We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Zurich B&Bs / inns

Alexander Guesthouse

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alexander Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alexander Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #16 of 40 Zurich B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ontisuka2012 Cork, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (104)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    46
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
42
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying in a budget accommodation was necessary for me in Zurich therefore i chose this guesthouse. Guesthouse is in an excellent location. Room was small, clean and basic. Here is some critical information.. Book a room facing the courtyard therefore you will avoid the street noise and red-light activities, do not stay here if the temperature will be over 30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here at the end of our Europe tour, May 16-17th 2014- just one night. We wandered around trying to find the place, finally found it- and then we were lead to another location which was close by. It was only a short walk from the train station- but be aware that the streets are cobblestone, windy, and a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Amanda G, Thank you very much for your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse and for your comments left on Tripadvisor. In our two stars Guesthouse there is no air-condition. But each room has a fan. For all travellers who like to get air-condition we recommend to book our tree stars hotel Alexander where we also have the reception and... More

London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I went to Zurich on a business trip and decided to stay at the Alexander Guesthouse, attracted by the positive reviews and the fair price. However both me and the colleague I shared a room with found it impossible to sleep, due to the noise from the street below. I didn't realise that the guesthouse was in the red district,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Anita S, Thank you very much for your stay in our Alexander Guesthouse and for informing us about your experiences. Thank you very much for als mentioning the friendliness of our staff. We really regret that you had to resort to such uncalled-for struggle with noise coming from the Zähringerstrasse. As especially in the Summer months when it is... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was the best of the hotels we stayed in on a month-long ski trip to Switzerland, Austria and France, and very reasonably priced. Perfect quiet location convenient to the train and in the pedestrian area. Family run with very friendly and helpful staff, nice room with a comfy bed and bedding. No breakfast, but they had coffee and croissants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate ambition. Your compliments soothes our soul since our job in the hotel business can at times also be somewhat nerve-racking. We notice with... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff were very helpful when we told them that the guest staying below us was knocking at our door, complaining that we were "noisy". They actually went to inform that guest about the situation and it might have been his neighbour whom was creating all the noisy. We had a good night sleep that night. However, on our last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Jing Ning S We would like to thank you very much for your stay at the Alexander Guesthouse. We acknowledge with big regret your evaluation and thank you for your frankness. As a matter of course, we shall look into and take care of the matter you reported to us. We also apologize you did not feel safe in... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The guesthouse is comfortable and clean. It is located in the old town, and is a very easy walk from the train station. We had a twin room with our own bathroom. While the room was quite small, it was adequate for our needs - after all you are only there to sleep! The staff at the main hotel take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear traveller6519 Thank you very much for your kind annotation. It was a big pleasure for us to accommodate you in our Guesthouse. We also want to thank you for your great comments about our doorman. We have to doormen’s working each day from eight to eight to help you with all your needs. Due to our central location you... More

Zurich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Auch wenn in Zürich, viel zu teuer für was ist. Embarassing, wenn ein hostel-like Zimmer für 180 CHF. Even though Zurich is reknown to be expensive, that is embarassing. 180 CHF for a hostel like micro-room. Ok if you want to grab a nice girl from the street, standing right at the entrance.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Marco B We acknowledge with big regret your review and thank you for your frankness. We are always very keen to enhance our performance and thus feedback from our customers can only be but conducive to that goal. We have partly redecorated our rooms in the Guesthouse last year. We apologize if the room was not as you accepted.... More

Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A good place to stay in EXPENSIVE Zurich. It was an easy walk from the train station and not hard to find. You pass a big grocery store on the way from the station so you can pick up drinks snacks etc. Although the breakfast was expensive (not by Swiss standards though) it had great variety with great scrambled eggs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear STEVE b We thank you again very much for your kind review on you stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff. Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day. Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you soon again.... More

Exeter
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not clean/dust on furniture. Used glass not cleaned on 2nd day.Assigned to secondary building, away from the main hotel/breakfast.Prostitutes on the street below.Main hotel entrance stuck. Unpleasant.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Alexander Guesthouse, responded to this review

Daer Lydia V We thank you very much for your review about your stay in the Alexander Guesthouse. It enables us to enhance our performance to the extent that you and our other customers can enjoy an all around comfort they’re entitled to. We regret very much that we did not succeed in answering that purpose during your stay with... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alexander Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alexander Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Guesthouse

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 16, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexander Guesthouse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Alexander Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Guesthouse Hotel

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a good-value-for-money Option in Zurich, we recommend our **Guesthouse. It is located in a quiet side street, just a stone's throw away from the Hotel Alexander***. Our 20 Guesthouse rooms are suitably furnished to all intents and purposes. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

See which rooms travelers prefer