We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Hotel St. Gotthard

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Gotthard to your Saves list
Hotel St. Gotthard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #41 of 123 hotels in Zurich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014
HarryEncinitas_CA San Diego, California
  • Reviews (494)
  • Photos (112)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    149
    92
    37
    27
See reviews for
55
130
66
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Gotthard
See the most recent reviews
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Liked room 216 ... Update very well done, Hotel convenient to all and definitely improved in accommodation and service since last visit. Highly recommended for short or long stay. Be wary of additional costs for full breakfast - not too clearly differentiated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear HarryEncinitas_CA, Welcome back and thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you felt improvements since your last visit. Our goal is to constantly increase our service and quality. We are looking very much forward to your next visit. Kind regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everything about our stay here was wonderful. The location is perfect, the staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was amazing. It was the largest hotel room, we have ever had. It was the St. Gotthard Suite and had two bathrooms, three sitting areas, and a conference table in a separate room. One bathroom had a sauna in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Jean F, thank you very much for your wonderful evaluation at Tripadvisor. You make us very proud when you enjoyed so much your stay in our St. Gotthard Suite. In fact, it is the biggest Suite offered in Hotels at Bahnhofstrasse. We hope to welcome you soon again and remain with best regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location, but everything about the hotel was small and rather unforgettable. Room was very small and included a single bed. Air con in the room didn't work, and even after I alerted the front desk, nothing was done about it. Bathroom was best part of the room...shower was excellent. Unlikely I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear floricuse, Thank you very much for your evaluation at Tripadvisor. We are very sorry, that you did not like your room too much. Unfortunately in winter time our air condition is turned off because we are heating our rooms. If the room is too hot, we recommend to graduate or turn off the heating and open the window. All... More

Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My company sent me to the St. Gotthard Hotel in Zürich. Nice, modern room, comfortable shower. I had some problems with my note book - internet access. I was assited by very helpfull staff at the reception. Free Wi-fi access in all areas, restaurants included. Dinner in the restaurant with live pianist. I had a lobster soup and the "Zürich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Ariiana05, Thank you very much for your excellent comment at Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know, that your stay with us was so satisfying and your compliments will be passed on to our staff. We look very much forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards Martin Santschi General Director More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I wrote a critical comment on that hotel last year. My comment contained two parts: one about a problem with the way in which that Hotel charged my VISA, and the other part about the non-convivialty of some people working there at the terrace outside and at the front desk. I am happy to report that the first problem was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Francois L, Thank you very much for coming back to us regarding the former Tripadvisor comment. We are very happy that we could resolve the monetary issues to your entire satisfaction. Regarding the behavior of some staff we have taken some action. We look very much forward to your next visit. Kind regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Alcossebre, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Perfect location and staff. We stayed in a junior suite. Spacious and comfortable room. Good housekeeping. Marvelous bathroom with all amenities. Quick check-in. Very good soundproofing. A great Hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear ASUNCION B, Thank you very much for this great evaluation at Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly will pass on the compliments to our staff. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A famous traditional hotel in a perfect location, right in the city near the railway station. Very friendly and helpful staff, quick check-in. Although recently partially renovated, it remains a hotel with old structures. The grouting in the bathroom is not fresh, shower in the bath with a unpleasant handset, not clean: hairs from the previous occupant and there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Robbert007, Thank you very much for your detailed and honest comment on Tripadvisor. This is how we can change and improve our quality and standard. We are very sorry for the inconveniences regarding your room and we hope you come back to us during your next stay, so we can offer you a better option. Regarding the Lobster &... More

Zollikon
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Since years we host our annual guest-speaker in the St.Gotthard. The central location was our first argument. But all is fine there, never a problem, happy guest. We must not care for anything but reservation & bill. We will come back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Hansj L, We are very thankfull for your excellent comment on Tripadvisor and your time. Our biggest goal is to satisfy the needs of our guests and to constantly improve the quality and service. Please visit us again soon so we can hopefully continue with our standards and making you happy. Best regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My Husband and I have been traveling in Switzerland. We got exactly what we were expecting! We got to this great Hotel and i can only say that it was our best choice! Very helpful people at the front, very nice and confortable rooms and great food! I can only recommend this wonderful hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Suizza44, Thank you very much for the excellent comment at Tripadvisor and your time. It makes us proud to know, that we satisfied your needs which made your trip so pleasant. We will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff. We are looking very much forward to your next visit. Warm regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My company sent me to this hotel. Nice room (modern with all the necessary amenitites), friendly service and great location. this hotel is just in front of the railway station. Nice French Restaurant with seafood of very high quality and very friendly service. The breakfast buffet offers very good quality, the decoration of this restaurant -wintergarden does not fit with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mike L, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Tripadivor. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our service, location and our dinner at the Lobster & Oyster Bar. The italian Manzoni Bar offers the best coffees and capuccinos and we are happy you had a taste of it. Looking forward to welcome you soon.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#20 Family Hotel in Zurich #23 Romantic Hotel in Zurich #24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich #53 Business Hotel in Zurich
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
139

See which rooms travelers prefer