We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senator Hotel

Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Senator Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    115
    129
    35
    23
See reviews for
63
98
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (335)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for two nights ... The rooms were just fine ... My parents found a sanitary pad thrown in the bed of their toilet after checking in. Otherwise the hotel is clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. The hotel is close to the tram. Wifi was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was nice. If you love to eat outside all the time then this is a best place because this hotel is surrounded with tons of restaurants. Tram is just on the corner which can take you in 9 minutes to the railways station. We had two rooms one was normal and mine was extra huge WOW : )... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and found it very good for getting around by bus to see the great city of Zurich. The room was very clean and neat and the staff members were courteous. Breakfast was extra and there were enough restaurants in teh vicinity. The price was reasonable but I would prefer to stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. As we improved our services we would be happy if you would visit us again and comment on friendlyness. Best regards Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has an excellent quality/price ratio. The rooms are clean, beds are good and bathrooms are nice. It also has an excellent location. Close to everything in the city. The only thing that i found bad was the guy at the reception. He is really rude and answers any question with 2-3 words. Never ready to help or advise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you have been satisfied overall. The man you are mention does not work anymore with us due to his working attitude. We are sorry that this had a bed influence in your comments and would be happy if... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Hotel has good location, considering commutation. Tram and bus stations are close by. Has parking as well in case you are driving. Not very highly priced either. Now talking about the negatives. We only stayed one night there but the surroundings were very loud and it was tough even sleeping. Also, the rooms were very average but decent. Wifi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy that you have been satisfied overall. Please book our Patio Rooms next time facing the backyard. These rooms are quiet and will provide you a restful sleep. We are happy welcoming you back soon. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This hotel has it's own up and downs. On the positive side, the hotel has excellent location, it is only 10 minutes away by tram or 30 min walk from the Zurich central streets and main shopping district such as Bahnhofstrasse. The hotel is situated in the area of many trendy bars and the main cinema complex, so you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed yours stay. With our students we are still in training and we hope to provide you a better service if you stay with us next time. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

One night stay in the hotel with wife and son. Hotel is an old building converted to a hotel. The room smelled terrible, like an old vax museum. The bed had 2 mattresses combined and it was very uncomfortable to sleep. The curtains were not sealing the room properly and we woke up very early because of a strong sunlight.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry that you have not been satisfied with your stay. The hotel will be renovated shortly. Some of the rooms are already refurbished. About the coffee we do not konw what happened but this is not the service we like to provide. We would be happy to get a second chance to make it right. Yours... More 

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The hotel is located very near to the main station and central part of Zurich. Given the price point, the rooms were tidy, clean, comfortable although a bit small by European standards. The hotel staff were polite and helpful. Although breakfast is not complimentary, we did have dinner and the food was excellent. The walk to the central station is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you have been satisfied with your stay. If your travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More 

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

The room I reserved was a 15 meter square room it said on my confirmation. And on the pictures it appeared to look at least like 15 meters. The truth was, they zoomed in on the pictures and the room size was 10 square meters maximum. It was cramped and claustrophobic. The only window overlooked a row of balconies where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to resond about your recent stay with us. We would be happy if you would let us know on spot if you got a room you did not reserve. We do not have rooms with 10 square meters but of course our single rooms are smaller than our espace rooms.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

we had a terrible night at this hotel. When we were sleeping in our room a man came into our room at midnight and wanted to sleep in our room. The hotel does not have any camera and security system, the doors' locks are in an old fashion that no hotel use it todays. The hotel manager was a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment about your stay with us. As we told you on your check out, you should lock your door inside if you are in the room and lock it if you leave your room. Please be informed that we are not able to overlook where other guests go to. If you are at home,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
1.3 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Zurich City West
0.3 mi away
Ibis Zurich City West
Ibis Zurich City West
#71 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Stoller Zurich
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#62 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
#81 of 133 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel Zurich City
Ramada Hotel Zurich City
#78 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay