We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Hotel website
Hoheweg 37, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The title tells it all, nice views. Everything else is a disappointment really. I booked an executive room single which had a spectacular view of the mountains. The Hotel claims to be 4 star but falls several stars short. The room has seen better days. The hotel touts that they upgraded the rooms to "deluxe" status several years back but... More 

Helpful?
Thank CraigS090
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my parents for 1 night for sightseeing. Among smart hotels, the outside is not particularly inspiring, but every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful. The view from the penthouse restaurant is wonderful, especially if you are a fan of para gliders, which pass close to the hotel and land in the field... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy642014
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel does not look much fro mthe outside, and it looks like a blot on the landscape, however, once inside the views from the rooms are exceptional. We were on the 10th floor, and the views of the surrounding mountains were breathtaking. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The evening meals in the restuarant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill A
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was featured in one of the best bollywood movies and we actually stood there for a pic. The hotel is at right spot with markets nearby and tourist streets. Most of the famous restaurant are within few Kms. Activities like paragliding and other sports were on offer right outside the ground. Food was great and east connectivity.

Helpful?
Thank NikhilKumar1986
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This was the first hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon trip in Switzerland. The very first thing that I liked about the hotel was its location. It is not too far from the Interlaken West train station and me and my wife were easily able to walk with our luggage to the hotel. One thing I would like to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhaskar A
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

The breakfast room has fantastic views across the city to the mountains. Make sure you try the Proseco for breakfast. Bathrooms are a little dated but still the rooms are clean and comfortable with free wifi

Helpful?
Thank Braidgirl
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Stayed in that hotel over a Dozen of times. Always Make Interlaken my Hub during Stays in Switzerland and Get a Train Pass . Views from Balcony are Breathtaking Showing Eiger, Munch and Jungfrau Mountains. Superb Restaurant with great Breakfast open Buffet. Best opt to high floor for better views.

Helpful?
Thank Tripsetc
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear Tripsetc Thank you very much for your very motivating feedback! Having happy guests and providing even the better service than they are expecting is what the goal of every hotelier must be. I will forward your comments about our restaurants to our staff. Have you used our new fitness centre, sauna and lounge area for our hotel guests with... More 

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Rooms are comfy but old furniture Very nice views where you can set in the balcony and watch the parachuting every day, as the hotel is directly facing the lawn. Breakfast is very basic, nothing special, staff are not very friendly and even all sales people in the area as they sound bored of all the tourists. Except location nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank suzi50179
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Lovely, very comfortable and spacious rooms with views of the Jungrau, especially from the upper floors. Very good choice at breakfast and A La Carte dinner as standard with good choice. Staff always pleasant and accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Anne R
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear Anne R. Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! What could be better than the first thing you see in the morning is the Jungfrau! I am also very glad of the feedback about our staff. I really think, friendly and helpful staff makes a big difference. We hope to welcoming you back at the Metropole for your... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Whilst on holiday in September I was taken ill and hospitalised In Interlaken. On discharge having missed our planned return home we were booked into the Metropole by the insurance co. Unfortunately the morning after my discharge my husband was taken by helicopter to Bern with a suspected heart attack. The staff at the Metropole were amazing. They couldn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth T Thank you very much for your Feedback! Well, the most important is you and your husband are feeling better! In such a situation you were during your holidays you really do need people you can rely on. We are happy if we were able to support you during this very hard time. Thank you again for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#5 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 38 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay