We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Altein

Alteinstrasse, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Altein
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    19
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Altein is kind of those places which keep the magic of old fashion hotels in a perfect state, our room with a nice view to the mountains, enough space and very comfortable bed, bathroom a little bit small but everything what is needed. Most of the time we were in the spa and it was delicious, very well equiped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, thank you for your rating. It is always nice to hearing from good news about our clients stays. We look forward to seeing you again! Yours faithfully. Maxime C., Ferienverein More 

United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stayed here in late March. The hotel rooms were clean but very basic - no frills. The staff at the front desk were fantastic, but the wait staff at breakfast were rude, and signs on where to sit (groups vs everyone else) were not in English. The spa pool was absolutely wonderful, and I would happily put up with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Emily Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We are happy that you have relaxed in our spa. We are sorry that you have perceived some of our employees as rude - we pursue completely different goals and hope to convince you next time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Linda H., Ferienverein hotel... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Excellent breakfast & delicious 4 course meals with half board on ground floor. One of the courses was always buffet style. Dream mountain view from cosy cafe/restaurant on the top floor. Lovely relaxing wellness center, free water gym & stretch classes 20min each. The South facing bedrooms have all generous balconies and free mountains views. Manager Georges, trained as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Nelly Thank you very much for being our guests and for writing this detailed review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the wellness area, food, balconies etc. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Linda H. Ferienverein hotel group More 

Waltham Cross
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

So one hotel guest said to me that this hotel was originally an asylum and you'd have to be crazy to stay here again but I think that you'd be crazy NOT to stay here. The reason it is not a 5 star and a 3 star is that the large bedrooms have been kept with their original style of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you very much for being our guest and also many thanks for writing this detailed review. The building had been used a a sanatorium before having been turned into a hotel. Because the air in Arosa is so healthy and fresh... We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and it was very interesting to learn... More 

Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We made our booking through Expedia and received a confirmation stating shared bathroom. Hence we assumed we shared bathroom between the two bedrooms that we had booked. We were quite shocked to realize that for 2800 chf we got two small bedrooms with one toilet and one shower cabin to share with everyone on the entire floor! When I wrote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Ilse Thank you very much for writing a review. You have booked one of our few rooms with shared bathroom. Our guests appreciate these rooms because of their advantageous price: During the winter season, we sell them starting at CHF 92 including halfboard and entrance in our salt spa 33 °C. I would also like to mention that prices... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

If you feel like staying in a hospital or retirement home book a stay at Hotel Altein!you will stay in a heavily overpriced (400 CHF incl half board per night)totally run down room that resembles a youth hostel from the 80s. The room does not even have a tv and the shower is tiny! Not what you expect for this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Delphine Thank you for writing down your experiences. It is sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Instead of a tv in the room (what we communicate frankly), we offer several lounges, a bar with live music, a comfortable library and a spa area with saltwater pool. Our guests appreciate these various leisure options. The price... More 

Travelers are raving about these Arosa hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very friendly personnel, rooms rather small but the big sunny terrace compensates. Breakfast and dinner are 3*. Could be a bit more extensive comparing to other Swiss hotels. Spa is nice; 2 indoor pools (connected), although the turkish bath is not warm enough. Small outdoor pool, big garden and tennis court. Paid parking out- en indoors. Free wifi in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's our favorite hotel in Arosa. We've be coming here for several summers in a row to enjoy a wide array of facilities on offer: thermal indoor pool, outdoor pool, tennis courts, mini-golf, billiards, game rooms and great restaurant (we always pick a half board option). Our kids are usually picky eaters, but at Altein restaurant, we had to order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich
Level Contributor
212 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked a budget room with shared bathroom. There were 2 toilets and 2 showers for the rooms to share and it was not a problem. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had twin beds pushed together and a sink. It was warm, clean and comfortable but very outdated. No TV. There was a good selection of cereals,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were enchanted by the beauties of this wonderful town in the mountains. The hotel is, at our advice, for quality/price a real good deal! The room was big enough for the four of us, two adults plus two kids ( 6yrs-8yrs) with big balcony, nice view of the mountains. Wellness area is very very clean and Super, our kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streiff
Hotel Streiff
#12 of 38 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Asora
Sorell Hotel Asora
#22 of 38 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#20 of 38 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posthotel Arosa
Posthotel Arosa
#18 of 38 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seehof Arosa
Hotel Seehof Arosa
#14 of 38 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay