We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Hotel website
Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    178
    55
    14
    5
See reviews for
30
124
57
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (333)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is annoying. It is too far from town to walk, and yet you have to pay to leave your car overnight. That is a recent thing five years ago parking was free. I don't think hotels should charge for parking, it's rude. The rooms are very 1970s, and the restaurant dark and gloomy. It might have been exciting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Mercure. The room and bathroom were clean. The bathroom was rather small. We had to get a pass from the front desk each time for parking, which was a bit cumbersome. The coffee machine near the front desk which advertised free coffee, was out of order at the time...hope they fixed it by now.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on Tripadvisor. The coffee machine in the lobby serves free coffees till approx. 10 am, as an extra service towards our guests. After that time you can purchase a coffee in our bar. I hope you will give us the chance during a next stay to change your overall... More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza for two nights in February 2015 as I was visiting Delfzijl (60 km further North) on business. I've stayed in Groningen previously and stayed in the town where there are a great range of restaraunts - but this hotel is located in the south and looks just to be a business district threaded with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Tony S, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are aware that the surrounding of the hotel is a bit more lifeless than down town city center. But there are also positive points.. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to welcome you again on your next business... More 

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel during Chrismas. Upon arrival the lady at the front desk apologised for the fact that the restaurant was temporarily moved to the 2nd floor due to renovation. We booked a Privelege room incl. breakfast. The room was not too large, but clean and comfortable. We also liked the (clean) shower, even though the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for review & feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your overall stay was good. We are sorry that the renovation of our restaurant & the failure of our "on demand" movie system had a negative impact on your satisfaction. Could you please forward me your personal details by email (rick.haandrikman@accor.com)? So... More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Uninspiring location (except for the view on the GasUnie Building, which is one of Groningen's architectural highlights) a few meters away from the road around the city. Staff is very friendly, and helpful, taking ample time for everybody at the desk, so check-in was a bit slow. Probably it's more that I am impatient... The Video on Demand system did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your overall stay was good. We apologize for the problems with our TV on Demand system. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Knivsta, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed for a week, no problems at all. Top floor was quiet. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff. This review has to be 200 characters, wonder why?xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxx

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, 200 characters or not, we are just happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us :-) Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Marzabotto, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Locate outsider the city center, not so far, but outside, it is easy to be achieved from the ring. To the city center is needed the car and in Groningen Parking is always not easy to be found, especially free of charge. Only one defect to underline: Parking area too small and always full. Outside the Parking area of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & honest feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your overall stay was pleasant! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Room was fine, comfortable bed, quiet, got a good night's sleep. Wifi was quick and free. Reception guys were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Price at 85EUR was too expensive as it did NOT include breakfast which at 16,50EUR per person was a complete rip off. I went to a local baker and got a couple of filled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that you have experienced our rates (room & breakfast) as too expensive. We are analyzing/comparing our rates on a daily basis with other hotels in Groningen. The rate you we offered is very competitive compared to other 4 star hotels. We hope... More 

Lincolnshire UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

As at October 2014. Hotel very conveniently located just off the motorway. Car parking at the hotel is charged at Eu7.50 a day. The bays are a good width. If the hotel car park is full you can use the sports centre car park next door and have that ticket validated at the hotel for the same price. Off-street parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read to you have enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More 

Zaan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

- Room was absolutely tiny - and this was a so called "privilege" room. - Room service food was atrocious - really soggy fish & chips? - Location is no use for visiting the City Centre of Groningen - just off the motorway. Good for business guests. - Mini bar selection was pathetic. - I received hardly any of my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We hope to welcome you again in Groningen. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Address: Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Groningen Martiniplaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Groningen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Groningen

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay