We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Hotel website
Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Review This Hotel

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    181
    56
    14
    5
See reviews for
30
124
57
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located outside Groningen town centre, takes about 25 mins to walk to the city centre and about €8/9 for the taxi fare. I stayed in one of the single rooms, which was quite small and had a single bed (although a bit bigger than average); usually most of the hotels I stayed at during my business trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that your stay was not to your fullest satisfaction. We have double rooms available for single use, or this upgrade you only pay € 5 extra per night. We do hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General... More 

Thornaby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed for two nights & hope to stay more! Upon arrival, my reception was second to none. Tonight's attentive & friendly service at the bar/restaurant was one of the best I have received during many years of international travel. I highly recommend this hotel & hope to be back. Thank you for making me feel welcome and valued….... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very, very Happy as well with your review on Tripadvisor. It's always nice to receive positive feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Rick Haandrikman General manager More 

Bourne, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is annoying. It is too far from town to walk, and yet you have to pay to leave your car overnight. That is a recent thing five years ago parking was free. I don't think hotels should charge for parking, it's rude. The rooms are very 1970s, and the restaurant dark and gloomy. It might have been exciting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that your stay was not to your fullest satisfaction. Concerning the parking; we chose to exclude the parking fee from our room rates. This way we keep our room rates low and parking is paid by guest who really use it. We hope to... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Mercure. The room and bathroom were clean. The bathroom was rather small. We had to get a pass from the front desk each time for parking, which was a bit cumbersome. The coffee machine near the front desk which advertised free coffee, was out of order at the time...hope they fixed it by now.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on Tripadvisor. The coffee machine in the lobby serves free coffees till approx. 10 am, as an extra service towards our guests. After that time you can purchase a coffee in our bar. I hope you will give us the chance during a next stay to change your overall... More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed at the Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza for two nights in February 2015 as I was visiting Delfzijl (60 km further North) on business. I've stayed in Groningen previously and stayed in the town where there are a great range of restaraunts - but this hotel is located in the south and looks just to be a business district threaded with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Tony S, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are aware that the surrounding of the hotel is a bit more lifeless than down town city center. But there are also positive points.. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to welcome you again on your next business... More 

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel during Chrismas. Upon arrival the lady at the front desk apologised for the fact that the restaurant was temporarily moved to the 2nd floor due to renovation. We booked a Privelege room incl. breakfast. The room was not too large, but clean and comfortable. We also liked the (clean) shower, even though the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for review & feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your overall stay was good. We are sorry that the renovation of our restaurant & the failure of our "on demand" movie system had a negative impact on your satisfaction. Could you please forward me your personal details by email (rick.haandrikman@accor.com)? So... More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Uninspiring location (except for the view on the GasUnie Building, which is one of Groningen's architectural highlights) a few meters away from the road around the city. Staff is very friendly, and helpful, taking ample time for everybody at the desk, so check-in was a bit slow. Probably it's more that I am impatient... The Video on Demand system did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your overall stay was good. We apologize for the problems with our TV on Demand system. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Knivsta, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed for a week, no problems at all. Top floor was quiet. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff. This review has to be 200 characters, wonder why?xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxx

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, 200 characters or not, we are just happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us :-) Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Marzabotto, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Locate outsider the city center, not so far, but outside, it is easy to be achieved from the ring. To the city center is needed the car and in Groningen Parking is always not easy to be found, especially free of charge. Only one defect to underline: Parking area too small and always full. Outside the Parking area of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & honest feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your overall stay was pleasant! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rick Haandrikman General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Room was fine, comfortable bed, quiet, got a good night's sleep. Wifi was quick and free. Reception guys were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Price at 85EUR was too expensive as it did NOT include breakfast which at 16,50EUR per person was a complete rip off. I went to a local baker and got a couple of filled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review & feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that you have experienced our rates (room & breakfast) as too expensive. We are analyzing/comparing our rates on a daily basis with other hotels in Groningen. The rate you we offered is very competitive compared to other 4 star hotels. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question