We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Altein

Alteinstrasse, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Altein
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Room was adequate, clean, we didn't spend much time there. The spa is wonderful, a real fun time and practically empty at dinner time. It includes Jacuzzi, massage showers, a stream that goes around the pool, but also a second pool for swimming. The breakfast is fine, no complaints, with beautiful views of the mountains. If you're bored in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caro V
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

We are glad to read that you explored all public areas of the hotel and used our offer, the spa area with salt water pool 33°C, the games as well as our bar. It's important to us that you feel at home in the wohle hotel. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards Franziska G., Ferienverein-Hotelgruppe More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Great reception, the rooms are simple but clean, with everything you need. Salt water spa, steam sauna available if the weather happens to be bad. We enjoyed the excellent food and found the Althein absolutely priceworth. Tuesday evening offers a vast dessert buffet. We took an all-inclusive booking, which included the spa, which is otherwise rather expensive. The hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank semagora
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

We are happy to read that you had a good stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the meals as well as our spa with salt water pool, sauna, steam bath and more. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards, Franziska G., Ferienverein hotel group More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

The hotel has not even charm its old not good maintained and even dangerous for kids(elevators). The rooms are old ... Really old and even if the view is nice the smell of centuries of former guests is making the experience bad The breakfast room is like a hall but even it is empty you are forced to sit where... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Torben B
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Torben B Thank you very much for taking the time to send your comment after your stay with us. It is sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are renovating regularly all our hotels and safety is our first priority. Our employees speak many different languages also English and German. We are sorry if the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Arosa hotels

Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Hotel Altein is kind of those places which keep the magic of old fashion hotels in a perfect state, our room with a nice view to the mountains, enough space and very comfortable bed, bathroom a little bit small but everything what is needed. Most of the time we were in the spa and it was delicious, very well equiped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, thank you for your rating. It is always nice to hearing from good news about our clients stays. We look forward to seeing you again! Yours faithfully. Maxime C., Ferienverein More 

United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stayed here in late March. The hotel rooms were clean but very basic - no frills. The staff at the front desk were fantastic, but the wait staff at breakfast were rude, and signs on where to sit (groups vs everyone else) were not in English. The spa pool was absolutely wonderful, and I would happily put up with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Emily Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We are happy that you have relaxed in our spa. We are sorry that you have perceived some of our employees as rude - we pursue completely different goals and hope to convince you next time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Linda H., Ferienverein hotel... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Excellent breakfast & delicious 4 course meals with half board on ground floor. One of the courses was always buffet style. Dream mountain view from cosy cafe/restaurant on the top floor. Lovely relaxing wellness center, free water gym & stretch classes 20min each. The South facing bedrooms have all generous balconies and free mountains views. Manager Georges, trained as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nelly T
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Nelly Thank you very much for being our guests and for writing this detailed review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the wellness area, food, balconies etc. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Linda H. Ferienverein hotel group More 

Waltham Cross
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

So one hotel guest said to me that this hotel was originally an asylum and you'd have to be crazy to stay here again but I think that you'd be crazy NOT to stay here. The reason it is not a 5 star and a 3 star is that the large bedrooms have been kept with their original style of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you very much for being our guest and also many thanks for writing this detailed review. The building had been used a a sanatorium before having been turned into a hotel. Because the air in Arosa is so healthy and fresh... We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and it was very interesting to learn... More 

Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We made our booking through Expedia and received a confirmation stating shared bathroom. Hence we assumed we shared bathroom between the two bedrooms that we had booked. We were quite shocked to realize that for 2800 chf we got two small bedrooms with one toilet and one shower cabin to share with everyone on the entire floor! When I wrote... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilse2015
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Ilse Thank you very much for writing a review. You have booked one of our few rooms with shared bathroom. Our guests appreciate these rooms because of their advantageous price: During the winter season, we sell them starting at CHF 92 including halfboard and entrance in our salt spa 33 °C. I would also like to mention that prices... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

If you feel like staying in a hospital or retirement home book a stay at Hotel Altein!you will stay in a heavily overpriced (400 CHF incl half board per night)totally run down room that resembles a youth hostel from the 80s. The room does not even have a tv and the shower is tiny! Not what you expect for this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine H
ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Delphine Thank you for writing down your experiences. It is sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Instead of a tv in the room (what we communicate frankly), we offer several lounges, a bar with live music, a comfortable library and a spa area with saltwater pool. Our guests appreciate these various leisure options. The price... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very friendly personnel, rooms rather small but the big sunny terrace compensates. Breakfast and dinner are 3*. Could be a bit more extensive comparing to other Swiss hotels. Spa is nice; 2 indoor pools (connected), although the turkish bath is not warm enough. Small outdoor pool, big garden and tennis court. Paid parking out- en indoors. Free wifi in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank M V
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Asora
Sorell Hotel Asora
#19 of 36 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posthotel Holiday Villa Arosa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seehof Arosa
Hotel Seehof Arosa
#11 of 36 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
0.2 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#7 of 36 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay