We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Zermatt accommodations

Matterhorn Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Schluhmattstr. 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Hostel to your Saves list
Matterhorn Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (98)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    11
    13
    54
See reviews for
14
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No kitchen, and even no MICROWARE. Bathroom: just on,off. Water is just not freezing, u have to accept it. Room: blanket seems not washed, and no linen provided. Staff: very bad attitude, perhaps the price doesn't include service. space is tight, stair is circular, v tight too. Atmosphere is bad, old, and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a poor accommodation even considering the hostel standards. This is a old house somehow converted into a pub and a hostel. Our twin private basement room was tiny and almost all the space was occupied by the twin beds and the drawers. There was no space or equipment to hang clothes. You need to dump them in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear HimadriGo, Thank you for your good comment. I remember telling you that we do not like to give out that room, due to the mentioned conditions. But we were fully booked. So it helps us really to see your point of view and we promise to working on improvements in all points you mentioned. With kind regards Michael More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were traveling as a family of four, two adults, two teenagers. Dont mind hostels, have stayed in lots, but this one was very poor. Our shared room was in the attic - beds crammed in, hardly room to move. Was concerned about fire hazards as the last flight of stairs was steep and the access partially blocked by lockers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear KM G, thank you for your good comment. Actually we have to use all the space to maintain the most affordable place in Zermatt and we are at the limit. Please also keep in mind that we give the guests from all over the world the chance to visit the Matterhorn in low season and high season for the... More

meylan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

don't understand how this kind of sleeping reseller can have tripadvisor recognition???? We cancelled 1 week in advance a room get confirmation of the cancellation arriving at the lobby answer is NO we can't!!! getting mad after 20 mn discussion lost. What about the currency exchange? Guess what 1 euro is equal to 1 CHF!! why not. Common this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate your review, but in my point of view it is not fair. Our cancellation policy is based on years of experience and in a regular Zermatt shape. There are traveler insurances to payback money in the case of you get injured etc. But there is no insurance paying us money in... More

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hostel was nice and clean, with enough toilets & shower rooms to serve the people (though the lights in some shower rooms needed to be fixed). I had a bit of a problem (from being picky) and the staff was very kind enough to help me sort it out. will definitely buy him some good local dishes and drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear OmBKK, thank you for staying with us. We like to offer the most affordable accommodation most close to lift stations. It is great to get appreciated for what we do with this little budget. The lights were repaired immediately after you mentioned and we got some new curtains, floors and shower screens, too. So we are looking forward to... More

Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Zermatt is a beautiful place, and I think, you can get a better place if you book in advance, This hostel was the most uncomfortable one I have been in, ever! The beds were hard, blanket itchy. The toilet was shared, and showers two floors down. Now given that we booked a twin bed room, we were given a 6-bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Harsha, As I think you came with Naveen who wrote the other comment please read the explanations about the private room and dormitory situation. In addition I like to say that it is also possible to make a twin bed out of the bunk beds. So we thought to do you a favour in giving you a bigger room.... More

Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed just for one night as we could not get reservation in any other hotel. The hostel is very compact. We had booked double private room but were given a dorm, though it was empty and we did not have any other guest. The hosts did not appear very welcoming. The only good thing was that we arrived very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Naveen, Thank you for your comment. It is not uncommon to get no room for one night in a Hotel in Zermatt. Most have a minimum stay of a few days especially in the high season. We are one of the few places you can get a bed to sleep for one or two nights. If we got a... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

People!!! Don't try this hostel, is the worst place you can choose, for a small difference of price you get a nice private room in the same area, we didn't like the place after one night we said that we want to move, but we had to pay all the amount of stay....we pay it and we left, I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ioan, Thank you for your comment. Our beds are coming with a fresh mattress and pillow cover, as written in the reservation confirmation and a woolen cover. A sheet or towel is optional to get at the reception for the washing cost only. Most our guests are coming with own sleeping back. We gave you a bigger room for... More

Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked a room for 3, but ended up in a dormitory to ourselves. No curtains, only one scratchy blanket, but the sheets and pillowcases were very clean. The showers were in the basement, and had no real space to hang anything, but they worked. I did expect a higher standard, being in Switzerland, and glad we were only there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Jean for your comment to help us to improve the service. We always try to give the most spacious available to the guest, so they can feel well. The blanket we provide is made of woolen and we suggest for own comfort to bring a linen or sleeping back. Whereby we provide linen and towels for a laundry... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

First of all, don't arrive between 10-4 otherwise you'll be waiting to check in with quite possibly the most hostile and unforgiving Swiss I've ever met. You know how children's tree houses are all cute and rustic with odd material everywhere, looking all eclectic? Yeah, we'll not so cute when your hostel has been made in the same fashion. Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Larakave, First, thank you for your honest comment. Our check-in period is from 4pm onwards. As our guests you are able to deposit luggage before check-in time. The same after check-out time. Further on we are offering a public rest room with seating and dining area, a fridge, hot water heater, cutleries etc… If you want us to heat... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Matterhorn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Matterhorn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Hostel

Address: Schluhmattstr. 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Matterhorn Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Matterhorn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Zermatt

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Zermatt with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Matterhorn Hostel provides the perfect accommodation in winter and summer for low budget travelers. We are well located in Zermatt which is not only a picturesque village but also one of the top-ranked ski resorts in Europe. The great location gives our guests great access to the mountains. The ski slopes, hiking and biking trails are only a hundred meters away.Our rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. Toilets and showers are shared.We also have a bar and a restaurant (closed in off season; see Sparky's Bar for opening times) as well as Wi-Fi and free Guest Computer.You will find a pleasant and warm atmosphere in our rustic timber house (built in the 1960s). Our friendly and helpful staff will try and make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is no curfew so you can explore the resort at your own pace. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Matterhorn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer