We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Senator Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Senator Hotel to your Saves list
Senator Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
46%
Ranked #92 of 123 hotels in Zurich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014
FYHO Hong Kong, China
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    86
    97
    26
    19
See reviews for
40
67
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Clean and tidy helpful staff near to tram station and a small train station - Zürich Hardbrücke (not Zurich HB main train station), have train access to the airport Far from Zurich HB main train station, for walk, around 20-30 mins quite noisy nearby No free transport card provided in Zurich

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the location. If your travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We chose this hotel for the price and we had a decent stay. The rooms aren't great, but they did the trick. The location was fairly good... There is a tram stop nearby that will take you into town. I didn't feel overly comfortable in the room, but after a long day of traveling, it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are happy welcoming you again when your travel brings you to Zurich. Please book our business rooms if you like to stay in the renovated rooms. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not a luxury residence but clean and serviced well at a fair price for Zurich. No problems with noise especially in rear rooms though only minutes from the station. Good size bath towels provided, some hotels don`t! Great having BBC & ITV TV programmes. I like being able to open hotel bedroom windows too, just for fresh air instead of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. If your travel brings you to our area we are glad to welcome you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

booked on line with no preconceptions, just wanted to be close to travel, there is a tram stop within 50 meters and 5 mins later at the main train station, perfect for us. we didnt eat in hotel, got cheaper breakfast form bakery, although it looked good, as were out each day, the room was kept clean and tidy, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to comment your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you book the rooms to the backyard, it will be quieter. If your travel brings you to this area we are happy welcoming you again. Best regards Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I travelled to Zurich just before Christmas and having read previous positive reviews I decided to book 2 nights at the Senator. Unfortunately upon arrival we were met by a very rude man on the front desk. Our problems continued when our room was full of mould (bathroom tiles, all around the window and by the bed) and the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you had this worse experience which is not acceptable at all. If you travel next time to Zurich we would be happy to welcome you again and meet or exceed your expectations. Best Regards Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We learned very quickly that Zurich is a very expensive city, and The Senator Hotel is one of the most reasonably priced hotels we found. When you walk in, do not expect a chic, trendy lobby. When you get to your room, do not expect beautiful furnishings, luxurious bed linens, or exceptional bath terry. However, carpeting in corridors and sleeping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you chose our hotel. If you book our Pation Bussines Rooms you will have the refurbished rooms. Your explenation about the area and surroundings will be helpful for everyone reading your comment. We like to thank you for... More

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Hotel Senator is reasonably well situated. It is too far to walk to Zurich City centre and the lake area, but the good public transport make it all, including the airport, easy to reach. Zurich is very expensive due to the forex rates, but this hotel offers four star accommodation at a very reasonable price. Be sure to visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay in our hotel, and the explenations about the benefits of our hotel. We are happy welcoming you again. Book directly with us and get 5% discount. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Barcelona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have stayed in Zurich quite often at much more expensive hotels and thought the Senator was extremely adequate. Small rooms but very well maintained and clean. I saw that the breakfast was not adequate but we found it very good. They even had smoked trout. The muesli was the best I have ever had. It is a short walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mara L, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your compliments about cleanlyness and breakfast. If you stay again in Zurich we are happy welcoming you. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

DO NOT stay at this hotel! I stayed recently and found a bottle of urine in the mini bar in a whiskey bottle. We complained to the receptionist who agreed that it was from a human body. We then found 2 other bottles in the fridge had been tampered with and complained again. No compensation was offered and after leaving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, this case was handled in a very professional way at the time of the check out. The claimed bottles where returned by us and not charged on your bill. We checked the bottles which where filled with whiskey as it should have been. Your band has booked several rooms in our hotel and you depredated all minibars. At... More

Camp Springs, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The air conditioners were off for the winter season, however it was still warm outside. Our room was hot, and our only recourse was to open the balcony door and windows, bringing in the Zurich noise. Even with the windows closed, it was still fairly loud with a highway right next door. Other than that, it was clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you where not 100% satisfied with your room. Please ask next time for our Patio rooms. If they are available maybe we can meet or exceed your expectations. We would be happy welcoming you again in our Hotel. Yours Hotel Senator... More

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Also Known As:
Senator Hotel zürich
Address: Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Zürich West, the new trendy district of Zurich, the Senator proposes 122 non-smoking rooms. Parking and Garage are available for 20.- per night. The hotel is reacheable by train in only 8 minutes from the Airport (Train Stop Hardbrücke) and in 2 Minutes from the main Railway station by train.All recently renovated rooms are equipped with •Air conditionning•Free Wifi•Telephone with voice-mail•Bathroom•Cable TV•Pay-TV•Coffee machine or a water boiler•Mini-bar•Large safe•Hairdryer•High speed Internet by Wifi or LAN Restaurant & Pizzeria Senator welcomes you in an easy going atmosphere for lunch or for dinner.5 Meeting rooms for up to 80 persons are at your disposal for your meetings, congresses and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.