolutely tiny - and this was a so called "privilege" room. - Room service food was atrocious - really soggy fish & chips? - Location is no use for visiting the City Centre of Groningen - just off the motorway. Good for business guests. - Mini bar selection was pathetic. - I received hardly any of my... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We hope to welcome you again in Groningen. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman... More

Burscough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stopped off here on our cycle tour. Quite expensive but the room was very comfortable and quiet and all the added extras made it a good stop. The receptionist was very polite and helpful. Also somewhere safe for our bikes was a plus. The only disappointment was the cost of the breakfast, I thought it very expensive at €16 so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & rating on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel during your cycle tour. We are sorry that our extensive breakfast buffet was too expensive in your opinion. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More

Cloppenburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We arrived as a group 12 at this hotel on a Saturday morning and were allowed into our rooms early which was great as we wanted to go into town. The reception was very welcoming and efficient team working there. Rooms are of a good standard and clean and good value. Beds were very comfortable slept very well there. Next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you and your group enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I will pass on your compliments to our hotel team! Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This hotel has old-fashioned prices: it's not expensive. The attention of the employees is also old-fashioned: they are helpful. As a Platinum-card holder for this hotel chain, they upgraded me to a Privilege Room for free. So far, so good. But what was also old-fashioned, are the services. No bath in any room, even the highest priced? That's not 2014.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Mr van Ess, Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you qualify our staff as excellent! We are aware that the entertainment system in the rooms need to be adjusted towards current & future guest needs/wishes. We are looking into the... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The hotel is located close to high way and nothing else. We were asked during the check in Breakfast? No thanks, we will decide tomorrow. In the morning I call reception and asked: How much is breakfast? Got answer 12,5 euro. We enjoyed the breakfast. Check out and I see 33 euro for the breakfast for two. I called the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review to share your experience at the Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Sometimes we have special deals on our breakfast price. I am sorry that this was not explained to you at... More

The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Overall good hotel. Clean and staff quite friendly and good. Location is not bad, nearby the bus stop (5 minutes walk from the hotel). Paid parking either at the hotel premises or on the street at the same price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that your stay was in general Good. When you visit Groningen again in the near future, we hope you will stay in the Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Address: Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Groningen Martiniplaza

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay