We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Leeuwarden hotels

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsweg 4, Leeuwarden 8911 AG, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014
thunefeld Borrego Springs, California
  • Reviews (127)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    67
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
63
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The rooms are clean and nice and modern, but that's now what make me rate the Oranje Hotel so wonderful. The service from all the staff was friendly and excellent. Room service was delightful. The hotel restaurant delicious. The location brilliant. The only "fly in the ointment" was that housekeeping did a rather poor cleaning on our two night stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dhr-vd-Linden, General Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thunefeld, What a lovely comments to read. We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel! However we will take your points about the room cleaning at heart and discuss them within our team! Hopefully we may welcome you again next time you will visit Leeuwarden! With kind regards, More

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Apart from helpful reception staff this is a truly ghastly little Hotel. Service in the bars and restaurant is at best perfunctory (in fact waiting for 20 minutes in the bar on 25.03.14 yielded no service at all); breakfast (entirely self-service) is dishonestly expensive at 15 Euros a head; the rooms (second rate & tired with poly-ceiling tiles) are so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The position of this hotel is absolutely great, just opposite the central station, near the main shopping streets and 15 min on foot from expo halls. I liked my single room, it has all the necessary amenities. Cleanliness is also on a very good level. I have to comment though that the soundproof in the rooms is not very good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
168 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at this property while on business for 3 nights in room 147 a queen bedded room. PRO's+ Clean Good Service room size larger than others I've seen Very good food Nice, functional shower The town is beautiful and I would encourage walking around in the evening near the canals. Beware of rabid bikers. CON's Small TV small work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Floor-Jan, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of this stay with us and the brief report of your pro's and con's. We're always very greatfull if guests take the time to inform us about them. Please consider, for your next visit in town, to climb the Oldehove. A nice part of town! Looking forward to your visit More

Talkeetna
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
89 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Oranje Hotel on business with my son and daughter on the evening of Tuesday 1st October leaving on Thursday 3rd October. The location is in almost central Leeuwarden and as we arrived by car we were surprised to find that the hotel underground car park was full. We then had to park in the street behind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. The parking in our hotel is indeed limited, but we’re happy to assist with parking during your next visit. There are two other indoor parking facilities nearby. We hope that you enjoyed your flight back home and looking forward to your next visit in Leeuwarden. With kind regards, More

Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Oranje Hotel in Leeuwarden on our travels through the Netherlands. What beautiful accomodations! The staff were professional and friendly, and the entire property was clean, modern and well kept. We also enjoyed the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. It was exceptional!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Cristie, Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and staff. We will share your compliments with them. When you return to Holland, we would be very happy to accommodate you again. With kind regards, More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located opposite the railwaystation and at the edge of the old (and surprisingly charming) city centre, spacious room (ours could host 2 persons plus dog), clean, breakfast OK, but what struck me most was the hospitality, pro-active attitude and competence of (Wouter and Stefanie of) the Front Desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Bart, Thank you for the excellent review! We really appreciate the time that you took to write this review. The compliments are shared with the entire front office team. With kind regards More

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we have been travelling for 3 months in Europe and this Hotel surpasses the rest. The Staff are wonderful, friendly and warm, nothing was a problem. Asked if we could have a walk in shower and it was done within a few days as we stayed for 3 weeks. It was right opposite the railway station. With FREE wifi, all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Geal, Thank you for your excellent review! We really appreciate the time and effort that you put into this review. Hopefully your clothing has arrived safely in Australia. With kind regards, More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Positives: Friendly staff; relatively large room; nice bathroom; opposite the train station and other public transportation; close to the city center. Negatives: Bathroom could have been cleaner (mold and some hairs in the shower).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review
Google Translation

Geachte Travel_CG83, Wat een fijne reactie dat uw verblijf naar wens is geweest! Een mooi compliment! Uit uw reactie begrijp... More

Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arrival our standard room was not available but we got upgradet to supirior room. Both type of rooms are spacious, kingsize beds en big bathtub. Staff is great and service even better. Food not cheap but great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Flyboy65, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel & restaurant. We'll see you next time? More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsweg 4, Leeuwarden 8911 AG, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Business Hotel in Leeuwarden #2 Luxury Hotel in Leeuwarden
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Founded in 1879, the Eden Oranje Hotel is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy café terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
78

See which rooms travelers prefer