We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

#37 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    607
    657
    169
    32
    22
See reviews for
152
692
185
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1487)
  • Mar-May only
    (355)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (428)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (394)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (310)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First, I have to say that if I could, I'd give it 3.5 instead of 3. We arrived fairly early and had no trouble finding the hotel. We were told the room wasn't ready yet but after going to the bathroom to get changed, they came to see us in the lobby, as we were heading out to tell us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Vacationtriptraveler, Thank you for your 3.5 :) Great that you had overall an enjoyable stay with us. For your next stay I recommend you to reserve one of our spacious Superior Rooms. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travel alone, which is great fun, but you often get the worst rooms and to add insult to injury you get charged a single room supplement or you have to pay the full price as if two people were staying in the room. This hotel had the best single room I have ever stayed in. It was a decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Flybywyre, Great that you were so happy with our Single Rooms. We did put some thought in it, when these rooms were equipped. Limited space with an efficient set up. Most certainly our room types available are not limited to Single Rooms. In case you decide not to travel alone the next time. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel location is in a walking distance to city center, the room size was great, the receptionist was polite and very helpful. The hotel is highly recommended, I rented a car and this hotel offers parking for 30 Swiss frank. The hotel is nearby a coop which is a supermarket that offers grocery items at lower rates. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Grüezi Abdulaziz A, Thank you for your kind feedback and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. See you hopefully soon again. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Florida
Level Contributor
473 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Large spacious room (Superior Double) with A/C---important since Switzerland was in a heat wave when we were there and many hotels didn't have A/C. Bed very comfortable with duvets bottom and top. Bathroom expansive withlarge walkin shower with 2 types of showerheads-- wall mount and overhead rain shower type. Nice selection of amenities as well. Breakfast had a wide selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Grüezi jaybeeFL, Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. Great that you enjoyed your stay. This summer was indeed very hot for Swiss measures - number of days with nearly 40° C (104 Fahrenheit). Sorry for the mixed experience you had during breakfast - even or especially with a lot of guests in the restaurant, the service has... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Zurich is expensive, there's no doubt about it and finding good value for money is virtually impossible, but I believe that this hotel is as close as you'll get. The reception staff are outstanding, the hotel is immaculate and even though I had only a single room, it was surprisingly large for a European room and the bathroom was spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Grüezi Catherine G, Excellent review! Thank you so much. Yes, Zurich is definitely a bit on the expensive side - therefore we are even more happy about your kind feedback. We always strive to create value for our guests. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very conveniently located to Zurich Central station and also the coach terminal where the buses leave from for day trips. Easy walk to the Old Town and Lake Zurich. The hotel staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Grüezi BrisbaneRD, Thank you so much for your kind review. Highly appreciated. See you hopefully soon again. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

checked into the hotel at around noon and waited for a while for our room to be ready at 1pm. front desk staff was helpful enough. the room was clean, of a good size for 2 people (huge king-sized bed), and had all the amenities you'd need. it was also close enough to the train station and old town (less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear victoriasoly, Fantastic review, Thank you so much for it. Hope to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Continental Hotel for one night only and got upgraded to a bigger room with a queen size bed instead of a single bed due to some status perks. The room was nice, cosy with a Swiss touch due to the amount of wooden decor. The lobby has a lot of wood elements as well, reminding us of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Grüezi enelym1978, Thank you for your kind review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay. Ask for one of our rooms with a large walk-in shower for your next stay - this might suit your preferences better. See you hopefully soon around again. Best regards, Esko Rebstock General Manager More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasn't impressed with this hotel one bit. On arrival after travelling from London via train staff where miserable and not helpful. On arrival to the room it stunk, musty- old who knows. Rooms are very tired and need a good change of decor. This was not what I was expecting at all. Breakfast was ok and again staff just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Lu1810, Obviously we were not able to meet your expectations - we are very sorry for this. Especially because the friendliness of my team is usually highly appreciated by our guests. I will make use of your review within the upcoming team meetings to avoid this from happening again. Rest assured that you did not experience our regular level... More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty. Matress had several cigarette burn holes. Two mattresses on each other to cover the worse mattress, which had no bed sheet at all. When asking for a clean bed, got the answer tomorrow you will get king-size bed, king-size bed (he could not talk German nor propper English). Then I asked for the manager and he only shrugged his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Ana K, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. If you could be so kind to contact me directly concerning your feedback - my e-mail address is: h1196-gm@accor.com. Gerne auch auf Deutsch. For our future guests I am happy to answer on your comments on tripadvisor as well: This hotel is a strictly non-smoking hotel. For this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

437 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (286)
Viewed
Room/suite (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (112)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#32 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#60 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#46 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay