We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matterhorn Hostel

Schluhmattstr. 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Matterhorn Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    12
    15
    57
See reviews for
14
32
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I don't get all the negative reviews, it's a bed for $39 in Zermatt, where else are you gonna find something even double that price? Location is good, probably a 10 min walk from the train, the bathrooms were sufficient, good internet, and only a couple minutes walk from the slopes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The linens were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Like you said, in this area everything is expensive. Workmanship of technicians etc cost us per hour more than you pay for the bed per night. It is so expensive because of two reasons, he can work maximum of 6 month due to the seasonal conditions in a year and we are still in the... More 

Central Tilba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

back story - 8 person dorm, middle of winter, stayed 1 night. Experience: a) no hot water. Genuinely there is a sign on the door saying please wait for hot water, one of our boilers fell off. (sign looks old...) b) One thin blanket provided.... thin being the key word. Heating in room reasonably good though. c) Hostel has NO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Georgian, Please let me try to explain the hot water limitation signs and why it looked so “old”. One of the boiler security controller panels fell off at first Christmas day. By all means it was not possible to get the spare part before the specialist opened their shops after New Years Eve. While the hostel and the adjoining... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The hostel itself is very basic and could do with a major upgrade, however it was cheap and the only accommodation I could get over NYE. The receptionist was a shining star here and she was the only staff member we dealt with. She took pity on us being older than the generally 20-35 age group that are in attendance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear geataway25, Thank you for sharing your comment. Our receptionist is a star. indeed she can read the mind of the guests. For the WiFi it is nice that we can offer it in all rooms. There are only a few hostels providing this. Cutleries and crockets are in the cupboards please never hesitate to ask for it at the... More 

Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. Positives are its in a great location- walked out the door and immediately saw the Matterhorn! Staff were really friendly and helpful too. Negatives are the fact there was no hot water for showers, floor was dirty, we had a private room and it was the tiniest space- really only space for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, Thank you for staying with us during the busiest time of the year. Sorry for the inconvenience with the limited hot water. There was no chance to get the spare part for one of the boiler over the Christmas and new years eve holidays. So we had to cut hot water to not let it be freezing cold... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

after one night holes in my long johns (icebreaker) [wollen long underwear] never again. there are much better places for less money and nowhere is such unfriendly staff!!!! as there is a lovely view on the street, there's no need to step foot into a disgusting place like that!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Helga, I want to thank you for giving me the chance to say that we want our clients to communicate issues straight away in this way we have a chance to solve issues. We are running the most affordable Hostel in Zermatt in the best location 2 min away from ski lift and center, with free Internet in all... More 

Menifee, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This hostel has the perfect location. Easy access to all the trails, quick walk to town and the train stations, and its also near the ski gondolas. Zermatt is gorgeous. I only planned to stay two nights, but I couldn't get myself to leave and stayed four nights. George at reception kept me busy; he told me of great hikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Tammy, Thank you for your comment. We appreciate you staying with us. George is indeed a good guy knowing the place very well. In winter you should enjoy the mountains too. The prices are all year the same. Feel free to tell California about us and come back anytime. Its always warm in the TV room and a lot... More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

No kitchen, and even no MICROWARE. Bathroom: just on,off. Water is just not freezing, u have to accept it. Room: blanket seems not washed, and no linen provided. Staff: very bad attitude, perhaps the price doesn't include service. space is tight, stair is circular, v tight too. Atmosphere is bad, old, and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear eXoxideZ, Dear Marco, thank you for your comment, but actually I'm a little bit disappointed about your comment as you did not rate 3 out of 6 subjects and twist things. The bed comes always with pillow cover and mattress cover, and you do not need to cover it yourself it is done already for you. The woollen blanket... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a poor accommodation even considering the hostel standards. This is a old house somehow converted into a pub and a hostel. Our twin private basement room was tiny and almost all the space was occupied by the twin beds and the drawers. There was no space or equipment to hang clothes. You need to dump them in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear HimadriGo, Thank you for your good comment. I remember telling you that we do not like to give out that room, due to the mentioned conditions. But we were fully booked. So it helps us really to see your point of view and we promise to working on improvements in all points you mentioned. With kind regards Michael More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were traveling as a family of four, two adults, two teenagers. Dont mind hostels, have stayed in lots, but this one was very poor. Our shared room was in the attic - beds crammed in, hardly room to move. Was concerned about fire hazards as the last flight of stairs was steep and the access partially blocked by lockers.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear KM G, thank you for your good comment. Actually we have to use all the space to maintain the most affordable place in Zermatt and we are at the limit. Please also keep in mind that we give the guests from all over the world the chance to visit the Matterhorn in low season and high season for the... More 

meylan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

don't understand how this kind of sleeping reseller can have tripadvisor recognition???? We cancelled 1 week in advance a room get confirmation of the cancellation arriving at the lobby answer is NO we can't!!! getting mad after 20 mn discussion lost. What about the currency exchange? Guess what 1 euro is equal to 1 CHF!! why not. Common this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate your review, but in my point of view it is not fair. Our cancellation policy is based on years of experience and in a regular Zermatt shape. There are traveler insurances to payback money in the case of you get injured etc. But there is no insurance paying us money in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question