We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander Guesthouse

Hotel website
Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexander Guesthouse
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    56
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
49
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is simple, however the rice is good and the location excellent - on walking distance of the inner city and the river Limat. In the evening however there are hookers on the street... so take care.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for 1 night but the location was great with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The check in/out was very easy and as a small token of appreciation they had amazing apples on offer and a nice small breakfast offering (coffee and croissants). The room was a bit warm as there was only a floor fan but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear thumby37 Your compliment has made our day. Thank you very much for your affirmative feedback. It's a confirmation that we’re doing things the way they should be done. You’ve been able to benefit from our central location which is quite a good thing. By the way, are you aware that you get our best quotations if you make your... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Pro's: 1. Good single room with a good bed 2. Free Wi-Fi in the room 3. Friendly and helpful staff 4. Fan in the room which is better than nothing 5. Room was clean and tidy Con's: 1. No air conditioner in the room 2. It was noisy outside because of the other tourists staying in the hotel, windows are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Unmean Thank you very much for the time taken to rate us on tripadvisor and for your good comments. It’s always a big pleasure for us to read when our guests were satisfied with our rooms. We wish you a lot of interesting trips around the world. Kindest regards The team from Hotel Alexander More 

Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I liked this hotel so much! It's excellent! I've been here alone, I walked, I had a very good sleep here, because it is very quiet place. I recommend it for everyone, for families, to stay alone. And there are a lot of good restaurants around. 5 star!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear TripMember06172015 Thank you very much for the time taken to rate us and for your good comments. It’s always a big pleasure for us to read that our guests liked their stay very much. We wish you a nice day and hope to see you in Zürich soon again. Kindest regards The team from Hotel Alexander More 

australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Great service, clean and affordable, however the walls were thin and both nights that we were there we were woken up after midnight by people talking loudly down the stairwell. It was a great location (10minutes walking distance) from train station and in the centre of the historical part of town. There was no tea / coffee making facilities however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear annastaciaAustralia Thank you very much for your comments about your stay and the compliments paid to our staff. We apologize you were woken up after midnight by other guests. The reception is staffed 24 hours so whenever you need our help please contact us immediately. We wish you all the best. Best regards The staff from Hotel Alexander More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We have found the staff very polite and helpful and we are based in an awesome location with access to many bars and restaurants plus public transport. Our room was clean and neat but very small with an extremely small lift. Also there was no coffee or tea making facilities sadly. The room was extremely affordable for Switzerland standards. Sue

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sue F Thank you very much for your comments about your stay and the compliments paid to our staff. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but if needed you can borrow a kettle at the reception. We wish you a very nice day. A lot of interesting trips around the world and hope we... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I stayed in Zurich for 3 nights and it cost me and my friend 435chf which is very good price , spec for Switzerland. Room : Clean , well kept , spacious. Has a desk also , flatscreen tv (mines didn't work but i dont go on holiday to watch tv) , bathroom with a hair dryer too. free wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jetsetjaney We would like to thank you that you have chosen the Alexander Guesthouse and that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied of with the room and our staff. Your right that there are some ladies on the street below the Guesthouse.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My wife and I only had a single night, but were quite happy with the room, which was average size by European standards, but small compared to what we are used to. The twin beds, although very small were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. There was some sort of festival outside but by closing the windows and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Anthony S Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse. It’s a big please to read that you liked it and that you would recommend it to other travellers. We are on duty to make our guests fell like at home 24 hours a day. We wish you all the best and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In such an expensive city, we were glad to have enjoyed a bit of value! Just a street behind the main hotel, the guesthouse was in a perfect location. Staff were very friendly and patient. Rooms were very nice. Couldn't have asked for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Nick2426 Thank you very much for your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse and your motivating review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much. We are very glad that you were satisfied with our service. This should be the kind of service we are aiming to give and it is great... More 

Christchurch,New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This guesthouse, more correctly two guesthouses one on one street with the main reception and the other the street behind is in the right place for able bodied tourists travelling by foot. It is very basic, but hey what do you expect at this price? Switzerland is frightfully expensive and this place is relatively cheap so the fact it doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear PaulNZ Thank you very much for having had the privilege to be your host. The Guesthouse has two stars. This is why we have no safe, air-condition or fridge in the room, but it is well furnished. If needed we have a fridge or safe in the lobby you can use. The Geusthouse is not exactly in a redlight... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#31 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#47 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Basilea
Hotel Basilea
#99 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#57 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay