We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senator Hotel

Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Senator Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    116
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
60
97
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has an excellent quality/price ratio. The rooms are clean, beds are good and bathrooms are nice. It also has an excellent location. Close to everything in the city. The only thing that i found bad was the guy at the reception. He is really rude and answers any question with 2-3 words. Never ready to help or advise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel has good location, considering commutation. Tram and bus stations are close by. Has parking as well in case you are driving. Not very highly priced either. Now talking about the negatives. We only stayed one night there but the surroundings were very loud and it was tough even sleeping. Also, the rooms were very average but decent. Wifi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy that you have been satisfied overall. Please book our Patio Rooms next time facing the backyard. These rooms are quiet and will provide you a restful sleep. We are happy welcoming you back soon. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has it's own up and downs. On the positive side, the hotel has excellent location, it is only 10 minutes away by tram or 30 min walk from the Zurich central streets and main shopping district such as Bahnhofstrasse. The hotel is situated in the area of many trendy bars and the main cinema complex, so you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed yours stay. With our students we are still in training and we hope to provide you a better service if you stay with us next time. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Phoenix
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through booking.com. We book all of our hotels here. We arrived in mid-July and it was hot, hot, hot! We paid about $101.00 a night for 3 nights. We did not get breakfast, and I recommend that you do not get breakfast as it was very expensive. All food in Zurich is expensive, but I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very very much for this great review. We are happy that you explained this location very well. If you prebook the breakfast it is 20 CHF for an all you can eat buffet which also will satisfy you. Dinner starting from 18 CHF is also quiet cheap but of course if you want to see Zurich... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stay in the hotel with wife and son. Hotel is an old building converted to a hotel. The room smelled terrible, like an old vax museum. The bed had 2 mattresses combined and it was very uncomfortable to sleep. The curtains were not sealing the room properly and we woke up very early because of a strong sunlight.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry that you have not been satisfied with your stay. The hotel will be renovated shortly. Some of the rooms are already refurbished. About the coffee we do not konw what happened but this is not the service we like to provide. We would be happy to get a second chance to make it right. Yours... More 

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located very near to the main station and central part of Zurich. Given the price point, the rooms were tidy, clean, comfortable although a bit small by European standards. The hotel staff were polite and helpful. Although breakfast is not complimentary, we did have dinner and the food was excellent. The walk to the central station is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you have been satisfied with your stay. If your travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room I reserved was a 15 meter square room it said on my confirmation. And on the pictures it appeared to look at least like 15 meters. The truth was, they zoomed in on the pictures and the room size was 10 square meters maximum. It was cramped and claustrophobic. The only window overlooked a row of balconies where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to resond about your recent stay with us. We would be happy if you would let us know on spot if you got a room you did not reserve. We do not have rooms with 10 square meters but of course our single rooms are smaller than our espace rooms.... More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a terrible night at this hotel. When we were sleeping in our room a man came into our room at midnight and wanted to sleep in our room. The hotel does not have any camera and security system, the doors' locks are in an old fashion that no hotel use it todays. The hotel manager was a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment about your stay with us. As we told you on your check out, you should lock your door inside if you are in the room and lock it if you leave your room. Please be informed that we are not able to overlook where other guests go to. If you are at home,... More 

Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The rooms were clean. The triple room is definitely bigger for a family of three. The twin room is rather small. But if you want to just dump your stuff and come back to sleep and take a shower, it doesnt matter. What matters is that this hotel is in the heart of the city, quite nearby to most shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your quick and nice comment. We are happy welcoming you back again if your travel brings you to Zurich. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

I booked online and it was written 4* hotel, the minimum you expect is a " good morning and a clean room". The service was very bad, there were tw persons at the desk, one was busy, the other waited more than 12 minutes before saying even Good morning, she gave us the key, we asked a restauratn near by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. Please let us know where we are mentioned as a four star Hotel, as we are a three star Hotel. This does not matter, because friendlyness and cleanlyness is most important we want to serve with. We are sorry that it did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
1.3 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Zurich City West
0.3 mi away
Ibis Zurich City West
Ibis Zurich City West
#72 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel Zurich City
Ramada Hotel Zurich City
#82 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
#80 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stoller Zurich
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#60 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay