We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 122 Zurich hotels

Novotel Zurich City-West

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland (Escher Wyss)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Save Saved
You added Novotel Zurich City-West to your Saves list
Novotel Zurich City-West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
77%
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Ram S Bangalore, India
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    286
    100
    36
    10
See reviews for
211
119
46
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived at 11:20am on Sunday 7th Sep and was not provided a room as hotel policy was check in at noon. Was disappointed after a 12 hour journey. Aircon was ineffective in my room - 319. The coffee machine was broken in my colleagues room. Checkout was a pain for another colleague who had had blocked 2700CHF on his prepaid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was sorry to read your comment about the payment issue, and the fact that we could not this time, give you a room before check-in time 12:00. Most of the time though, we can clean and inspect enough checked out rooms to give the room before noon. I thank you for the other good points in your... More

Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent only one night here. Conveniently located near a tram stop, it is a very functional hotel. We also enjoyed a very delicious dinner at the hotel. The breakfast spread was very good. The staff could have been more helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your positive feedback and will transmit your comment to my kitchen team regarding the "delicious dinner" and "very good breakfast". We all look forward to welcoming you soon again here. Best regards, Arnaud Tourin - General Manager. More

Cambridgshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had one overnight stay in Zurich on our way to Italy and I was having difficulty finding a central hotel which would accomode 2 adults and 2 children in a family room - and which wouldn't break the bank! We have stayed at Novotels before and so I booked the City West hotel. I was not disappointed. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Far from the centre, this hotel has a large parking, is in the quiet area and there is a large square in front of it, with several good restaurants on it (pricey!). The pool is very good. Breakfast area is great, like a zen garden, and the food is good. Good beds, nice rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all delighted to read your positive comments regarding the indoor pool, our "zen garden" and the "great breakfast area". With sunny weather, we are glad to offer a relaxing time in our quiet terrace and garden, and still in the heart of trendy City-West! We all look forward to welcoming you warmly very soon. Arnaud Tourin... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights while with my wife for my honeymoon in switzerland, a good stay conveniently placed next to tram stop & a grand buffet brekky inclusive, was a good experience. Hotel staff were nice. Highly Recommended for a stay while in Zurich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I congratulate first for your wedding, and was very happy to read you had a nice honeymoon in Zurich. We are proud you have chosen our Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again for your first wedding anniversary! Best regards, Arnaud Tourin - General Manager. More

Kembs, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Honestly I went for the 3rd time to that hotel for a short stay and it is good business hotel. Location is good for a short business trip as it is at the entrance of the city and quite accessible but nothing really special. But I wanted to write this report to mention the nice lkady who did my check-out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Contemporary looking lobby ( PlayStation console!) , good spacious rooms, convenient access via Tram (line 14) n enthusiastic helpful staff ( some helpful tips on cab fares etc). hotel also sells a daily local transportation pass. Stayed here about a month back. Drawbacks - surrounding area is mundane looking n no markets in walking distance. we didn't have any meals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

hotel location was gud tram jst opp to hotel gate, but rooms r very small room service was not good, biggest complaint i have is from lady at reception she was very rude to the kids, u r in hospitality business n v do not expect such a behaviour, the way she speaks is not acceptable to anybody, if u... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to read this misunderstanding with one of our staff, and the way you felt treated. I can assure you that we do our best with a lot of attitudes care, in order to avoid such isolated incident. I remain at your disposal and hope you will give us a second chance to show how... More

Geneva
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Font desk understaffed and front desk staff inefficient (love to talk for hours, irrespective of number of people waiting). Rooms ok, breakfast average: coffee bad (and machine breaking down several time a day), cheese on a broken plate, low quality ham, staff taking everything away at 10:00AM sharp even in August. 3 stars may be, but not 4 stars. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your comment about our children policy, and I deeply regret your impression about the staff being too busy at certain time of the day. Regarding the breakfast, we always inform our clients that they can have access to the buffet before cleaning away, and do not hesitate to ask for more time as we... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly the good points. Nice new modern decor and it's spotlessly clean from lobby to lifts to rooms and all public areas. Also, on arrival it looks promising. The bed in the room is comfortable and sleep quality is fine and rooms are quiet. The wifi in the rooms is good and it's free. The food quality varied quite a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I read your complete report with a lot of attention. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the location, sleep quality and cleanliness. I will share your others comments with my Team to strengthen our effort in availability and contact, so that we can together reach a full satisfaction in your next comment. I would be pleased to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Novotel Zurich City-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Zurich City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City-West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City-West 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Novotel Zurich City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Zurich with
any amenities