We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich

#19 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Splugenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Hotel Splugenschloss)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
86
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Suisse
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has everything to be perfect. First the building itself then great rooms and bathroom. You feel like coming home as the accommodation is set like a proper flat. The only minuses were the room-service, food was good but arrived cold and the decoration of the room which was too unpersonal for our taste. Maybe adding a few frames... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear evrard23, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel with us. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We are very happy you felt comfortable with us and appreciate the style of the building and the suites. Thank you for your... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Normally we stay at the baur Au Lac nearby but for whatever reason it was full so we stayed in the Alden. The reception and lobby are small which suited me fine. It just felt more intimate than the big Marriotts etc. The elevator is laughably small. Again, I'd call it quaint rather than poor. The rooms are to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear Eurotraveller773, Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay with us at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We offer a 24 hours room service menu since a few years but we are happy that you were satisfied with the service... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We recently spent a night in Zurich (en route to Zermatt) and stayed at the Alden. Wonderful, large suite with a balcony. Near Enge train station. Agree with Peter E. that the carpets look a bit old, but otherwise a very comfortable suite. Plenty of room with nice furnishings. The staff was great and arranged a walking tour of Zurich... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear Paula D, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel with us. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We are very happy that you enjoyed one of our suites and felt comfortable. Your kind words about our staff makes us very proud... More 

Munich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Very nice small hotel, professional and extremely friendly staff with "can do attitude". 10 minutes walk to Bahnhofstrasse and old town. Very nice breakfast but expensive. Shower cabin needs refurbishment. Carpet looks a bit old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Peter E, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns über Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns im Alden... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Wonderful 5 star all suite hotel in Zurich. Centrally located in walking distance (less than 5 minutes) from Bahnhof Enge and about 20 minutes Zurich HB, the former Splugenschloss Hotel is a very cosy place to stay. Charming, friendly and professional staff complete the picture. The suite I had (4E) was very large and comfortable in all aspects. Slight disappointment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear S H, Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel and your great evaluation. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service day by day. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable. Especially your feedback about... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Aldén is one of our favourite hotels in Zürich. The suites are spacious, clean and with lovely decorations. Now we also get free Wifi, a must today. But this time the hotel got a new and really terrible feature. You know, if you go in to an Abercrombie and Fitch store it is an unpleasant experience which you can stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear IcelandicFan, Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay with us at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We are happy we had the pleasure to welcome you back to the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel as you feel comfortable with us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

boutique hotel with 5* team always helpful. my new favorite address in Zurich. the rooms are great and in a very old style. the building is very nice from outside. the location close to the lake is perfect and quiet. If you want to party dont choose this hotel. If you are clever and wanted the best deal in town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel N, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel with us. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. Thank you for your great evaluation and your lovely comments about our staff and the hotel. we are very happy you felt comfortable and... More 

Helvoirt, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We did stay 4 days in the Alden and had a lovely stay. Nice suite, peaceful setting, close to Zurich lake, not too far from city centre/oper, although in winter/rainy weather you need to take a taxi/tram. Very friendly personnel. Although we asked for an extra light (took 1 day) there still was too little light to read in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear Dorrith Z, Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay with us. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We are very happy to hear you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay at the ALDEN Luxury Suite Hotel. We are sorry the lighting in the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I stayed here for a conference mid-November and was delighted by the service, rooms, and facilities. The hotel itself is pricey but certainly as good, if not quite a bit better, than the other more common equivalently priced hotels. The mini-bar was complimentary (excluding alcohol which was an extra charge) and it was topped up with yummy foods daily including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay with us. Your feedback is of our highest importance as we try to improve our service daily. We are very happy to hear you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay at the ALDEN Luxury Suite Hotel. Your words about our staff make us very... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Hi i stayed with my family at the Alden for a whole week . Although the rooms were spacious and comfortable the housekeeping was a far cry from a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival we had asked for extra liquid shower gel (as there was only one) we were told the hotel ran out of them. After 2 days we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, responded to this review

Dear Maurice Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay with us at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel. Every bathroom and guest toilet in each suite is equipped with a soap bar, shower gel, shampoo, hair conditioner and body lotion. Our housekeeping staff checks the bathrooms daily and normally replaces the mentioned items if needed. On... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question