We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Hoheweg 37, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    91
    129
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
66
126
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel looked a little run down from outside, the location was good, the breakfast lacked depth, the service was not great. the hotel is the only tall structure in Interlaken giving it a presence, but it hasnt lived up to it s location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights on my holiday trip. The view from the room to Jungfrau mountain was magnificent. There is also a large car parking area right next to the hotel, so finding a free parking space is not a problem. The lack of air conditioning in the room is the only thing I have to complain about. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear tjs1982, Thank you very much for your feedback at tripadvisor and for chosing the Hotel Metrople for your stay in Interlaken. We agree, the view form our rooms is outstanding. It is true, we do not have air conditioned rooms, as we are not really used to such enormous temperatures normally. I am sorry, if this has affected your... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hotel in 2013 and were extremely disappointed with the rooms on the 4th floor. We were given the understanding that these were upgraded rooms and wonder what the normal would be like ! The maintenance standard was very poor with the sink leaking, the door handle falling off and the Balconny filthy. Whilst downstairs looks good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Peter C. I am refering to your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay from two years ago. I am very sorry we couldn't fulfill your expactations. You have booked two queensize rooms with us. You wanted both rooms at the same floor, since one room was for your kids. So we provided one twin and one queensize room... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The foyer areas and dining rooms were of a good standard but I feel that the rooms let the hotel down a bit. There weas some decorating going on in the corridors so hopefully it will improve. Its the highest building in Interklaken and you can see it from miles away. Although lots of the rooms have a good view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
metropoleinterlaken, Geschäftsführer at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear R8011905 Thank you very much for your feedback at tripadvisor and for chosing the Hotel Metrople for your stay in Interlaken. Knowing we are a 4**** star hotel, we try to serve our guests the best service possible. providing free tea & coffe for Hotel guests is almost standard worldwide. We therefore have invested and are offering a Lounge... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Pretty old and not good looking local high rise building. Offering a roof top bar with an incredible view on the village and the jungfrau (mountain). Expect Swiss pricing. Friendly stuff and clean bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

The Hotel is in the most happening part of town. The main tourist area - easy to hop on and hop off. Basic amenities - not good value for the price, but that may be because we booked last minute in the peak season. Get a room on the higher floors for the view. Tourist information centre & bank in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is located in the heart of city, superb view from rooms. Good service and clean rooms. Staff at the reception were quite helpful and cooperative. I think this hotel has the tallest building so if taken higher floor can be superrrr experience. Overall good hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed as a family in two rooms on the 14th floor with fantastic views which changed with the weather on an hourly basis. Great breakfasts with a wide variety of cooked and continental style produce which meant each member of the family could find something they liked. Friendly staff and a chocolate on your pillow every night. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

You do not have to ask for the direction to this hotel. Stand anywhere in Interlaken and you will not miss one of the ugliest building standing tall in otherwise beautiful town. I am not sure who designed this building but it takes away the beauty of the entire town. From the outside, it looks a cement structure in grey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bombay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Had a room on the12th floor overlooking 'Hohematte' where paragliders land. Simply stunning views of Interlaken, with the snow covered North face of the Eiger in the background. With a full moon on a clear night, the mountain looks splendid from the room. Very helpful at reception, assistance with transport to the train station. A very friendly Barman in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear 1234Bombay Thank you very much for your motivating feedback on Tripadvisor! Well, what else should I mention... saying in Interlaken in such a centrally location as the Hotel Metropole and enjoying its advantage, the view to the Jungfau and the surrounding alps, is unforgetable. But the biggest motivation is your Feedback about our frendly and helpful staff. The so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#9 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay