We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Zurich hotels

Hotel Hirschen

Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland (Old Town)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hirschen to your Saves list
Hotel Hirschen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
66%
Ranked #80 of 123 hotels in Zurich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014
Tunn-1 Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (114)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
66
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Hotel is located in a cobble square in the heart of Zurich's restaurant area and close to all the sights. Dont catch a Taxi from the train station as we did (expensive) walk or take a tram. There are a number of steps to carry your luggage up to reception, then a lift so be prepared for that one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Zurich for 3 days before we headed over to France. We had our bicycles in bike boxes and, while the hotel is narrow, they were very accommodating with a lift for our big luggage. They put us on the top floor which had a small outside area perfect for the bike boxes. They claimed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Pamela R We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and in good hands. This is our highest priority. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we thank you for your visit and your nice review. We would be glad to welcome... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 1 night here in Zurich. The room was not so nice, but it's adequate and cheap. The location is great! It's located inside the Old Town, and walking distance from the main train station. We had breakfast there the next day, and it was really delicious, as least for me and my friend. The receptionists were very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear MayTran It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and also our breakfast. Our rooms are small but charming. There will be some renovations and some colored decorations soon, so be curious about how the rooms... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is relatively good for Zurich. It's very well located and the hotel is quite welcoming however, the Wi-Fi is very weak and the rooms are getting a bit tired now. The breakfast is good quality (although limited choice) - I appreciated this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear FunkyFonc Thank you for staying with us and for your review. In our historic building with the thick walls and different floor levels it is not easy to get a secure Wifi in all the rooms. We are still testing different providers but have unfortunately not yet found a really good one. All our rooms will get new LCD... More

Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

stayed over at hotel hirschen over the new year. very central, surrounded by restaurants and a few minutes walk to train station. ideal for a short trip to the city of zurich. everywhere and everything is so expensive is zurich so this hotel was really worth staying at. nothing fancy but clean and breakfast was enough. hotel owner is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Andrea12303 Thank you very much for your visit and your nice review. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. We hope you did get back home safe and we would be very pleased to welcome you again during your next trip to Zurich. Best regards Silvia Mohn More

Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good location - right on Niederdorfstrasse (old city centre), in 10-15 minutes walking distance to Bahnhoffstrasse, Grossmunster, Fraumunster, Embankment - all touristic attractiveness are near. Niederdorfstrasse usually considered as noisy street due to late-night pubs and clubs - don't you believe it! Absolutely cosy and quiet place, sound isolation in hotel's room is definitely enough to have a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear ralex65 It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel, thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and you felt comfortable. You are right, it should not be that you have to remind us every day about your WIFI code and this is... More

Claremont, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Room was really quite tiny and minimalist--hardly any storage space, not enough electrical outlets (and poorly located), some wasted space (nice desk but in an alcove where there was no lighting nor outlets to plug in computer). On the other hand, bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom was tiny but excellent shower, excellent wifi reception in room, simple but good quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear jal_cit Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We are always greatful for constructive feedback so that we can improve our service. In a historic building it is not easy to add extra electrical outlets or change there position, but we will check if there is a solution we can improve this. It would be a pleasure... More

Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We paid just under 200 Francs per night for 4 nights here. Stayed here 4 years and as it's about a ten minute walk for the station, we stayed here again. A large stair case leads to the reception. This is a bit of a downer as we travel with 25kg suitcases and backpacks but we remembered how nice it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear crab67tkf Thank you for choosing the Hirschen Hotel again and for your nice feedback. With pleasure we hear that you did feel comfortable and you liked your breakfast. In a historic building such as ours, the space is limited but we try our best to make the most out of it so that our guest have a pleasant stay.... More

California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We are a mature couple who stayed at the Hotel Hirschen for three nights in early October 2013. We took the train from Bern to Zurich. Zurich station, like Bern and Luzern, is quite nice with street level platforms (or escalators), a Tourist Information Office, and lots of underground shopping. The hotel was about a third of a mile away,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear SGKCalifornia Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. As our historic house is over 600 years old, it is very difficult to modify the building and so the stairs from the entrance to the reception area can not be avoided. We would be very greatful... More

Arlington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed downtown for two nights while in town for a wedding. This hotel was recommended by some friends, and we were not disappointed. Incredible location - right in the heart of Old Town. This meant it was a bit noisy outside, or in the morning when the churchbells rang but it was wonderful. The food in the morning was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review

Dear Beth S It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel. Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and that you liked our Hotel and the location. You are absolutely right that the location is perfect, you can discover the famous and also the hidden... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Zurich with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hirschen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer