We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senator Hotel

4.0 of 5 Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Senator Hotel
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    93
    100
    25
    18
See reviews for
51
76
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (257)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well appointed and provides an okay breakfast. The eggs and tomatoes were top notch. This hotel is a short tram ride from the city (train station) or a 20 minute walk. Unfortunately the two of us have never had a worse night sleep. The linen was too heavy for the autumn season and the bed had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there only one night, and i found the room clean, bathroom ok. I stayed on the back of hotel, 5 floor so it was very quiet. We didnt eat because the breakfast was very expensive, 22chf Per person. Parking also expensive 20 CHF . Relative Close to city center, but i did not recomend to walk from here to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a 24hr stop over in Zurich and chose the Senator Hotel to stay in. I arrived early in the morning and they allowed me to store my luggage behind reception. The staff were very friendly and directed me on how to get into the main part of the city, which was roughly a 10min tram ride away. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are pure vegetarian during the breakfast we unable to have the meal from buffet because the spoon they used mixed with non veg and veg meal, for the special case we have requested the seperate plate for veg meal from one of the staff he regred our request and ask us to wait till the chef come and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel is not in walking distance from the city centre but there's a tram at a 2' walk bringing you there in less than 10'. I had a room in the back, so no traffic or other noise. Free wifi in the room. Stocked minibar. Clean bathroom, ok bed and pillows. Strangely enough no night lamps, must be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and like to thank you to explain the location very well. If your travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Hotel Senator Team More

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We a family stayed here for 6 days The hotel is located in a convenient place where travel to city is just 15 minutes by tram 4 , 17 or 13. The reception was attentive for our requests and was helpful. However the housekeeping needs improvements where shampoo and other refilling not done properly . The daily cleaning of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niluka, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy 100% your stay with us. Please let us know next time when cleaning is not done properly as this is the main imporant thing for us. We hope to meet or exceed your expectations... More

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very uninterested staff, terrible breakfast menu - that is if you call it a menu. Very high parking fees, CHF 30 per night (EUR 25). Rooms facing the street are very noisy, the air conditioning is not existent. For a quieter room on the back side you pay extra CHF 20 per night..!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malhar, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overnight as expected. As we mention that the rooms are small and with an extra bed to the street side, and these rooms are sold quiet cheap we are sorry that you have... More

Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had booked a triple room for a day with this hotel. To begin with, the girl at the reception was incredibly rude, probably the worst (and only impolite) staff behaviour I encountered in all my stays across Switzerland. She talked as if she was doing us a favour. After a long journey, that's not something you wanna deal with.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for commenting your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as expected. As friendliness is one of our main important points I would be happy if you inform us by comment card or mail what happened in detail to improve our services. Please do not hesitate to... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a nice surprise. This hotel is clean, 24 hour service, centrally located. Front office staff was helpful, WIFI is free. You can rent a parking spot for about CHF20. Bar closes at 11 already but there are many bars in the area. Restaurant and bar staff was not very attentive. Breakfast does not come cheap (CHF22) but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed our amenities and the friendly staff. At the bakery next door of course you get some food, but not all you can eat at 22 CHF ;-) . We are happy... More

Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is located next to a not so pretty overpass and a cinema which both generate a lot of noise during the night. You could close the window, but then you would need to turn on a rumbling AC unit to keep the temperature bearable. Also the shower was not maintained very well and the hotel itself is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, first of all we like to thank you for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our professional service and staff. Due to the fact that we are located in the "Trend quarter Züri West" on weekends it can happen that it is getting a little bit louder... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Address: Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel zürich

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay