We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ascot

Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ascot
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    77
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
58
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Brussels
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You wouldn't expect such a Hotel in Zurich, but yes it's possible, no AC and no Wifi. Not that AC is necessary because of the typical tropical Switzerland weather, but when is above 30 with 95% humidity and you're on a business trip, meaning wearing a suit, AC is really appreciated, and expected to be kind of standard nowadays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Night after night I was absolutely miserable because their so-called air-conditioning is a little bit of room-temperature air barely flowing through a slit in the wall. The only reason I decided in the end to give 3 stars even though it was nightmarish in the Zurich summer is because I found out that this is really average and typical for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear Binyamin8 Many thanks for your honest feedback on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to read that your stay with us was not satisfied. It is indeed unusually warm these days in Zurich. Unfortunately, as most of the A/C’s in Zurich, has reached its limits during last day’s temperatures. Again thank you very much for your constructive feedback, we take this... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ascot is roughly 2 kms or 1.2 mi away from the Zuruch Main station. The happenings and activities and major attractions in almost all cities in Switzerland happen around its train stations, may be because the station or the railways are really the lifeline of this country. For all your travels anywhere, anytime, SBB or Swiss Rail is your best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear guest Anzjain Many thanks for your recent stay at the Hotel Ascot and for sharing your opinion with us. We do hope we can welcome you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future. Yours sincerely, Christian Frei General Manager More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here many times over the years. It used to be great but these days it's tired. Small bathroom , the air conditioning is useless it was 30*c plus, and the wifi is hopeless in the rooms, worst I have come across in a 4 star hotel. The only good thing is the location but it's my last time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear Guest Henry5th Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with us. We are truly sorry that your stay was not satisfied. In recent days, it was extremely hot in Zurich and our A/C system, which is not designed for these temperatures, has sometimes reached its limits. We're extremely sorry that this was the... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Hotel in Zurich, A great location, you can walk to the old town or take a train from the station near the hotel. Last-floor room with a nice balcony, no view, but a nice evening with a glass of wine and relax in clear air. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious. Excellent breakfast and delicious, varied selection of food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear guest Yossi S Thank you so much for your flattering feedback. We are delighted to read that we could meet your expectations and appreciate your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we would be pleased to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Christian Frei Hotelier More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positively surprised. Stayed in a suite which was clean, spacious and affordable (stayed on a weekend). Very positive was the satff at reception but also at the bar, the restaurant, well in general. super friendly. had a 20 minth old with us and pampered by staff, too. seldom these days to face so much child friendliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear guest WARSICS Thank you very much for your positive and friendly feedback. The entire team would be very pleased to welcome you back to Zurich and the Ascot. Yours sincerely Christian Frei More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is average but is ideally located to take in the beauty of Zurich. It's writhing walking distance of Lake Zurich and Bahnhofstrasse, one of the most exclusive shopping streets in the world and across the street fromZurich Enge train station. The food was also average. The hotel and room felt quite small as a whole. Very very expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ajizay Thank you very much for taking the time and writing about your stay with us. We are truly sorry that your stay was not satisfied. Please be assured that I will discuss you points with my team. We hope you give us the chance to prove that we can do better. Yours sincerely Christian Frei Hotelier More 

Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Considering we were a group of 3, In some of the photos of the bedrooms, some double bed rooms were big enough to fit additional furniture but we were given a standard size with additional single bed in.The first floor seems to be dedicated to business visitors so I assume those images are for those rooms. The location is great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear Guest 0018 Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel Ascot, as well as sending us an e-mail. Feedbacks like yours help us, to improve our level of service continuously. First of all we would like to apologize about the misunderstanding with the milk. This is clearly not the standard of our... More 

Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Awful experience! Lack of politeness and just like that , " I am sorry you are staying in a apartment nearby...." Even when my room was payed and booking confirmed one month in advance....Lot of dust in the supposed "lovely apartment" and a smell like old, not to mention working and construction going on from 7:00 in the surroundings....Not even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear Guest HFGloria First of all we would like to apologize that you feel that your stay was not satisfied. It is true, that due to an unexpected overbooking we had reserved you an apartment in our 4 stars Jenatsch Apartments which is just around the corner of Hotel Ascot. We are truly sorry to read, that you feel that... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

I was here on business and fond the hotel great, staff very friendly and when I asked for an extra pillow it appeared straight away, location is great just a short walk to the harbour the rooms could do with AC but there is plenty of windows that open

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christian F, Inhaber at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review

Dear guest Garry C Many thanks for posting this great review on Tripadvisor.com. We would be pleased to welcome you back to Zurich and the Ascot in the very near future. Kind regards Christian Frei Hotelier More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Engimatt
#45 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#68 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay