We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Senator Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Senator Hotel to your Saves list
Senator Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
48%
Ranked #90 of 123 hotels in Zurich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
RichardBelgium Belgium
  • Overview
  • Reviews (247)
  • Photos (53)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    90
    97
    24
    17
See reviews for
51
73
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is not in walking distance from the city centre but there's a tram at a 2' walk bringing you there in less than 10'. I had a room in the back, so no traffic or other noise. Free wifi in the room. Stocked minibar. Clean bathroom, ok bed and pillows. Strangely enough no night lamps, must be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and like to thank you to explain the location very well. If your travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We a family stayed here for 6 days The hotel is located in a convenient place where travel to city is just 15 minutes by tram 4 , 17 or 13. The reception was attentive for our requests and was helpful. However the housekeeping needs improvements where shampoo and other refilling not done properly . The daily cleaning of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niluka, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy 100% your stay with us. Please let us know next time when cleaning is not done properly as this is the main imporant thing for us. We hope to meet or exceed your expectations... More

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very uninterested staff, terrible breakfast menu - that is if you call it a menu. Very high parking fees, CHF 30 per night (EUR 25). Rooms facing the street are very noisy, the air conditioning is not existent. For a quieter room on the back side you pay extra CHF 20 per night..!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malhar, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overnight as expected. As we mention that the rooms are small and with an extra bed to the street side, and these rooms are sold quiet cheap we are sorry that you have... More

Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a triple room for a day with this hotel. To begin with, the girl at the reception was incredibly rude, probably the worst (and only impolite) staff behaviour I encountered in all my stays across Switzerland. She talked as if she was doing us a favour. After a long journey, that's not something you wanna deal with.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for commenting your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as expected. As friendliness is one of our main important points I would be happy if you inform us by comment card or mail what happened in detail to improve our services. Please do not hesitate to... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a nice surprise. This hotel is clean, 24 hour service, centrally located. Front office staff was helpful, WIFI is free. You can rent a parking spot for about CHF20. Bar closes at 11 already but there are many bars in the area. Restaurant and bar staff was not very attentive. Breakfast does not come cheap (CHF22) but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed our amenities and the friendly staff. At the bakery next door of course you get some food, but not all you can eat at 22 CHF ;-) . We are happy... More

Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is located next to a not so pretty overpass and a cinema which both generate a lot of noise during the night. You could close the window, but then you would need to turn on a rumbling AC unit to keep the temperature bearable. Also the shower was not maintained very well and the hotel itself is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, first of all we like to thank you for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our professional service and staff. Due to the fact that we are located in the "Trend quarter Züri West" on weekends it can happen that it is getting a little bit louder... More

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff where very friendly, the rooms average, but to say this is within walking distance is not true. To walk from the Hotel to the lake is roughly 1 hour - 1/12 hour stroll. In reception they said 15 minutes!! And it's not the prettiest part of Zurich, but the price was reasonable. No milk for tea - even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. Of course the walk to the lake takes about 45 minutes. It could be, that the receptionist ment about 20 minutes to the main station and the first old buildings of Zurich. You... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is well located and not far from the closest tram stop. From there is a short ride to the main train station. There isn't really much around the hotel to do, but this isn't an issue as you can just hop on a tram to get to the station, shopping district and lake Secure parking is also available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, wow, thank you very much for your detailed and nice comments about our hotel. We are happy that you explained the property and location very well. Of course breakfast arround the corner is cheaper, but not for "all you can eat" :-) . We are happy welcoming you back at your next Zurich Trip. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This a very nice hotel located located reasonably close to the city centre and very close to a tram stop. Nice spacious rooms and very helpful staff. We were a family that was very comfortable at the hotel. There are quite a few bars and restaurants around this place as well. I noticed that the hotel responds to reviews so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and our restaurant. As the autorisathion is released at the same day by the hotel, it takes some time by the credit card company to get you the money back.... More

Boksburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. It was well maintained, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was outstanding with good service when we dined there but were not prepared to pay an extra €22 each for breakfast. A problem we had though, was that we booked our room through booking.com and the hotel reserved the room rate from our Visa card.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the stay and feel sorry that the blocked amount of your credit card was not released with the charge. We will check this with our credit company that it will not happen again. If your travel... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Senator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Address: Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel zürich

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Zurich with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Heart of Zürich West, the new trendy district of Zurich, the Senator proposes 122 non-smoking rooms. Parking and Garage are available for 20.- per night. The hotel is reacheable by train in only 8 minutes from the Airport (Train Stop Hardbrücke) and in 2 Minutes from the main Railway station by train.All recently renovated rooms are equipped with •Air conditionning•Free Wifi•Telephone with voice-mail•Bathroom•Cable TV•Pay-TV•Coffee machine or a water boiler•Mini-bar•Large safe•Hairdryer•High speed Internet by Wifi or LAN Restaurant & Pizzeria Senator welcomes you in an easy going atmosphere for lunch or for dinner.5 Meeting rooms for up to 80 persons are at your disposal for your meetings, congresses and banquets. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Senator Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer