We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Monopol Luzern

4.0 of 5 Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    135
    59
    13
    21
See reviews for
67
138
57
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (416)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monopol Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent one night here on the way back to Zurich airport from the mountains. The location is superb - right next to the bahnhof, and right in the center of Lucerne next to the lake, the river walks and all the sights and shopping you could want. It isn't cheap, but what is inexpensive when you stay in central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We first of all booked at their partner hotel then got told to upgrade to monopol (4 stars) We were very happy with the room however bathroom were transparent ... Breakfast selection was good Thank you for the hospitality

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

To start with a Great Location!!! Train Station, tram station, bus stop and ferry are all bang opposite and all the tours leave from just behind the hotel. No complaints for no Air conditioning....as weather was great so kept the windows open and fan did the trick. But in hotter weather air conditioning is required. Breakfast was good and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was very disappointed in the Monopol Hotel Lucerne after given the tiniest room on the entire floor. Other solo travellers got much bigger and better rooms...To top it off, the furniture in the room was so old and outdated, including the mattress which was so uncomfortable your body just sinks to the floor and you could feel the springs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this review

Dear TheChrisf…, Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne with the group and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. You have booked a normal standard single room and your room was 19m2.... More 

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great Location , just at the doorstep of the Train Station, Chapel Bridge, Lake with Swans, shopping areas are all nearby. Mac Donald\s & Star Bucks in the same building ground floor, Hardees just opposite. Neat & Spacious rooms with Toilets with bath tub. BUT .... July it was really hot - NO Air-conditioning ( Excuse - Heritage Hotel ).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited last week when my football team were playing FC Lucerne. As already said location excellent for central Lucerne sights and for lake excursions and yards from the train station. Our room was very large including sofa and chairs. It was extremely warm on our visit and due to historical building there is no air con - whilst it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the triple room which is very specious, very clean and magnificent view of Lugano lake and the city from the window of our room 615. As an old building, there is no air-con in the old building but they provided 2 fan for us; we did not use them as the temperature was 25°c in July. -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cairns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We only stayed one night but wished it had been more. It is a beautiful old Hotel in excellent condition and well presented. No Air-conditioning as it is a heritage listed property but this did not create an issue at all for us as a fan is provided in the room. Daniela checked us in and what a delight she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ringwood, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were travelling around Europe on the Eurail so the Hotel Monopol was in the perfect location right opposite the railway station! We had a lovely large room and bathroom and found it had everything we needed except tea making facilities. Breakfast was included and was adequate. It is easy walking distance to explore beautiful Lucerne and we were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NSW
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here after a day's train trip and as it is opposite the rail station , this is the reason we booked it . A short walk from the train to the hotel. The hotel is Heritage listed so you can't have too many frills but the weather was only in the low 20s when we were there so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Monopol Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol Luzern

Address: Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monopol Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Swiss q Lucerne
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay