We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Zurich B&Bs / inns

Alexander Guesthouse

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alexander Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alexander Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
57%
Ranked #15 of 39 Zurich B&B and Inns
A recent review
  • Reviews (99)
  • Photos (33)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (11)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    44
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
40
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff were very helpful when we told them that the guest staying below us was knocking at our door, complaining that we were "noisy". They actually went to inform that guest about the situation and it might have been his neighbour whom was creating all the noisy. We had a good night sleep that night. However, on our last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jing Ning S We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse. We acknowledge with big regret your evaluation and thank you for your frankness. As a matter of course, we shall look into and take care of the matter you reported to us. We also apologize you did not feel safe in... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The guesthouse is comfortable and clean. It is located in the old town, and is a very easy walk from the train station. We had a twin room with our own bathroom. While the room was quite small, it was adequate for our needs - after all you are only there to sleep! The staff at the main hotel take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear traveller6519 Thank you very much for your kind annotation. It was a big pleasure for us to accommodate you in our Guesthouse. We also want to thank you for your great comments about our doorman. We have to doormen’s working each day from eight to eight to help you with all your needs. Due to our central location you... More

Zurich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Auch wenn in Zürich, viel zu teuer für was ist. Embarassing, wenn ein hostel-like Zimmer für 180 CHF. Even though Zurich is reknown to be expensive, that is embarassing. 180 CHF for a hostel like micro-room. Ok if you want to grab a nice girl from the street, standing right at the entrance.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Marco B We acknowledge with big regret your review and thank you for your frankness. We are always very keen to enhance our performance and thus feedback from our customers can only be but conducive to that goal. We have partly redecorated our rooms in the Guesthouse last year. We apologize if the room was not as you accepted.... More

Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A good place to stay in EXPENSIVE Zurich. It was an easy walk from the train station and not hard to find. You pass a big grocery store on the way from the station so you can pick up drinks snacks etc. Although the breakfast was expensive (not by Swiss standards though) it had great variety with great scrambled eggs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear STEVE b We thank you again very much for your kind review on you stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff. Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day. Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you soon again.... More

Exeter
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not clean/dust on furniture. Used glass not cleaned on 2nd day.Assigned to secondary building, away from the main hotel/breakfast.Prostitutes on the street below.Main hotel entrance stuck. Unpleasant.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Daer Lydia V We thank you very much for your review about your stay in the Alexander Guesthouse. It enables us to enhance our performance to the extent that you and our other customers can enjoy an all around comfort they’re entitled to. We regret very much that we did not succeed in answering that purpose during your stay with... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Guesthouse is located in the city center very close to most of the services. The room was clean, large and comfortable. Internet is available, although you have continuosly to ask for password generation. Walls are not so transparent to the sound so you can partially hear your neighbor. Price is not very low and breakfast is very expensive for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Gaetano F Thank you very much for your review on your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse. We continuously focus on enhancing our service to fully meet customers’ requirements. Whatever looks annoying to us must have pretty much the same effect on our customers. Good housekeeping is thus of paramount importance. We always do our utmost to keep it on... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights, during which the slightly cramped twin room was adequate without being comfortable. Night-time noise from street directly below was not a huge problem as it was cool enough to close the window. We had more disturbance from nearby unit guests arriving loudly in the small hours one morning. Tea making facilities would have been good, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Ian D Thank you very much for your review on your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse. We continuously focus on enhancing our service to fully meet customers’ requirements. We do not have tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms but if needed we can borrow a cattle to our guests. Just ask for it at the reception. Zurich... More

Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For the price its a nice simple room with an ok size bathroom. The Location is great! On a fun street with lots of bars and restaurants.You do have to check in at the Hotel Alexander about a block away. We found this process very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Alison B We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal. You like our new rooms? That makes us very happy. Our rooms had been refurnished, some of them in springtime... More

Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Guesthouse for 7 nights. We were located at the rear of the Guesthouse with other residential apartments on 3 sides. Was a bit noisy with a couple of parties taking place on a couple of nights. No tea/coffee making facilities or fridge in the room. The wifi was sparodic and we had to sit between our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jim S We thank you very much for your feedback. It enables us to enhance our performance to the extent that you and our other customers can enjoy an all around comfort they’re entitled to. We regret very much that we did not quite succeed in answering that purpose during your stay with us. We shall be giving the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alexander Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alexander Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Alexander Guesthouse Hotel
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexander Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a good-value-for-money Option in Zurich, we recommend our **Guesthouse. It is located in a quiet side street, just a stone's throw away from the Hotel Alexander***. Our 20 Guesthouse rooms are suitably furnished to all intents and purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Alexander Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!

Amenities

Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a good-value-for-money Option in Zurich, we recommend our **Guesthouse. It is located in a quiet side street, just a stone's throw away from the Hotel Alexander***. Our 20 Guesthouse rooms are suitably furnished to all intents and purposes. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.