We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hirschen

Hotel website
Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Hirschen
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    67
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
86
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice staff, clean rooms. However, beds and especially bathrooms are small. No curtains that protect you from early sun. It's perfectly all right for a 3* and the prices are correct! In high summer the room temperature is unbearable, although they provide a fan. If we go back, it's only in winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear PAG1959 Thank you very much for your visit and your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our staff did make you feel at home. Our building is several hundred years old and the room sizes are made for the needs of the people from that times, so the space... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We enjoyed 3 nights accommodation in Hotel Hirschen, right in the heart of the old town. It is common knowledge that Zurich is a ridiculously expensive city to stay in. Hirschen was a good, cost efficient option for us. Following suit from the previous review: The Pros: * The staff at Hirschen are absolutely lovely - always happy to help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Aussihotelinspector It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen and we appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that we could satisfy you with our location and the staff, this is very important to us. To be in the heart of the old town and city centre... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We stayed here for two nights last week, booking the night before on Tripadvisor. Zurich is a very pricey city and most of the cute boutique-y places that weren't astronomically expensive were booked up ahead of time. This place is cute but pretty bare- bones with a tiny bathroom and small, plain room. We paid $250 a night which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B thank you for your stay with us and your Feedback. We are glad to read that you did enjoy your visit. Our location in the middle of the old town is perfect to discover the City and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. But of course this area is very popular with tourists and... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Good mid range hotel. Nice breakfast. Good bed. Situated in a great area with lots of good restaurants nearby - a few meters away. We ate at two excellent restaurants almost next door. Reception really friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear trheffer it was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you that you have taken time to review your stay. We are very glad to read that you did enjoy your stay and that you did feel comfortable and well cared. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon and... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Upon arriving, the staff was very nice and welcoming. They were accommodating even as I was leaving, allowing me to split my room payments between CHF cash and credit card, so I wouldn't have to exchange the cash to my country's currency later. The hotel is well-located in Hirschen Plaza, in Old Town and near the river. For the general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear MYinSF It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you for your reviews. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied and that you did like our location and our service. We apologize for the problems with the WIFI, there are repeaters in the whole building and it usually works well. We... More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

The Hirschen is in a street in the old part of town with many restaurants and a fair amount of nightlife. There's a decent Mexican restaurant (not part of the hotel) downstairs. Rooms are a bit Spartan but spotlessly clean. Breakfast is good and included in the reasonable price. (I just paid CHF 170 for a single room which for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear malcolmfrompalma Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you did enjoy Zurich and the Hirschen Hotel. The Niederdorf where we are located is a popular area for visitors as well as residents and is the ideal Location to discover Zurich. It would be a great... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Zurich accommodation in general is very expensive for what you get. After an extensive internet search - you know the search that takes hours and hours - we decided on Hotel Hirschen. It's in a good location, walkable from the train station or a quick tram ride (I can't remember the tram number - maybe 4??? And the tram number... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear resortqueen_10 Thank you very much for your visit and your nice review. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you find a good choice of restaurants and bars in our area. We have not been aware that the tram number (it is line 4, yes) is not visible on our homepage and we... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We always try to stay in this cute part of town when we need a place to stay the night before our Stateside departure. It is a ten minute walk from the train station. The area is mostly pedestrian only bar a few side streets and has lots of charm and tons of bars and restaurants. Yes, as many have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Patten36 It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you for your nice review. The rooms in our historic building are made for the needs of the people several hundred years ago and so the rooms are in fact rather small. But as you have mentioned, our perfect location invites everyone to discover... More 

USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The Hotel Hirschen is in a great location in old town Zurich only 10 minutes from the train station. We were grateful that our room was ready at 11:00am after our long flight. We had a double room which was a nice size and a small, but adequate size bathroom. The room and bath were very clean and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear pmm25 thank you very much for your visit and your feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you would choose the Hirschen again next time. We are trying to improve our service every day and so we are greatful for your comment about the lighting in the bath. We... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The hotel is fabulously located in the main shopping area of Zurich's Old Town, and is apparently the oldest continously operating guest house in the city. This means its rooms were designed for the needs of people 400 odd years ago and are a lot smaller than you would find in a modern hotel. We did notice that the more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Andie4321 We thank you for your visit and your positive feedback. We hope that you did return back home safe. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that we could make you feel comfortable in our tiny rooms. We would be glad to welcome you again on your next visit! Best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#87 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#58 of 132 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#97 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#31 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#96 of 132 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay