We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    68
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
72
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were on the fourth floor and really enjoyed the helpfulness and friendliness of the hotel staff. Nothing too much trouble. You must ask for a lake view room, however it is a city centre so be prepared for road and people noise. Fabulous breakfast and location of the restaurant. Don't book for the last weekend in August unless you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hilton head
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

based on there web-site i thought this was going to be an exceptional experience. it was to be according to their site, air-conditioned, it was not and when we visited in august it was 95 degrees. secondly, it was on top of a mercedes dealership with no grand lobby. thirdly, it was supposed to be in a central location to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet expectations. I am a little bit surprised that you mention, we state that we have air conditioning on our own website. I just checked our website again and could not find it. Our... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the hotel via booking.com as it clearly stated that it has air-conditioning. Check-in was efficient and quick, however once we entered into the room we realised that the so called air-conditioning was not working, to which we called reception only to be informed : " This is only for air-circulation, but it is not an air conditioning as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are sad to hear that it did not meet your expectations. Your are absolutely right, it did state on booking.com that we have air conditioning and we have been in contact with them for a while to remove this as we... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been many times in Zurich and in the Opera area, but this is my first time at that specific hotel. A word tu summarize the experience would be Average. But not the price. The best it has is its location by the lake. Other than that there is unfortunately nothing to highlight. Beeides that their commercial practices are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your last stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet up to your expectations. In order to improve ourselves, could you please send us more details information of what we should be changing in your opinion? Even though your last words,... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, the hotel is quite lovely in many respects - as many reviewers have stated. But it becomes irrelevant if your room is just too hot to enjoy. We are currently in room 305 at the hotel and our plans for returning to the room to cool off during sight-seeing will clearly not work. A hotel with such a high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We understand that this summer has been a challenge for our guests as well as for us. The weather has been unusual hot for Zurich for a very long period of time and it did not cool down at night as it... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was everything I wanted. The staff were exceedingly welcoming and helpful. The room (510) was huge and comfy. The breakfast was wonderful and you could sit overlooking the lake forever. The location is great, walking distance to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your marvellous review and the five starts! We highly appreciate your kind words and I am happy to share your feedback with my team. We would be delighted to welcome you to Zurich. Warm regards, Claudia Egli Hotel Manager & Bellerive Team More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Credit to the staff who kindly moved me to a more sheltered room, but there is no getting away from the fact that this hotel suffers in the summer months from a lack of air con. You are faced with the choice of whether you want your night's sleep blighted by either the searing temperatures if you have the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Also a big thank you for the kind words regarding our employees. I will share this with my team. This summer really has been an great challenge for us. It has been unusual hot for Zurich in July. Therefore, we did get caught... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

I was a guest at this property for a night (29th June - 30th June). The hotel is well located, with the river being right across the property and Bahnhofstrasse just a short walk away. The room size is quite spacious too. However it all went downhill when the air conditioning in my room didn't work. The reception was uncooperative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to apologize for my late answer and for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. It did take a while for me to investigate what happened during your stay. Unfortunately, you have been misinformed by our employee. We actually do not have an air condition, we only have an air circulation system.... More 

Hibbing, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

This hotel is wonderful! The staff and manager were so amazing and all spoke English so that was helpful for us! Great location! The breakfast was delicious & our room had a gorgeous view of Lake Zurich! The attention we were given and the hospitality made us feel like royalty! If you want a comfortable and relaxed stay - this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your marvellous review! We highly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor and most of all we are thrilled to read that we have achieved your expectations. I am very happy to share your feedback with my staff. We would be delighted to welcome you again anytime soon!... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and everything was great! We had junior suite on the 4th floor with 4 balconies with excellent view of Lake Zurich. Hotel staff were all nice and helpful. Close to the tram, train station and nice restaurants. We even walked to old town and everywhere. Great stay. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia E, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review

Dear Mika, Thank you so much for your marvellous review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. I favour our Junior Suites or Lake View rooms as well, all of them have a balcony. A special thank to you in regards to your comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#25 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Seefeld
Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#60 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay