We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hirschen

Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hirschen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Hirschen
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
72
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to Zurich and loved the city - so clean and water so clear to drink from the fountains dotted around the city. Our room was small but quaint and comfortable. It was reasonably priced for its very central location enabling us to walk to all the attractions in the city. Staff were very understanding as we were having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Bronwyn T We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. You are right, the Hirschen has the perfect location to visit most of the attractions of Zurich by foot. To help our guests as good as we can is our pleasure and we thank you for your estimation. We are very much looking forward... More

Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Hirschen four years ago and were quite pleased. Wonderful location, clean, non-smoking, very pleasant staff, excellent breakfast. I just booked a return visit and am looking forward to my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear nancyL It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hirschen and are looking forward to your visit! Kind regards Silvia Mohn More

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from our stay in Zurich at the Hotel Hirschen and was really pleased with our choice of accomodation.Our room overlooked the cobbled square at the front and was great just to see the cafes and bars.The hotel is very close to the river and only a short walk to the main shopping streets.The old town is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear 191278Grandma1 With great pleasure we were reading your positive review, thank you very much. It is our effort to make our guests feel welcome and in good hands every day and Feedbacks like yours show us, that we are on the right way. We are looking forward to your next stay and remain with our best regards Silvia Mohn More

Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this hotel, and were very happy with the location. Our only criticism was that the room was tiny, and only a double bed. Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was more than adequate, with cereal, my favourite bircher muesli, eggs, pastries, fruit juice etc. The hotel is located close to both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear jubyMelbourne Thank you very much for your nice review, it was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. The Hotelbuilding is serveral hundred years old and so we have charming but not very spacious rooms. Our vaulted cellar where the Wine cave is is something for lovers of old and historic buildings but on summer evenings you... More

Minneapolis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Hirschen for four nights. The location is accessible to the main train station and river which were the high points. When I arrived, the staff were not friendly and traveling from afar, not the Swiss way. I walked into the room and it was depressing. Marks all over the walls, no art, no refrigerator, hot, noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Bosco16 We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. During your four nights stay you have unfortunately never informed us that you are not happy with your room. So we had not the opportunity to try to make you feel more comfortable with another room. (Some of the rooms have been freshly painted already and... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Hotel is located in a cobble square in the heart of Zurich's restaurant area and close to all the sights. Dont catch a Taxi from the train station as we did (expensive) walk or take a tram. There are a number of steps to carry your luggage up to reception, then a lift so be prepared for that one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Tunn-1 It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you that you have taken time to write a review about your stay. We are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you have informed us that you were not satisfied with the first room and you have given us the... More

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Zurich for 3 days before we headed over to France. We had our bicycles in bike boxes and, while the hotel is narrow, they were very accommodating with a lift for our big luggage. They put us on the top floor which had a small outside area perfect for the bike boxes. They claimed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Pamela R We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and in good hands. This is our highest priority. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you for your visit and your nice review. We would be glad to welcome... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 1 night here in Zurich. The room was not so nice, but it's adequate and cheap. The location is great! It's located inside the Old Town, and walking distance from the main train station. We had breakfast there the next day, and it was really delicious, as least for me and my friend. The receptionists were very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear MayTran It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and also our breakfast. Our rooms are small but charming. There will be some renovations and some colored decorations soon, so be curious about how the rooms... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is relatively good for Zurich. It's very well located and the hotel is quite welcoming however, the Wi-Fi is very weak and the rooms are getting a bit tired now. The breakfast is good quality (although limited choice) - I appreciated this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear FunkyFonc Thank you for staying with us and for your review. In our historic building with the thick walls and different floor levels it is not easy to get a secure Wifi in all the rooms. We are still testing different providers but have unfortunately not yet found a really good one. All our rooms will get new LCD... More

Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

stayed over at hotel hirschen over the new year. very central, surrounded by restaurants and a few minutes walk to train station. ideal for a short trip to the city of zurich. everywhere and everything is so expensive is zurich so this hotel was really worth staying at. nothing fancy but clean and breakfast was enough. hotel owner is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Andrea12303 Thank you very much for your visit and your nice review. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. We hope you did get back home safe and we would be very pleased to welcome you again during your next trip to Zurich. Best regards Silvia Mohn More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay