We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Hoheweg 37, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    131
    57
    16
    8
See reviews for
68
130
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They say it is a FOUR stars hotel , but all i saw is ONE star hotel, everything was terrible for a four stars hotel they miss the details. We paid 10 Frank for the Wifi ,although i think it should be free , it is a human right people ! It doesn't deserve four stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location for the start of the race as well as sight seeing around the city. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. We did not eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast was the usual - lots of variety but unfortunately limited in the "vegan department"

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Metropole hotel is in a good location for the town and also easy access to the lakes. All the staff we met were friendly and professional. The bedroom was quite basic but clean and adequate. We were staying at the hotel on a half board basis and the quality of the meals served in the evening were excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have recently returned from Interlaken and the Metropole hotel, this has been our fourth holiday here. our first encounter a few years ago was a little cautious as it was the only high rise building in the area but our fears were unfounded, everyone was very attentive and friendly. This holiday was no different to all the other times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The overall experience was ok as the rooms were simple with no air conditioning. We were granted a very small fan to get the temp down. The building is known to be the tallest but the standard of the hotel was not that high. Located more closer to Interlaken West Station. Booking this hotel was exciting but it got a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 days at the end of July for Swiss National Day. We stay there every year. Bed comfy but no air conditioning. Garage is good but we had some trouble in getting in. Did so eventually. The view from the balcony (083) is fantastic. Sadly the WIFI signal doesn't work as far as the balcony. I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

the hotel looked a little run down from outside, the location was good, the breakfast lacked depth, the service was not great. the hotel is the only tall structure in Interlaken giving it a presence, but it hasnt lived up to it s location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Stayed here two nights on my holiday trip. The view from the room to Jungfrau mountain was magnificent. There is also a large car parking area right next to the hotel, so finding a free parking space is not a problem. The lack of air conditioning in the room is the only thing I have to complain about. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear tjs1982, Thank you very much for your feedback at tripadvisor and for chosing the Hotel Metrople for your stay in Interlaken. We agree, the view form our rooms is outstanding. It is true, we do not have air conditioned rooms, as we are not really used to such enormous temperatures normally. I am sorry, if this has affected your... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We stayed at this Hotel in 2013 and were extremely disappointed with the rooms on the 4th floor. We were given the understanding that these were upgraded rooms and wonder what the normal would be like ! The maintenance standard was very poor with the sink leaking, the door handle falling off and the Balconny filthy. Whilst downstairs looks good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Peter C. I am refering to your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay from two years ago. I am very sorry we couldn't fulfill your expactations. You have booked two queensize rooms with us. You wanted both rooms at the same floor, since one room was for your kids. So we provided one twin and one queensize room... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

The foyer areas and dining rooms were of a good standard but I feel that the rooms let the hotel down a bit. There weas some decorating going on in the corridors so hopefully it will improve. Its the highest building in Interklaken and you can see it from miles away. Although lots of the rooms have a good view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
metropoleinterlaken, Geschäftsführer at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review

Dear R8011905 Thank you very much for your feedback at tripadvisor and for chosing the Hotel Metrople for your stay in Interlaken. Knowing we are a 4**** star hotel, we try to serve our guests the best service possible. providing free tea & coffe for Hotel guests is almost standard worldwide. We therefore have invested and are offering a Lounge... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#9 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 31 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay