We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Hotel St. Gotthard

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Gotthard to your Saves list
Hotel St. Gotthard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #43 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    140
    87
    34
    26
See reviews for
48
116
63
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the location of this place is just perfect! everything is just walking distance. be it the shopping district, be it the railway station, be it the top rated restaurants. the rooms are quite large and comfortable. the staff is also very courteous and friendly. would recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to plan a stay in zurich. cannot go wrong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Jai B Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel St. Gotthard for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to give us feedback through Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you especially appreciated our location, the size of rooms and the attentiveness of our staff. Your opinion is very important to indicate if we... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been here for three days. Each night has been a noisy torment or an inconvenience. Drunken people on the street singing loudly, a police officer under my window talking on his radio to dispatch, the street sweeper at 4:30 am, the sound of linens being rolled into the hotel in large wheeled bins, the sound of something that sounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Hokulanigirl Thank you very much for your detailed comment at Tripadvisor and your stay at Hotel St. Gotthard. We deeply regret that your stay with us was disturbed so badly through noise. Very rarely we recieve complaints about it, due to our double glazed windows. Additionaly we had a technical problem with our aircondition, which certainly did not make... More

Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a location just on Bahnhofstrasse, within 2 minutes walking distance from the station. The rooms are good and the personell are friendly and nice. Within the facilities you can find a restaurant specialized in lobsers and oysters. Very high class and with nice atmosphere. A hotel that is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear karsiyakali_eatl Thank you very much for your nice comment at Tripadvisor and for staying at Hotel St. Gotthard. We are very happy, that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and your trip to Zurich. Indeed you have every beautiful and important sightseeing aspect in walking distance or it is accessible within few minutes. Our renovated rooms with... More

Izmir
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With my wife, we had one and half day in Zurich before leaving for Basel in July 2013 and thus we selected to stay in St.Gotthard since it is located in the main shopping street, banhnhostrasse. The hotel is a little bir old fashioned but has very good quality. You can reach main point of interest by walking, to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear karsiyakali_eatl Thank you very much for your nice comment at Tripadvisor and for staying at Hotel St. Gotthard. We are very happy, that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and your trip to Zurich. Indeed you have every beautiful and important sightseeing aspect in walking distance or it is accessible within few minutes. Our renovated rooms with... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is extremely convenient to train station and trams. Rooms very nicely appointed and upgraded. Beds were very firm - needed to sleep on comforter with a light blanket to make it more comfortable. Stocked Mini fridge in room did not cool - room temperature at best. Saw some reviews about street noise. We had outside room on BahnofStrasse and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear JayhawkKirkland Thank you for your detailed comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you liked our location and that you comment that the noise is not important when the double isolated windows are closed. We are very sorry that your bed was too hard and the Mini fridge did not cool. That helps us to fix all technical... More

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you very much for the lovely stay. It was my first time in St.gotthard and like it very much. Staff was great. We could choose between two diffrent room types. We choose a room to the street side with a balcony room number 337. In Manzoni Bar i had one of the best italian coffee and a very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Taylan E, Thank you very much for the time to write your great experience in the St. Gotthard on TripAdvisor. We are glad to offer different room types: “oriental”, “design”, “classic”, “deluxe”, Junior Suites and Grand Suite (with 84m2 the biggest on the Bahnhofstreet). Thank you for mentioning the good quality of the coffee and cuba libre in the... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a serious 3-star feel to it all over I think I was in one of the renovated rooms, on the 5th floor overlooking the trams. It was noisy even at that height. For CHF 330 / night, this is not something I would ever like to repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear TravellorwithKids, Thank you very much for the time spent in order to write your comments on TripAdvisor. During the last few years all our rooms were renovated and we offer now an “oriental room type” and a “design room type”. All our windows facing on the Bahnhofstreet are double isolated. Your remarks help us to improve our service every... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at the St Gotthard before but it seems to me that quality/service has gone down materially. I find it incredible that a 4* hotel doesn't have a gym but tell you they can get you into one next door for CHF25!! Breakfast is also very average - you are better off going out for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Alejandro D, thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you are not pleased with the fact, that we don’t provide a gym and never did. The outsourced option for CHF 25,- around the corner is bye the way rather inexpensive for local standards, located on a higher roof top with a magnificent view... More

Milano
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Nice hotel - good location. However, rooms facing Bahnhofstrasse are incredibly noisy due to tram traffic starting at 4.00 am! Room windows are not soundproofed (no triple glass). Impossible to get a good nights sleep! Would never stay here again. Surprising hotel has not fixed this problem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear skierMilano, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We're very sorry that you did not sleep well due to road noise. Our newly renovated windows are double glazed on the side of the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse and the rooms air-conditioned. On your next visit, we recommend a room facing the courtyard. Best Regards Martin Santschi director More

San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Liked room 216 ... Update very well done, Hotel convenient to all and definitely improved in accommodation and service since last visit. Highly recommended for short or long stay. Be wary of additional costs for full breakfast - not too clearly differentiated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear HarryEncinitas_CA, Welcome back and thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you felt improvements since your last visit. Our goal is to constantly increase our service and quality. We are looking very much forward to your next visit. Kind regards Martin Santschi General Manager More

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.