We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

#64 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    66
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
64
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Berlicum
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is on the waterfront of the Zurich Lac; make sure you ask for a lake front room. They have a small balcony which made it possible to smoke. The location is on walking distance of the old town, opera (5 minutes) and the Central Station (25 minutes). Breakfast is great; many different choices. Rooms are big. Only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made last minute reservations for 2 nights at this hotel, and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is located right by the Zurich Opera House and sits looking over Lake Zurich. The rooms are beautiful and bright. The bed was very comfortable. Overall the hotel seemed to be quiet and peaceful. The bathrom shower was a little small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you very much for your most favourable review and your 4 stars. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us and I am happy to share this with my team. We would love to welcome you back anytime in Zurich. Warm regards, Claudia Egli Hotel Manager... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

There are certainly other, more architecturally appealing and charming hotels in Zurich. However, the view from the room balcony overlooking Zurichsee makes this hotel outstanding for location. Otherwise the level of decoration, finishing, cleanliness and comfort of the room are excellent. The service is also very courteous. The 10 minute leisurely walk to the old town is made all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your kind words regarding our hotel. We are very happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. Kind regards from Zurich, Claudia Egli Hotel Manager & Bellerive Team More 

New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Want to buy a new Audi or VW? Searching for the entrance to the restaurant entrance, one is distracted by the tempting offers to buy a new car with showrooms to either side of the entrance. A bit odd. On a Monday, not much seems to be going on. A quiet table, a good and varied menu selection, and attentive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your dinner at our VIVUS Restaurant. We highly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our food. I will discuss your comments regarding food size with our Executive Chef. You are absolutely right, the entrance of our restaurant is different as in other restaurants. As the building belongs to... More 

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife's first visit to Zurich (I had been often in the past) so I had booked 2 nights in what I thought would an ideal situation. What a disappointment! The ground floor of the hotel is mostly a car showroom, with entrance in the middle. The hotel is totally sterile, with no feeling or atmosphere. Reception area bare with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I know you have many choices when it comes to accommodation in Zurich. Therefore, I am truly sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. There are certain issues we are unable to change, for example our entrance as our building has... More 

Bormio, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We have spent 3 nights at this hotel. As a 4 star-hotel we hoped to find much more than that. It is not possible not to have the proper towels for the shower and slippers for the room. The tv has just 10 channels and it is not possible to watch Italian programs or either sky! The guest does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Bellerive au Lac. I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. You are absolutely right in regards to our TVs. Unfortunately, they are one of the first generations of flat screen TVs and we are having troubles... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We thought for 400 francs per night we would have had clean linen also no TV with English speaking channels very poor We have stayed around the world & always get clean linen everyday Front staff excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for your 4 stars. I am very sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. I will address your issue with the linens with our housekeeping department. Unfortunately, we do have a very small TV option menu at the moment. We are in progress to... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed in the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au by the eastern side of Lake Zurich for two nights during summer vacation. The hotel reception was excellent . We could find nearby car park for our rental car at standard rate. We were provided Superior Double room with lake view with additional bed for child at 5th floor. It was comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this outstanding review. We know you have many choices when it comes to accommodation in Zurich and therefore, we really appreciate your stay with us. We always strive for the best service and reviews like yours encourages us in our daily business. We hope to welcome you back at the... More 

Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I prepaid this hotel or what have turned around halfway through the door. The groundfloor is an Audi dealership and it is a first for me to sleep in a showroom. The lobby is a spared corner on the first floor because, well, they just could not do without one. The rooms are comfortable, but no more. The hotels location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Rob, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comment will help us to improve our Services. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. As the oldest general purpose building in Zurich, the property includes the most known car dealership... More 

Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. My second visit to the hotel. We had a balcony room overlooking the lake. Don't expect much from the balcony and the road below is very noisy during the day. Room size is reasonable and well appointed. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was good. Also had evening meal the first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your favourable comments on our restaurant and front office team as well as the food quality. Your review is very important to us and I am happy to pass it on to my team. You are absolutely right regarding the street outside our door, it is one of the main streets entering Zurich and therefore... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question