We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Zic Zac Rock Hotel

1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 17, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Zic Zac Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Zic Zac Rock Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
31%
Ranked #115 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    37
    34
    42
See reviews for
3
18
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The room is considered the cheapest for Zurich living standard. Everywhere is near by, get yourself a bicycle and you can roam around the city for 3 days! Be careful of the flooring though, it's squeaky. The walls are pretty thin and pubs downstairs can be pretty noisy at night, esp weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've been staying in youth hostels for over a week now. I booked Zic-Zac so that I could have a break and stay in a private room for a couple of nights before returning to the multiple beds in one room format. You share a bathroom, but its clean and not far away. The bed is comfortable, room has towels,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montpellier, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First of all Zic Zac Rock Hotel looked more like a Hostel. My room was ridiculously small, under the room ( all the neighbourg could see the inside !), and very very very old. The sink was just next to my bed and all the furniture looked dusty and really cheap ( and not very well conserved). The room basically... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

.... and you have to treat it as such, go with the flow, laugh at how bad some of it is and generally stay cool and remember that Switzerland is an expensive country in which to live and to visit and for the ZZRs excellent location in central Zurich (Old Town) it is convenient and cheap! I have stayed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

well having stayed at hostels before, i believe, with the price that i paid, n considering the fact that it was Switzerland n Zurich on top, where things are expensive, i guess its pretty decent , i hve no complaints as such...!! its my second stay here in 2 years things are pretty much the same ...!!! the location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here with 2 female friends as we were on a very tight budget while on a trip to switzerland for work. well, there's a reason it's cheap! the floors slope so badly that you're leaning all the time and the beds moved. the room was a fair size but was dirty and smelly. not to mention the constant noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

When going to Zurich during my long eurotrip I carefully studied all the reviews about this hotel (mostly negative) but anyway decided to book it, it simply was the cheapest offer in such an expensive city. "Maybe it's not that bad", I thought. But yeah, it was THAT bad and even worse. Single room was awfully small and completely ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The worst hotel I've stayed at ever without question. Paint was peeling from the walls, the rugs were threadbare, the room didn't seem clean, no lamps or other amenities in the room. Our room was nothing like the pictures in the ads. The staff was aggressively unpleasant and unhelpful. I was concerned about the safety of my children. I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I was. No parking near the hotel, so if you are coming by car and equipment of a family You have to go almost half a mile walk with luggage to reach the hotel. The hotel is very old and dirty. There is no correlation between the images of the hotel web sites and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexia H, Verkaufsleiter at Zic Zac Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Der Guest We know that our hotel is a bit old and worn but it's not dirty, as we offer daily housekeeping. Our Hotel is situated in the beautiful Old Town of Zurich which is as well the pedestrian zone of the town. Due to its location there is no parking at the hotel, that's true, but for luggage transportation... More

Been to Zic Zac Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zic Zac Rock Hotel

Also Known As:
Zic Zac Rock zürich
Hotel Zic Zac Rock
Address: Marktgasse 17, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Zic Zac Rock Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st Rock hotel in Switzerland, unpretentious, young & personal atmosphere-unique rooms with Rock Stars themes. Ideal for young people with a small budget who like to stay in the heart of Zurich where you can find loads of bars, restaurants and clubs at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Zic Zac Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zic Zac Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.