We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 122 Zurich hotels

Hotel St. Gotthard

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Hotel St. Gotthard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Gotthard to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #53 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lara_Larissa2014 Lucerne, Switzerland
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    159
    99
    37
    28
See reviews for
62
135
66
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (516)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great idea to let you touch summertime again, being invited to pleasant and delicious atmosphere of Iberian cuisine.Big variety of Spanish and Portugal starters, fine paella and tortilla, melting fish dishes.... Dessert remain you speechless - so testy :) Le Chef Filipe Alloin made a great introduction to his dishes. Hope my friends still get a chance to be part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Lara_Larissa2014 Many thanks for passing your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard. We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience of the Iberian Week and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Rest assured that your review has been passed on to the staff... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel has improved and been refurbished recently. Rooms are large and comfortable although some of the furniture and fittings are a little quirky but not in a negative way. Location is excellent and 50 metres from the entrance to the main station with a tram stop right outside on the main Zurich shopping street. Food is reasonable, but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear P knowles, thank your for your kind comment and we are very glad, that you appreciate our location and service. We have 3 different Restaurant offers: the fine Dining French Restaurant "Oyster- & Lobsterbar, open also in the afternoons), the Lobby Bistro and Terrace Piazzetta with an international offer at midd-level Price and the italian coffee-bar "Manzoni" with quick... More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The St. Gotthard hotel is located in Zurich downtown at the main street where the best stores and services are located and only few steps from the train station (bahnhof). It´s very easy to move anywhere around the city walking or by tram. The quality of the the room is ok, nothiing special but the shower is good and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Triago P Thank you for the positive feedback of your recent visit to the Hotel St. Gotthard. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location, room and breakfast buffet and will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff. We sincerely wish to host you again and welcome you back so that we may exceed your expectations. With... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in this hotel to visit Zurich. The room was big enough for two and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean, but the shower did not work properly. We recommend this hotel as it is near (5min by walk) the train station and located in the downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear lionel d Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and your recent stay at Hotel St. Gotthard. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. We apologize most sincerely for the shortcomings which you faced in terms of... More

Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel is on the popular shopping road Hofbahnstrasse, and is 5 minutes from the train station.Mahmoud greeted us at the Front Desk, and was very charming. We found that our AC was not working, and after 3 visits by employees, it was decided to offer us another room( not able to get the ac working).We therefore schlepped all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear CONES333, Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you appreciate our location in the city center and near the railwaystation. Unfortunatelly we had a large refurbishment of our world famous “Bahnhofstreet” during night time that now is finished. We are very sorry an apologize for this inconvenient. We would very much offer you during... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is very good, it is very close to the station as well as the main shopping street. We had no horrible experience with the service and were annoyed with the attitude of the staff. To begin with, there was a goof up with our booking as they had booked only one room instead of two.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear K87M Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel St. Gotthard for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to give us your honest feedback through Tripadvisor. As much as we are delighted to learn that you like our location so much, as much we feel deeply disturbed to hear that you had such a bad... More

Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location, just a few meters from the famous "Bahnhofstrasse" and in walking distance to all the places in down town. Very clean rooms, have everything you need for short stay, insulated windows. Fantastic mattresses. Friendly staff especially alle the concierges. I am a returning customer now for three years already.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Patrizia K Thank you for the positive feedback of your recent visit to the Hotel St. Gotthard in Zurich. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again due to the location, rooms and staff. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel based upon the location close to the train station, which was admittedly convenient. However I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The first room we were given stunk of sewage. Like really badly. So we went down to the front desk to request a different room. The receptionist then proceeded to tell us we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Rj4040 Thank you for your visit at the Hotel St. Gotthard and your sincere feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. We were deeply disturbed to learn about your room experiences at our hotel. We are fully booked these days so that obviously our front desk could not offer you a better room than a smokers room. Regarding... More

Dubai
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived and staff was very courteous, specially Mr. Sadiq. he seemed professional and courteous. Had read that property had been refurbished but did not seem very updated from the moment you walk in. Our room was Ok in size, but seemed not updated at all. The room was still the old style as it has carpet. As I always say,c... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear ArBy777 Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel St. Gotthard and for having taken the time to share your impression on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services is extremely important to us and allows us to monitor and improve our services. We’ll certainly pass on your kind words to Mr. Sadig. Regarding the interior... More

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip, and the location is perfect. 2 minutes from Zurich HB station makes access to the airport very easy. It is right in the central shopping area if that's your interest, and the 'touristy' old town is 5-10 minutes walk away. The room I had was small, but had a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear CCW1972 Thank you for your comment at Tripadvisor and your recent stay with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us and allows us to monitor and improve our services. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us and especially appreciated our location and room. Regarding our pillows we offer various types of inlays... More

Do you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay