We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Zurich B&Bs / inns

Alexander Guesthouse

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CHF20 off room rate
Alexander Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alexander Guesthouse to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #15 of 41 Zurich B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Anthony S Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    49
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
45
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I only had a single night, but were quite happy with the room, which was average size by European standards, but small compared to what we are used to. The twin beds, although very small were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. There was some sort of festival outside but by closing the windows and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Anthony S Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse. It’s a big please to read that you liked it and that you would recommend it to other travellers. We are on duty to make our guests fell like at home 24 hours a day. We wish you all the best and... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In such an expensive city, we were glad to have enjoyed a bit of value! Just a street behind the main hotel, the guesthouse was in a perfect location. Staff were very friendly and patient. Rooms were very nice. Couldn't have asked for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Nick2426 Thank you very much for your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse and your motivating review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much. We are very glad that you were satisfied with our service. This should be the kind of service we are aiming to give and it is great... More

Christchurch,New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This guesthouse, more correctly two guesthouses one on one street with the main reception and the other the street behind is in the right place for able bodied tourists travelling by foot. It is very basic, but hey what do you expect at this price? Switzerland is frightfully expensive and this place is relatively cheap so the fact it doesn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear PaulNZ Thank you very much for having had the privilege to be your host. The Guesthouse has two stars. This is why we have no safe, air-condition or fridge in the room, but it is well furnished. If needed we have a fridge or safe in the lobby you can use. The Geusthouse is not exactly in a redlight... More

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staying in a budget accommodation was necessary for me in Zurich therefore i chose this guesthouse. Guesthouse is in an excellent location. Room was small, clean and basic. Here is some critical information.. Book a room facing the courtyard therefore you will avoid the street noise and red-light activities, do not stay here if the temperature will be over 30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear ontisuka2012, Thank you very much for your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse and for rating us on Tripadvisor. We apologize the internet was slow when you stayed in the Guesthouse. The reception at the hotel Alexander is open 24 hours to serve all our client’s needs. In case Internet is slow please inform the reception that we can reboot.... More

Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here at the end of our Europe tour, May 16-17th 2014- just one night. We wandered around trying to find the place, finally found it- and then we were lead to another location which was close by. It was only a short walk from the train station- but be aware that the streets are cobblestone, windy, and a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Amanda G, Thank you very much for your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse and for your comments left on Tripadvisor. In our two stars Guesthouse there is no air-condition. But each room has a fan. For all travellers who like to get air-condition we recommend to book our tree stars hotel Alexander where we also have the reception and... More

London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I went to Zurich on a business trip and decided to stay at the Alexander Guesthouse, attracted by the positive reviews and the fair price. However both me and the colleague I shared a room with found it impossible to sleep, due to the noise from the street below. I didn't realise that the guesthouse was in the red district,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Anita S, Thank you very much for your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse and for informing us about your experiences. Thank you very much for als mentioning the friendliness of our staff. We really regret that you had to resort to such uncalled-for struggle with noise coming from the Zähringerstrasse. As especially in the Summer months when it is... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was the best of the hotels we stayed in on a month-long ski trip to Switzerland, Austria and France, and very reasonably priced. Perfect quiet location convenient to the train and in the pedestrian area. Family run with very friendly and helpful staff, nice room with a comfy bed and bedding. No breakfast, but they had coffee and croissants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate ambition. Your compliments soothes our soul since our job in the hotel business can at times also be somewhat nerve-racking. We notice with... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff were very helpful when we told them that the guest staying below us was knocking at our door, complaining that we were "noisy". They actually went to inform that guest about the situation and it might have been his neighbour whom was creating all the noisy. We had a good night sleep that night. However, on our last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jing Ning S We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse. We acknowledge with big regret your evaluation and thank you for your frankness. As a matter of course, we shall look into and take care of the matter you reported to us. We also apologize you did not feel safe in... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The guesthouse is comfortable and clean. It is located in the old town, and is a very easy walk from the train station. We had a twin room with our own bathroom. While the room was quite small, it was adequate for our needs - after all you are only there to sleep! The staff at the main hotel take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear traveller6519 Thank you very much for your kind annotation. It was a big pleasure for us to accommodate you in our Guesthouse. We also want to thank you for your great comments about our doorman. We have to doormen’s working each day from eight to eight to help you with all your needs. Due to our central location you... More

Do you own or manage Alexander Guesthouse?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alexander Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Guesthouse

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexander Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Guesthouse Hotel

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Alexander Guesthouse