We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Zermatt accommodations

Matterhorn Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Schluhmattstr. 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Matterhorn Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Matterhorn Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #45 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Zermatt
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    11
    13
    55
See reviews for
14
30
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

after one night holes in my long johns (icebreaker) [wollen long underwear] never again. there are much better places for less money and nowhere is such unfriendly staff!!!! as there is a lovely view on the street, there's no need to step foot into a disgusting place like that!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Menifee, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This hostel has the perfect location. Easy access to all the trails, quick walk to town and the train stations, and its also near the ski gondolas. Zermatt is gorgeous. I only planned to stay two nights, but I couldn't get myself to leave and stayed four nights. George at reception kept me busy; he told me of great hikes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

No kitchen, and even no MICROWARE. Bathroom: just on,off. Water is just not freezing, u have to accept it. Room: blanket seems not washed, and no linen provided. Staff: very bad attitude, perhaps the price doesn't include service. space is tight, stair is circular, v tight too. Atmosphere is bad, old, and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a poor accommodation even considering the hostel standards. This is a old house somehow converted into a pub and a hostel. Our twin private basement room was tiny and almost all the space was occupied by the twin beds and the drawers. There was no space or equipment to hang clothes. You need to dump them in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear HimadriGo, Thank you for your good comment. I remember telling you that we do not like to give out that room, due to the mentioned conditions. But we were fully booked. So it helps us really to see your point of view and we promise to working on improvements in all points you mentioned. With kind regards Michael More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were traveling as a family of four, two adults, two teenagers. Dont mind hostels, have stayed in lots, but this one was very poor. Our shared room was in the attic - beds crammed in, hardly room to move. Was concerned about fire hazards as the last flight of stairs was steep and the access partially blocked by lockers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear KM G, thank you for your good comment. Actually we have to use all the space to maintain the most affordable place in Zermatt and we are at the limit. Please also keep in mind that we give the guests from all over the world the chance to visit the Matterhorn in low season and high season for the... More

meylan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

don't understand how this kind of sleeping reseller can have tripadvisor recognition???? We cancelled 1 week in advance a room get confirmation of the cancellation arriving at the lobby answer is NO we can't!!! getting mad after 20 mn discussion lost. What about the currency exchange? Guess what 1 euro is equal to 1 CHF!! why not. Common this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We appreciate your review, but in my point of view it is not fair. Our cancellation policy is based on years of experience and in a regular Zermatt shape. There are traveler insurances to payback money in the case of you get injured etc. But there is no insurance paying us money in... More

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hostel was nice and clean, with enough toilets & shower rooms to serve the people (though the lights in some shower rooms needed to be fixed). I had a bit of a problem (from being picky) and the staff was very kind enough to help me sort it out. will definitely buy him some good local dishes and drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear OmBKK, thank you for staying with us. We like to offer the most affordable accommodation most close to lift stations. It is great to get appreciated for what we do with this little budget. The lights were repaired immediately after you mentioned and we got some new curtains, floors and shower screens, too. So we are looking forward to... More

Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Zermatt is a beautiful place, and I think, you can get a better place if you book in advance, This hostel was the most uncomfortable one I have been in, ever! The beds were hard, blanket itchy. The toilet was shared, and showers two floors down. Now given that we booked a twin bed room, we were given a 6-bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Harsha, As I think you came with Naveen who wrote the other comment please read the explanations about the private room and dormitory situation. In addition I like to say that it is also possible to make a twin bed out of the bunk beds. So we thought to do you a favour in giving you a bigger room.... More

Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed just for one night as we could not get reservation in any other hotel. The hostel is very compact. We had booked double private room but were given a dorm, though it was empty and we did not have any other guest. The hosts did not appear very welcoming. The only good thing was that we arrived very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPApartments, Manager at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Naveen, Thank you for your comment. It is not uncommon to get no room for one night in a Hotel in Zermatt. Most have a minimum stay of a few days especially in the high season. We are one of the few places you can get a bed to sleep for one or two nights. If we got a... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

People!!! Don't try this hostel, is the worst place you can choose, for a small difference of price you get a nice private room in the same area, we didn't like the place after one night we said that we want to move, but we had to pay all the amount of stay....we pay it and we left, I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPApartments, Host at Matterhorn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ioan, Thank you for your comment. Our beds are coming with a fresh mattress and pillow cover, as written in the reservation confirmation and a woolen cover. A sheet or towel is optional to get at the reception for the washing cost only. Most our guests are coming with own sleeping back. We gave you a bigger room for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Matterhorn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Hostel

Address: Schluhmattstr. 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Matterhorn Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Matterhorn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Zermatt

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay