We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hirschen

Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Hirschen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
JHB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Finding a decent hotel in Zurich which doesn't cost the earth is quite a trick. Hotel Hirschen ticks both boxes. It lies within close reach of the train station along one of the city's most charismatic streets. The hotel itself has loads of old-world character. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was served in a lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaxJhb
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear JaxJhb Thank you very much for your visit and the time you have taken to leave a few nice words about your stay. With pleasure we hear that you did had a lovely stay and that you felt comfortable. We would be pleased to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Silvia More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Hotel Hirschen was a great find for us. Considering how expensive Zurich is, Hotel Hirschen was a bargain! Very comfy beds, delightful and helpful front desk ladies, delicious breakfast, and a great view from the front rooms of the building. The noise at night from the square below was not that bad and did not bother us at all. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebirdlove
SMohn, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Bluebirdlove What a delight to read your comment! This is what we work for every day; to make our guests feel comfortable and in good hands and it is a pleasure to welcome guests who understand and love the small special features that an old building provides, such as we do. Thank you very much and we are looking... More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was booked by friends of ours on a European tour and we weren't disappointed. Only ten minutes walk from the railway station and ideally situated in the centre of town, we were delighted with its location and staff friendliness. As we all know Switzerland is not cheap but this hotel is very reasonable and ideally suited for a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Simtek
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Simtek It is a great pleasure to read your friendly words. We are very happy that we could make you feel comfortable and at home in Zurich and that you did enjoy your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon. best regards Silvia Mohn More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

When looking to find a hotel to stay in in Zurich, Hotel Hirschen was by far the best value for money for the offered location. The hotel is in a pretty little cobbled square, in the old part of the city. Upon arrival, there is a staircase to walk up to reception, and having a baby in a pushchair to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank latchy_27
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear latchy_27 It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you for your visit and your review. You are right that due to the listing of our building, all renovations and modernizations are difficult and there is no way to install AC or change the entrance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

Nice staff, clean rooms. However, beds and especially bathrooms are small. No curtains that protect you from early sun. It's perfectly all right for a 3* and the prices are correct! In high summer the room temperature is unbearable, although they provide a fan. If we go back, it's only in winter.

Helpful?
1 Thank PAG1959
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear PAG1959 Thank you very much for your visit and your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our staff did make you feel at home. Our building is several hundred years old and the room sizes are made for the needs of the people from that times, so the space... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We enjoyed 3 nights accommodation in Hotel Hirschen, right in the heart of the old town. It is common knowledge that Zurich is a ridiculously expensive city to stay in. Hirschen was a good, cost efficient option for us. Following suit from the previous review: The Pros: * The staff at Hirschen are absolutely lovely - always happy to help... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank aussiehotelinspector
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Aussihotelinspector It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen and we appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that we could satisfy you with our location and the staff, this is very important to us. To be in the heart of the old town and city centre... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We stayed here for two nights last week, booking the night before on Tripadvisor. Zurich is a very pricey city and most of the cute boutique-y places that weren't astronomically expensive were booked up ahead of time. This place is cute but pretty bare- bones with a tiny bathroom and small, plain room. We paid $250 a night which is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B thank you for your stay with us and your Feedback. We are glad to read that you did enjoy your visit. Our location in the middle of the old town is perfect to discover the City and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. But of course this area is very popular with tourists and... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Good mid range hotel. Nice breakfast. Good bed. Situated in a great area with lots of good restaurants nearby - a few meters away. We ate at two excellent restaurants almost next door. Reception really friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank trheffer
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear trheffer it was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you that you have taken time to review your stay. We are very glad to read that you did enjoy your stay and that you did feel comfortable and well cared. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon and... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Upon arriving, the staff was very nice and welcoming. They were accommodating even as I was leaving, allowing me to split my room payments between CHF cash and credit card, so I wouldn't have to exchange the cash to my country's currency later. The hotel is well-located in Hirschen Plaza, in Old Town and near the river. For the general... More 

Helpful?
Thank MYinSF
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear MYinSF It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you for your reviews. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied and that you did like our location and our service. We apologize for the problems with the WIFI, there are repeaters in the whole building and it usually works well. We... More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

The Hirschen is in a street in the old part of town with many restaurants and a fair amount of nightlife. There's a decent Mexican restaurant (not part of the hotel) downstairs. Rooms are a bit Spartan but spotlessly clean. Breakfast is good and included in the reasonable price. (I just paid CHF 170 for a single room which for... More 

Helpful?
Thank malcolmfrompalma
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear malcolmfrompalma Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you did enjoy Zurich and the Hirschen Hotel. The Niederdorf where we are located is a popular area for visitors as well as residents and is the ideal Location to discover Zurich. It would be a great... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#32 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#87 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#66 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#41 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#46 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay