We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Christiania Hotels & Spa

#31 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Wiestistrasse 7 | Postfach 420, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christiania Hotels & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Christiania Hotels & Spa
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
50
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived in the beginning of April this year an were met by a very nice employee who helped us to check in an get ready for skiing even though we were very early at check in. Nice hotel with good service, food and a very nice pool and spa area. For the price we paid I am very satisfied and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter F, Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Peder I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotels on Trip Advisor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay so much. I am delighted that you were pleased with our service in particular. Thank you also... More 

Haslemere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed with our 6 year old son for a week's Easter skiing break. Chose the hotel because of the spa & 25m pool, and this proved a great choice because the weather was patchy (no or few lifts open some days, due to European storms). The main thing to say about this hotel is that our experience was fabulous!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter F, Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Louise Thank you for choosing to stay at the Christiania Hotels & Spa, and indeed for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. I will pass on your wonderful comments to the whole team.... More 

West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a hard time choosing a hotel in Zermatt and I am so happy I stayed at the Christiana Hotel. The location is perfect for skiers and a 3 minute walk to the main street and train stations. I paid more to have a balcony facing the Matterhorn and it was worth every penny. Also had a great view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter F, Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maribeth Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently, and also for taking the time to review the Christiania Hotels & Spa on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you were so pleased with our rooms, our spa and our staff, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It means a great deal to... More 

Kochav Yair
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Beutiful ski location. The overpowering Mattehorn is accompanist you all Time. Very clean, good service, good food, and beutiful specious spa. It's our second time, and we will most certainly will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter F, Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ruti, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review the Christiania Hotels & Spa on Trip Advisor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay so much. I am delighted that you were pleased with our service and our... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Perfect from start to finish. Staff were genuine and helpful. Management were always visible to guests and totally approachable. They couldn't do more for us. I forgot to tell them I was vegetarian but that didn't matter and from the second night I had my own menu on the table each night. Location was perfect- two min Max walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter F, Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Honeymooners I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review the Christiania Hotels & Spa on Trip Advisor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon in our hotels so much. I am delighted that you were pleased with our spa... More 

Reisiswil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

We have walked past this hotel many many times, we have an apartment in Zermatt but this was given over to our family. From the moment we were collected in the electro we were continually impressed throughout the stay by the attentiveness of the staff - not always something you find in Zermatt. Our room was a good size, modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We arrived late in the afternoon into Zermatt, but went straight in to the spar & swimming pool. Great Spar. The rooms were very comfortable & the staff were more than accommodating. Breakfast was as you would expect for a hotel of this quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Super spa, friendly staff, clean warm rooms, amazing view. I made various requests which were charmingly accommodated. As a Marmite lover, I asked for Cenovis and they phoned up the manufacturers and arranged to have some for us. We brought a large jigsaw and they set aside a table in the lobby for us to use (as well as keeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We (a family of 4) spent 6 days at the Christiania Hotel in Zermatt. The Christiania stands out in 3 aspects. Flexibility - I'm frequent to Swiss hotels which are usually very strict with cancellation and changes. The Christiania is different. I had a last minute change to my reservations to which the hotel reacted with flexibility and no additional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Wonderful SPA. The location was excellent. The room was not more than ok. The service was not ok, from the beginning to the end. Disappointing. The breakfast was not good. Anyway, a really beautiful hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter F, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania Hotels & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Member of Tripadvisor Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. We do apologize for the unsatisfying service at our Hotels, however we were not able to offer a free upgrade to a room with Matterhorn view as requested. Unfortunately our Hotels were fully booked during your stay. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question