We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Gotthard

Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel St. Gotthard
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    187
    142
    69
    21
    16
See reviews for
66
131
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (435)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has a really good location very close to the main train station and 10 mins away from the lake. The receptionists are friendly and helpful especially Fransciska :) However, the rooms are very small but it wouldn't really matter if ur going to spend most of the day out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is perfect and while in a busy area of the city, we found our room on the first floor was surprisingly quiet. In fact it was fun looking out on the street activity. Our room was an upgraded one and we enjoyed our pleasant room. The room was very clean and had good amenities. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear ChristchurchStewards, we are very proud that you, as aTop Contributor of Tripadvisor, took the time to write your Feedback. Thank you very much for recommending us. We are very glad that you appreciated our double isolated windows in the rooms, facing to the world famous Bahnhofstreet, to assure a quied stay to our guests. Your motivating comments about our... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights and found it too expensive and having little if any welcome / personal contact with the staff. we tried to contact them six times over a four hour period to say that we would be late but no one answered the phone. It had been "modernised" recently - unfortunately in a cheap and gaudy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Philip R, thank you for your review and the time you have taken to inform us about your experience with us. We are very sorry, that your phone calls were not answered. There must have been a technical problem because our reception - telephone service attends 24h a day. Thanks to your information we can check our phone system.... More 

Jeddah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel One of the main concerns to us was the Location. If you are planning to visit outside Zurich and go on tours, the location is PERFECT. It is only a minute walk from the main station and 5 minutes walk from the excursions area where you can take many tours in Zurich and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear xxSushixx, Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadivsor and recommending our location, in the very city centre of Zurich.We are very sorry that you did not like the asian design and would certainly upgrade you during a next stay with us in a deluxe design room.. In our Hotel you can find a choice of different... More 

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is located at a very convenient location, right in between the Zurich Hauptbahnhof and the world famous Bahnhofstrasse. They have just completed their renovation and the rooms feel new, for me. The best part, albeit a small one, was the personalized greeting when you switch on the TV. So that was a nice touch. It's very quiet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear two5kid, thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you liked our personalized welcome message on the TV screen. It is our goal to offer ot our customers a personalized service in our hotel. We highly appreciate that you mentioned our perfect location directly at the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, 2 minutes from the railwailstation and in... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Newly renovated hotel. Quiet & Cozy, despite being on the main shopping area. Very clean & comfortable beds. Good powerful hot / cold showers. We were there during a very hot summer, our initial room was quite warm, upon complain they immediately upgraded us. Bellboy was very helpful. Location excellent, right in front of Zurich HB station, Shopping & Eateries.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Vinod S, thank your taking the time to write your important review about the Hotel and its important surrounding for shopping, Transportation and sightseeing. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and with pleasure we forward your positive comments to our staff. $ We higly appreciate your recommendations and are looking forward to welcoming you... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in June with my Family. We had 2 x interconnecting rooms on the top floor, level 5. The rooms are not very big like most European hotels but they were neat, clean and quite modern. The Hotel itself is in an excellent location about 100 metres to the main train station and a 5 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear PaulPSydney, Thank you very much for investing your time to give us your positive feedback concerning your last stay in June at our Hotel. We are very happy that you found our recently renovated rooms neat, clean and quite modern. All our guests appreciate very much also the location of our hotel. We are looking forward welcoming you back... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a night on 15th July with family. The aircon in the room was not working. Complaints to the front desk resulted in a bell boy to come and check at 9.30 pm. Till 10.30 pm, the problem was not resolved. Front office staff says they will give a new room but cannot shift extra bed. I agreed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mr Rahul, Thank you very much for taking your time and your feedback about your last visit at our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was not satisfactory due to the insufficient Aircon despite all our efforts.   As you might know Zurich have never had a summer over 33/35C during 3 weeks. We were faced with... More 

Singapore, Singapore
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel St Gotthard in Feb 2015. We had wonderful service andthe rooms were very good and large. The staff was very helpful and always willing to go that extra mile to help. We would definitely go back to Zurich and Hotel St Gotthard

Was this review helpful? Yes
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Tripso1, Thank you very much for your positive and encouraging feedback from your last stay in February. Your nice words will be forwarded to our staff. We are very happy that you found our room very good and large. We thank you also again for your time and hope very much welcoming you back at our hotel with your... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. Our room was the Queen Room - one queen bed. The room was quite small but comfortable. Extremely clean ( Saba, the lady that cleaned our room deserves a raise) with all of the amenities a guest needs. Great, great location and a wonderful staff. Good price for Switzerland.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jmmcruz, We thank you very much for your time any your valuable feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. Your positive and motivating words about our staff and of course about Mrs Saba will be forwarded. We understand that missing of drawers in our queen bedded double rooms have irritated you a little bit. Please do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#31 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#59 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay