We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Leeuwarden hotels

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
90%
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Christina I
  • Overview
  • Reviews (135)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
70
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a couple of nights on business and, whilst the hotel itself is very pleasant and in a very convenient location for both rail station and town, it was a comedy of errors. Some things were minor annoyances such as: - every time I called at reception there was only one member of staff present and invariably they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel located near an office of our partners, that is why I have been there. I liked the hotel very much: rooms are bright and clean, staff are friendly and positive, despite of the language problems from our side. And it is 1 minute walking from the centeer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dhr-vd-Linden, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Christina, Wauw, a 5 star review is a compliment on it's own. Thank you for your review about your stay with us and we hope to see you once again in the future. With kind regards More

Guam, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First off... Stephanie, the front desk reception clerk, was awesome. She was so friendly, positive, helpful, and I loved that she always had a smile on her face. I loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here while in Leeuwarden visiting with his best friends. We had a nice room with the view of the train station which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dhr-vd-Linden, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear guest, What a great review! We're really happy with the time and effort that you used to write about your stay. We have giving the compliments to Stéphanie, our housekeeping and restaurant team. We would love to welcome you again! More

Borrego Springs, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
71 hotel reviews
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The rooms are clean and nice and modern, but that's now what make me rate the Oranje Hotel so wonderful. The service from all the staff was friendly and excellent. Room service was delightful. The hotel restaurant delicious. The location brilliant. The only "fly in the ointment" was that housekeeping did a rather poor cleaning on our two night stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dhr-vd-Linden, General Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thunefeld, What a lovely comments to read. We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel! However we will take your points about the room cleaning at heart and discuss them within our team! Hopefully we may welcome you again next time you will visit Leeuwarden! With kind regards, More

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Apart from helpful reception staff this is a truly ghastly little Hotel. Service in the bars and restaurant is at best perfunctory (in fact waiting for 20 minutes in the bar on 25.03.14 yielded no service at all); breakfast (entirely self-service) is dishonestly expensive at 15 Euros a head; the rooms (second rate & tired with poly-ceiling tiles) are so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The position of this hotel is absolutely great, just opposite the central station, near the main shopping streets and 15 min on foot from expo halls. I liked my single room, it has all the necessary amenities. Cleanliness is also on a very good level. I have to comment though that the soundproof in the rooms is not very good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
169 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at this property while on business for 3 nights in room 147 a queen bedded room. PRO's+ Clean Good Service room size larger than others I've seen Very good food Nice, functional shower The town is beautiful and I would encourage walking around in the evening near the canals. Beware of rabid bikers. CON's Small TV small work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Floor-Jan, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of this stay with us and the brief report of your pro's and con's. We're always very greatfull if guests take the time to inform us about them. Please consider, for your next visit in town, to climb the Oldehove. A nice part of town! Looking forward to your visit More

Talkeetna
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
90 hotel reviews
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Oranje Hotel on business with my son and daughter on the evening of Tuesday 1st October leaving on Thursday 3rd October. The location is in almost central Leeuwarden and as we arrived by car we were surprised to find that the hotel underground car park was full. We then had to park in the street behind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. The parking in our hotel is indeed limited, but we’re happy to assist with parking during your next visit. There are two other indoor parking facilities nearby. We hope that you enjoyed your flight back home and looking forward to your next visit in Leeuwarden. With kind regards, More

Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Oranje Hotel in Leeuwarden on our travels through the Netherlands. What beautiful accomodations! The staff were professional and friendly, and the entire property was clean, modern and well kept. We also enjoyed the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. It was exceptional!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Cristie, Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and staff. We will share your compliments with them. When you return to Holland, we would be very happy to accommodate you again. With kind regards, More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located opposite the railwaystation and at the edge of the old (and surprisingly charming) city centre, spacious room (ours could host 2 persons plus dog), clean, breakfast OK, but what struck me most was the hospitality, pro-active attitude and competence of (Wouter and Stefanie of) the Front Desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review

Dear Bart, Thank you for the excellent review! We really appreciate the time that you took to write this review. The compliments are shared with the entire front office team. With kind regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Leeuwarden with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leeuwarden #3 Business Hotel in Leeuwarden
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Founded in 1879, the Eden Oranje Hotel is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy café terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
78

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer