We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Theatre

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Hotel du Theatre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #55 of 127 Hotels in Zurich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
gottalovehols Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    177
    63
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
123
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (327)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We thought the location was great, and had 3 nights in Zurich. I guess everyone knows it costs to eat and drink in Zurich, so we paid for the breakfast as it seemed value compared to Zurich cafes. The staff were extremely helpful. I would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ideal location to the train station and also bars/ restaurants. Hotel very nicely kept with helpful receptionist. Room was nice size for short stay in the city. Reasonable price also paid, only down side was hearing the trams go past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Star in location , near central railway station. Star for the free wifi in the room. Star for the two separate duvels in the double bed. Misssing stars for expensive buffet breakfast (20CHF per person). Towels need change in my opinion. Hotel asks for deposit in avance for future possibility of minibar consumption or breakfast. No trust to clients?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Kosham, Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the facilities in the room. Thank you for the advice reagrding the wowels, we will check them. It is true that we are takeing a deposit of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I stayed at this hotel with my mum for one night as a break stop on our train journey from London to Venice. When I saw it was right next to a busy road I was thinking that it would be noisy - however - our room was on the right hand side and overlooked a mostly pedestrianised street so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear NMH2013 I like to thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure for us to share feedback with our entire team. Correct, we are well located, and in a view minutes walking distance from the train station. When we got the chance we always try to assign the rooms to the... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

good location, good service, acceptable price. the room is very small but comfortable. outside is quite noisy even we keep the window closed in the whole night. the breakfast is quite expensive but it was not bad. all are better than we expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Candy C We like to thank you and your family that you had stayed with us. The Hotel is located in the middle of Zurich, it is convenient if you arrive from the airport or if you travel by public transport. We are only in a short distance from the tram stop and train station. Our hotel is a... More 

Balzan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Advantages 1. Within walking distance of the train station; 2. Clean and efficient room service; 3. Modern; 4. Friendly reception staff.; 5. Availability of internet at reception. Disadvantages 1. Key card failed on two occasions (what's wrong with a normal key I say); 2. An important telephone message was not relayed on to us and we missed an important appointment;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Vincent M Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for... More 

Exeter
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

This hotel gets many reviews saying it is noisy and that each room comes with ear plugs. It does have them, but we weren't quite sure why. We stayed on a busy Saturday night and when I say busy, I mean the town. With the windows closed we heard little or nothing to keep us awake. The room was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are! We are aware of the temperature in the rooms and this is why we are changing our ventilation system in the hotel. So next time when you stay... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The hotel is situated next to the Central Plaza tram stop. hence can be very conveniently reached - there is a tram 10 from the airport directly to the hotel. it is also a 5 minute walk to Zuich HB the main station. Its a small hotel with small rooms typical of Zurich. No views etc - oversees other buidlings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate the positive feedback you have provided about your recent stay with us. I am glad that the location was convenient for you and that you had everything you were looking for nearby. I hope that you will get a chance to stay with us again. With kind regards Isabelle Schiegg More 

Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is easy to find from the railway station. The receptionist was welcoming and friendly. We were allocated room 211 (Gigi's room) The room was lovely and warm and ultra clean with white bed linen, feather pillows, soft white fluffy towels and flannels, fairtrade complimentary toiletries and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are! It is true that our location is perfect if you arrive by train furthermore you almost all sightseeing places within walking distance. We hope that you will find... More 

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed at the du Théâtre as part of our Railbookers trip to Venice. It is a few minutes walk from the station across the lovely river. Hotel is very 'boutique' and modern with a theatrical theme, the owner wanted to incorporate a hotel with a theatre (next door). Lovely and helpful staff. Lots of restaurants within a few minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our service. We hope that we can welcome you back at our property and wish you all the best Yours faithfully Isabelle Schiegg Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay